We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be so much more!”
Review of De L'Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Ocean Hotel
Ranked #1,143 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The area is great, you can easily walk to Gare du Nord or Opera... Or anywhere your legs can take you. Love the neighborhood. Walked to Sacre Coeur, Montmatre. It's a blink of a walk and so much to enjoy.
The hotel is okay. It is clean. Some of the room are more spacious than others. If you need Internet be sure not to get a room near the stairwell. I was on 6th floor and had to be moved. Rooms are sufficiently spacious, bathrooms the same. It is an economy hotel, do not expect smiles at the desk or flowers in your room!
I wish I could really recommend it wi my hole heart but I honestly cannot

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0shanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was hoping the Hotel was better than reviews suggested sadly that was not the case.
I arrived early morning about 8 am after a long haul flight. The desk clerk put me in the basement to "freshen up" and thought room would be available in about an hour. Actaully he went off duty and left me in the basement which stank of some chemical smell. You could smell this on the approach outside the hotel!
I went back up to the desk where a very rude clerk told me no room was ready but to come back at 11.
I did so and was told room would not be ready till 2!
On further request room was ready at 12 i had to retrieve my bags from the store cupboard and get them to my room with no offer of assistance.
Room was very stuffy and had the same chemical smell everything very tatty
Bathrom not so clean and toilet seat cracked , cheap soap and sachet of shampoo/bodywash provided towels grey and thin.
Hotel very close to Cadet Metro and walking distance to Opera

All in all an expensive unpleasant stay would not reccommend to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jcsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed 8 nights and found the hotel comfortable and well situated close to the metro, shops and restaurants. Our room on the 5th floor was spacious,quite and very clean. The staff (apart from one who was mentioned in an other review) were very helpfull and the breakfast was adequate. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request and higher floor and for quiteness ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

LOCATION: OK, close to the La Fayette street, and some 200 meters from a subway station Cadet. It is a walking distance from the Galleries La Fayette store and Opera.
STAFF: one guy at the reception seemed somewhat interested in his job and the guests. The others seemed that they were there just because they had to be. We had reservations so check-in was rather quick, although starting from 2:00 PM, which I didn't like ( arrived at 10:30 AM). I preferred it to be earlier. My stay at the hotel was paid in advance by my tourist agency. However, on check-out, although the guy from my agency sent them all the data (by fax) so they can charge the agency, the receptionist couldn't find the fax, not in the printed form, nor in the computer, so he tried to charge me from my credit-card. I ended up calling up my agency (and spending some money on my phone bill calling from far abroad), so they dictated me their data again, and the receptionist finally finalized the payment with my agency. I was so angry because the receptionist seemed incompetent to find a very important document (and I showed it), so the receptionist kept apologizing as we left the hotel.
FACILITIES: on the first day their elevator didn't work. I had to climb up the spiral stairs, which was not a problem for me (I was on the 2nd floor) but probably it was for the people in the upper floors, especially if they had to carry some heavy luggage.
ROOMS: small. Cleanliness so-so, not impressive. To me it seemed like a 2* hotel by any criteria. Bathroom was pretty old, old tiles, '70's or '80's cheap design, simple white tiles and so on. You can see behind the toilet and underneath the sink, and those areas are not being regularly cleaned. In the rooms there is no "welcome to the hotel" brochure with some info on the hotel services, only a paper with mini-bar price list. Shame.
BREAKFAST: poor! one sort of (a bit dry) cheap cheese, and some salami (most probably pork, so no adequate alternative for non-pork eating guests. Butter, honey, boiled eggs. Three kinds of cereals in containers of which at least one doesn't work. Some pastry, but of low quality. Fruit yogurts were fine (they were Danone brand, so I expected them to be OK). Coffee: awful! Do not take it when they offer it to you.
ALL IN ALL: as most of the things in Paris, this hotel was hugely overpriced. The other overpriced things in Paris do have some justification because of their originality and exclusiveness, but this hotel should charge their guests about one-third of the price they currently charge. If you are looking only for a convenient location and a place to sleep-over and the price they charge is not a problem, go for it. However, there are loads of hotels in Paris to choose from, so I would recommend you avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: try to avoid this hotel, it is overpriced for what it has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

You know you are not going to like it when you have booked on the Internet and you walk to the hotel and think the area is wrong, the hotel looks small, the reception is outdated and the welcome indifferently from a bored and tired employee. The room was small, the bed cheap and the furnishings tired and thin. The price was very high and I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The overall experience is quite bad there are the reasons
1 lift was not working 2 days out of three
2 telephone was not working
3 air condition was not working
4 bathroom just old at least looks very old

Breakfast was good and staff quite friendly. Hotel location is excellent -5 min from metro cadet and 15 min walk to montparnass.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank oleg162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was chosen by organizers of a conference held in the city in November. All of us were academics very familiar with the city, having spent much time in rented apartments or hotel rooms there over the past 40 years. All of us were disappointed with this hotel. The location is good, near the Gard du Nord, and there are plenty of resources nearby including a lovely little café on the corner of Rue Lafayette, Le Corail. However, how the hotel is keeping its stars is a mystery. The rooms were shabby with the strong scent of pesticide or brand new mattresses in otherwise unrenovated decor which suggests they've had a recent problem with bed bugs. The bathroom fixtures were cracked. Lightbulbs were out in the stairwell and, in spite of mentioning this to the concierge, never replaced over four days which made descent dangerous between the first and ground floors. The elevator constantly broke down, causing the concierge to leave for long periods into the basement to reset it. The carpets are old and dirty. Breakfast was expensive for the terrible processed food that was offered and the indifferent service. Even lights in the sign with the hotel's name are missing outside, setting the stage for the poor maintenance within. One does not receive any quality for the high rate charged based upon location and star rating. I would avoid staying here if you have any other choice!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ophelia1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#973 of 1,802 in Paris
442 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#365 of 1,802 in Paris
888 reviews
New Hotel Opera
#1,282 of 1,802 in Paris
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Paris La Fayette
#1,053 of 1,802 in Paris
442 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Anjou Lafayette Opera
Timhotel Opera Madeleine
#1,098 of 1,802 in Paris
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Ocean Hotel

Address: 7 Rue Mayran | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,143 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £70 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De L'Ocean Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Ocean is located 3 minutes from Cadet Metro Station providing direct access to Le Louvre and Opera Garnier. It features a lounge bar offering aperitifs and newspapers. A satellite TV with French channels and a minibar are basic facilities in the rooms at Hotel de l'Ocean. Each is air-conditioned and also has a safe, a work desk and a private bathroom with amenities. A breakfast buffet is served daily at the hotel. Additional facilities include a babysitting services and luggage storage. Galeries Lafayette department store and Grand Boulevards are both 15 minutes away. The hotel is 10 minutes from Gare du Nord Train Station, which receives Eurostar and TGV arrivals. 9th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, art and city walks. This is our guests' favourite part of Paris, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your De L'Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l Ocean Hotel
Hotel De l Ocean
Hotel De Locean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing