We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Good hotel!”
Review of De L'Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Ocean Hotel
Ranked #1,172 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Hod Hasharon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, Good hotel!”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel l'ocean is a nice hotel in a good central location. (Opera) a reasonable breakfast is served, and the hotel is very close to a Metro station (CADET).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaffaelHodHasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    110
    87
    28
    20
See reviews for
69
91
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bylderup-Bov
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The room was great, clean and beds comfortable.
Only 20 minutes from Montmartre and 3 minutes from great restaurants on Rue Cadet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

There are, by far, many other similar cheapest hotels than this one. The only advantage is the location. But if you look closely to the map, in the Defense area you can find 3 star hotels (like Ibis) with 35-130 E/night) and only 7 metro stations from the city center.
This hotel charged us almost 160 E/night, breakfast included.

We were two couples, so we booked for two room by using booking.com services. When we arrived at the hotel, we had our first unpleasant surprise: They already tried to charge our credit card, first hour in the morning, but there was not enough money, so they tried to call us, and then they canceled our reservation with less than two hour before we show up.
They almost change our status from happy tourists into desperate homeless...

In the end, the mistake was mainly ours, because we made our reservations with an empty credit card.


They tried to accomodate us to another more expensive hotel with an extra charge of 40E/night, but we refused because we were in a business trip, payed by Romanian Government, and we had a legal price limit per night. Our intention was to pay cash at the reception desk.
The receptionist asked us surprised: You came to Paris without any spare money ? I'm sorry, but there is nothing i can do to help you.
I said: You can't just cancel our reservation with two hour before we show up !!!
He said: But I can !!! (He show us an email written and send to us about one hour before)
I said: You canceled our reservation with less than two hour ago, and you already found new customers ? This does not smell right !!!

So, instead of starting our journey with a visit to the Versailles, we started making calls and also started using our laptops to try to find another accomodation. Many other participants had similar problems with their reservations when they try to check-in to other hotels. We were not an exception.

In the end when the receptionist saw that were are not easy to trick he called us to the reception and without any other discussion we have been checked. That means that he tried to fool us in paying more, because the hotel was not fully booked.

After we check in, we began our trip to the Versailles with about one hour short. When we left thru the hotel main entrance, we saw at the reception desk many tourists trying to check in, and guess what: they had problems too.

When we tried to check out, the receptionist tried to charge us another 30 E, because the amount of money we already payed was to small, compared to their usual price. We show him again our booking.com reservation and after a few minutes of discussion he realised that he won't succeed in charging us with extra money.

One room was small (but decent size) and the other room was very small. It was so small that we couldn't fully open the bathroom door without moving the bed.

The rooms are equipped with : refrigerator (mini bar), air conditioning very useful and in working condition, tv, phone. The bathroom is ok but a little small.

The view from the window is not the best: all you can see is another's building wall.

The breakfast was consistent (all you can eat buffet), and you can choose between :
- milk, tea, coffe, two type of natural juice, water, bread, butter, many types of jam, salami, cheese, yogurt, cereal milk, boiled eggs, fruits, sugar, salt and croissants.

The subway (metro line) is near, station Cadet, you will have to travel only 4-5 stations to the Louvre Castel and the other main attractions from the center of Paris, only 2 stations from the Opera, Gare du Nord, Gare de L'est, You can go to Sacre Coeur by foot or by Metro.

There are two Carrefour Express very close to the hotel, where you can buy food more cheap than to the other grocery stores near by. For example you can buy a bottle of water for only 0.40E/1,5 liter. In the others grocery stores the cheapest bottle of water is at least 1.3 E.

The neiborhood is quite calm, compared with Tour Eiffel and Notre Dame areas, where romanian gipsies behave sometimes like wild animals, or the Sacre Coeur area full with young black people who are approaching tourists firmly, strongly, almost aggressive sometimes asking them about their nationality (one of them blocked my way by putting his hand on my chest and left me alone only when he saw that I was going over him).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Fulgerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This Hotel and the most welcoming staff surpassed all we were hoping for. We had a most comfortable and spotlessly clean Bedroom and enjoyed delicious meals in their superb Restaurant. Well worth preferably a long stay or if not feasible a short one.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have a Charme Room better viw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billbouzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and overall, the hotel was a decent place to stay. The room was of adequate size and while there were definitely better options for honeymooners to stay, it wasn't too bad. The bathrooms, on the other hand, are interesting! There was no shower curtain and just about a 2-foot plexi glass window to keep water from getting all over the sink. It was fine to shower in, but made a mess on the bathroom floor and caused it to be quite slippery. Wasn't too much of a problem for us, but I can't imagine it was fun for housekeeping to clean up after!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mookie1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I guess it all depends on what you're used to. Room/premises, quality wise, would be a $30 a night hotel in Orlando, Fl. Would that it had been that cheap! (It wasn't. Quite pricy for what it offers.)
It's old and none too clean. The room is tiny by U.S. standards, so is the bathroom. Abulutions are meant to be European. The tub is meant for baths, with a hand shower attachment on the wall as an afterthought, no shower curtain. The beds were comfortable, but very narrow.
The elevator is rickety, and was out of service when I checked in, resulting in a three flight trip with my bags. The bar was never open. The breakfast buffet in the small eating room in the back was adequate (Loved the rich French coffee) but, to my chagrin (I failed to ask the price before I indulged every morning of my stay) turned out to be as pricy as everything else in this hotel (So was the laundry service).
The view is of an appartment building across a narrow side street, but not unpleasant, very Parisian. There's a pleasant little park down the street, good for people watching. The Rue Lafayette is a block away, chock full of small restaurants. There are two metro stations within 2-3 blocks, and the Gare du Nord is conveniently close by (Maybe 8 blocks?). Great for taking the RER to and from CDG.
It's location is what's best about it. The first couple of days I walked everywhere, until I found out how convenient the metro was, and how easy to use. But even the Louvre is what I'd call just a brisk hike away.
Overall, though, now being able to compare it's price and location to other hotels in Paris, I doubt I'd ever return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank magon121254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We booked this hotel as there was a reasonable deal if you stayed for three nights. Close to the Gare de Nord, it was easy to find and about a 10 minute walk away from the station. After reading reviews on this sight, we wondered what we might find...but were pleasantly suprised. The hotel was clean and modern looking, in a quiet side street, and the staff were welcoming and helpful, offering us a map on arrival. The lift was a bit springy..but that hardly matters when you have come to see a beautiful city. The room we stayed in was a double, and was clean and tidy. However, it was small, and the photos on the website are deceptive! We found the hotel to be in a good location, near to the metro, and about 20 mins walk away from the Sacre Coeur and had a very pleasant stay there. For a three star hotel, it was good value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvver37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,351 of 1,800 in Paris
135 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,271 of 1,800 in Paris
317 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#366 of 1,800 in Paris
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,106 of 1,800 in Paris
329 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Hotel Montholon
#730 of 1,800 in Paris
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Ocean Hotel

Property: De L'Ocean Hotel
Address: 7 Rue Mayran | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,172 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Ocean is located 3 minutes from Cadet Metro Station providing direct access to Le Louvre and Opera Garnier. It features a lounge bar offering aperitifs and newspapers. A satellite TV with French channels and a minibar are basic facilities in the rooms at Hotel de l'Ocean. Each is air-conditioned and also has a safe, a work desk and a private bathroom with amenities. A breakfast buffet is served daily at the hotel. Additional facilities include a babysitting services and luggage storage. Galeries Lafayette department store and Grand Boulevards are both 15 minutes away. The hotel is 10 minutes from Gare du Nord Train Station, which receives Eurostar and TGV arrivals. 9th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, art and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Paris, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your De L'Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Ocean Hotel
Hotel De l Ocean
Hotel De Locean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing