We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buyer beware”
Review of De L'Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De L'Ocean Hotel
Ranked #1,216 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“buyer beware”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was hoping the Hotel was better than reviews suggested sadly that was not the case.
I arrived early morning about 8 am after a long haul flight. The desk clerk put me in the basement to "freshen up" and thought room would be available in about an hour. Actaully he went off duty and left me in the basement which stank of some chemical smell. You could smell this on the approach outside the hotel!
I went back up to the desk where a very rude clerk told me no room was ready but to come back at 11.
I did so and was told room would not be ready till 2!
On further request room was ready at 12 i had to retrieve my bags from the store cupboard and get them to my room with no offer of assistance.
Room was very stuffy and had the same chemical smell everything very tatty
Bathrom not so clean and toilet seat cracked , cheap soap and sachet of shampoo/bodywash provided towels grey and thin.
Hotel very close to Cadet Metro and walking distance to Opera

All in all an expensive unpleasant stay would not reccommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jcsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    107
    85
    28
    20
See reviews for
66
88
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed 8 nights and found the hotel comfortable and well situated close to the metro, shops and restaurants. Our room on the 5th floor was spacious,quite and very clean. The staff (apart from one who was mentioned in an other review) were very helpfull and the breakfast was adequate. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request and higher floor and for quiteness ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

LOCATION: OK, close to the La Fayette street, and some 200 meters from a subway station Cadet. It is a walking distance from the Galleries La Fayette store and Opera.
STAFF: one guy at the reception seemed somewhat interested in his job and the guests. The others seemed that they were there just because they had to be. We had reservations so check-in was rather quick, although starting from 2:00 PM, which I didn't like ( arrived at 10:30 AM). I preferred it to be earlier. My stay at the hotel was paid in advance by my tourist agency. However, on check-out, although the guy from my agency sent them all the data (by fax) so they can charge the agency, the receptionist couldn't find the fax, not in the printed form, nor in the computer, so he tried to charge me from my credit-card. I ended up calling up my agency (and spending some money on my phone bill calling from far abroad), so they dictated me their data again, and the receptionist finally finalized the payment with my agency. I was so angry because the receptionist seemed incompetent to find a very important document (and I showed it), so the receptionist kept apologizing as we left the hotel.
FACILITIES: on the first day their elevator didn't work. I had to climb up the spiral stairs, which was not a problem for me (I was on the 2nd floor) but probably it was for the people in the upper floors, especially if they had to carry some heavy luggage.
ROOMS: small. Cleanliness so-so, not impressive. To me it seemed like a 2* hotel by any criteria. Bathroom was pretty old, old tiles, '70's or '80's cheap design, simple white tiles and so on. You can see behind the toilet and underneath the sink, and those areas are not being regularly cleaned. In the rooms there is no "welcome to the hotel" brochure with some info on the hotel services, only a paper with mini-bar price list. Shame.
BREAKFAST: poor! one sort of (a bit dry) cheap cheese, and some salami (most probably pork, so no adequate alternative for non-pork eating guests. Butter, honey, boiled eggs. Three kinds of cereals in containers of which at least one doesn't work. Some pastry, but of low quality. Fruit yogurts were fine (they were Danone brand, so I expected them to be OK). Coffee: awful! Do not take it when they offer it to you.
ALL IN ALL: as most of the things in Paris, this hotel was hugely overpriced. The other overpriced things in Paris do have some justification because of their originality and exclusiveness, but this hotel should charge their guests about one-third of the price they currently charge. If you are looking only for a convenient location and a place to sleep-over and the price they charge is not a problem, go for it. However, there are loads of hotels in Paris to choose from, so I would recommend you avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: try to avoid this hotel, it is overpriced for what it has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

You know you are not going to like it when you have booked on the Internet and you walk to the hotel and think the area is wrong, the hotel looks small, the reception is outdated and the welcome indifferently from a bored and tired employee. The room was small, the bed cheap and the furnishings tired and thin. The price was very high and I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

The overall experience is quite bad there are the reasons
1 lift was not working 2 days out of three
2 telephone was not working
3 air condition was not working
4 bathroom just old at least looks very old

Breakfast was good and staff quite friendly. Hotel location is excellent -5 min from metro cadet and 15 min walk to montparnass.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank oleg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was chosen by organizers of a conference held in the city in November. All of us were academics very familiar with the city, having spent much time in rented apartments or hotel rooms there over the past 40 years. All of us were disappointed with this hotel. The location is good, near the Gard du Nord, and there are plenty of resources nearby including a lovely little café on the corner of Rue Lafayette, Le Corail. However, how the hotel is keeping its stars is a mystery. The rooms were shabby with the strong scent of pesticide or brand new mattresses in otherwise unrenovated decor which suggests they've had a recent problem with bed bugs. The bathroom fixtures were cracked. Lightbulbs were out in the stairwell and, in spite of mentioning this to the concierge, never replaced over four days which made descent dangerous between the first and ground floors. The elevator constantly broke down, causing the concierge to leave for long periods into the basement to reset it. The carpets are old and dirty. Breakfast was expensive for the terrible processed food that was offered and the indifferent service. Even lights in the sign with the hotel's name are missing outside, setting the stage for the poor maintenance within. One does not receive any quality for the high rate charged based upon location and star rating. I would avoid staying here if you have any other choice!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ophelia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

To cut story short;
We have checked our wallets in the morning before the breakfest, knew how much we had, then after breakfest went to the town (didnt need to use our wallets till when wanted to pay for tickets at Eiffel tower), to our suprise we had less then anticipated!!! I have seen the cleaner leaving the room and had given her 2 euros for doing a good job !!!

The elevator is bit shaky and twice only went to floor minus 1 and not the 5th floor that we are at:-(
For breakfast, you have a selection of cereals, one plater of cheese and one of salami plus bread and sweet pastries- if you hungry that will do.
Place is really close to Garre du Nord and close to Cadet metro station.
Good location would make the place worth choosing but the whole money situation spoiled it all for us, i have complained in the reception and was told they are really sorry, and that was end of it.
I must say that we have left the wallets on the beds so they were easily accesible, but spending my hols in Spain, Greece, Cyprus........ i have never had my money taken away:-(

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemyslaw H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#795 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Opera / Bourse
le Havane
le Havane
#1,183 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Williams Opera
Hotel Williams Opera
#1,480 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Rodier
Hotel Corona Rodier
#1,415 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Opera / Bourse
Grand Hotel de Turin
Grand Hotel de Turin
#1,144 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Ocean Hotel

Property: De L'Ocean Hotel
Address: 7 Rue Mayran | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,216 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Ocean is located 3 minutes from Cadet Metro Station providing direct access to Le Louvre and Opera Garnier. It features a lounge bar offering aperitifs and newspapers. A satellite TV with French channels and a minibar are basic facilities in the rooms at Hotel de l'Ocean. Each is air-conditioned and also has a safe, a work desk and a private bathroom with amenities. A breakfast buffet is served daily at the hotel. Additional facilities include a babysitting services and luggage storage. Galeries Lafayette department store and Grand Boulevards are both 15 minutes away. The hotel is 10 minutes from Gare du Nord Train Station, which receives Eurostar and TGV arrivals. 9th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, art and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Paris, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Ocean Hotel
Hotel De l Ocean
Hotel De Locean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing