We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken for granted by misleading hotel”
Review of De L'Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Ocean Hotel
Ranked #1,172 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Tamarin
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Taken for granted by misleading hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

You know you are not going to like it when you have booked on the Internet and you walk to the hotel and think the area is wrong, the hotel looks small, the reception is outdated and the welcome indifferently from a bored and tired employee. The room was small, the bed cheap and the furnishings tired and thin. The price was very high and I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    110
    87
    28
    20
See reviews for
69
91
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

The overall experience is quite bad there are the reasons
1 lift was not working 2 days out of three
2 telephone was not working
3 air condition was not working
4 bathroom just old at least looks very old

Breakfast was good and staff quite friendly. Hotel location is excellent -5 min from metro cadet and 15 min walk to montparnass.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oleg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was chosen by organizers of a conference held in the city in November. All of us were academics very familiar with the city, having spent much time in rented apartments or hotel rooms there over the past 40 years. All of us were disappointed with this hotel. The location is good, near the Gard du Nord, and there are plenty of resources nearby including a lovely little café on the corner of Rue Lafayette, Le Corail. However, how the hotel is keeping its stars is a mystery. The rooms were shabby with the strong scent of pesticide or brand new mattresses in otherwise unrenovated decor which suggests they've had a recent problem with bed bugs. The bathroom fixtures were cracked. Lightbulbs were out in the stairwell and, in spite of mentioning this to the concierge, never replaced over four days which made descent dangerous between the first and ground floors. The elevator constantly broke down, causing the concierge to leave for long periods into the basement to reset it. The carpets are old and dirty. Breakfast was expensive for the terrible processed food that was offered and the indifferent service. Even lights in the sign with the hotel's name are missing outside, setting the stage for the poor maintenance within. One does not receive any quality for the high rate charged based upon location and star rating. I would avoid staying here if you have any other choice!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ophelia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

To cut story short;
We have checked our wallets in the morning before the breakfest, knew how much we had, then after breakfest went to the town (didnt need to use our wallets till when wanted to pay for tickets at Eiffel tower), to our suprise we had less then anticipated!!! I have seen the cleaner leaving the room and had given her 2 euros for doing a good job !!!

The elevator is bit shaky and twice only went to floor minus 1 and not the 5th floor that we are at:-(
For breakfast, you have a selection of cereals, one plater of cheese and one of salami plus bread and sweet pastries- if you hungry that will do.
Place is really close to Garre du Nord and close to Cadet metro station.
Good location would make the place worth choosing but the whole money situation spoiled it all for us, i have complained in the reception and was told they are really sorry, and that was end of it.
I must say that we have left the wallets on the beds so they were easily accesible, but spending my hols in Spain, Greece, Cyprus........ i have never had my money taken away:-(

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemyslaw H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We decided on this hotel, following a stay at a previous hotel in the Gare De Nord area where my wife had her handbag stolen. About a twenty minute walk down Rue Lafayette from the Eurostar station, this hotel is in a quiet square close to the main shops and Opera area.
Previous reports about a dodgy lift seemed wide of the mark on this visit. The room was large enough for the two of us and bathroom was a lot better than in some hotels. Breakfast was cold buffet but adequate, there is a bar area and lounge near the foyer and would recommend this hotel for long weekends but no more than that.
Be alert when coming out of Gare de Nord, beggars are everywhere so keep an eye on all your belongings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for a few days here. The room was clean and big enough for comfort but fairly basic - for instance there were no coffee-making facilities but this isn't unusual these days. The 'double' bed was actually two singles pushed together so not much good for romance, but very comfortable nonetheless. We were overlooking the street but as it's not a busy street this didn't disturb our sleep. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are not worth the effort of getting up for and best avoided if possible - everything comes from a packet or a tin.
There are a couple of decent restaurants within easy walking distance and the Metro is 5 minutes walk away for a short ride into central Paris. Gare du Nord is 10 minutes walk away. The hotel is located in an interesting area on the edge of Montmartre and Sacre Coeur is 15 minutes walk away.
We stayed here to visit family locally and would certainly stay again. The hotel is clean and functional, and is typical, in my experience, of a small Parisian establishment - nothing particularly special, but if you're looking for a base in Paris for a few days then this hotel will fit the bill.

Room Tip: Go for one facing the street - more to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingjohn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel l'ocean is a nice hotel in a good central location. (Opera) a reasonable breakfast is served, and the hotel is very close to a Metro station (CADET).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaffaelHodHasharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,357 of 1,800 in Paris
135 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,274 of 1,800 in Paris
317 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#365 of 1,800 in Paris
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montholon
#729 of 1,800 in Paris
75 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#784 of 1,800 in Paris
387 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,103 of 1,800 in Paris
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Ocean Hotel

Property: De L'Ocean Hotel
Address: 7 Rue Mayran | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,172 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Ocean is located 3 minutes from Cadet Metro Station providing direct access to Le Louvre and Opera Garnier. It features a lounge bar offering aperitifs and newspapers. A satellite TV with French channels and a minibar are basic facilities in the rooms at Hotel de l'Ocean. Each is air-conditioned and also has a safe, a work desk and a private bathroom with amenities. A breakfast buffet is served daily at the hotel. Additional facilities include a babysitting services and luggage storage. Galeries Lafayette department store and Grand Boulevards are both 15 minutes away. The hotel is 10 minutes from Gare du Nord Train Station, which receives Eurostar and TGV arrivals. 9th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, art and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Paris, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Ocean Hotel
Hotel De l Ocean
Hotel De Locean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing