We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely stay at the Cordelia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cordelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cordelia
Ranked #633 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at the Cordelia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and as always had a lovely restful few days. The new bathrooms are superb with their double size showers and cream tiled walls and the Cordelia is for us the only place to stay. In fact we worked out that we had been coming here for about 13 years now! How time flies. The location is perfect for all that you want to see in Paris, especially if you are walking which we did a lot more of this time around. New Year in Place de la Concorde was fabulous and the meal at the Greffulhe over the road was superb as always. In fact I will be returning for a shorter visit in April with a friend who has fallen in love with Paris and the Cordelia as much as I have. All the staff are pleasant and helpful too. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Beverly,
Thank you for your lovely message. It is a real pleasure to welcome you for 13 years now!
The 1st and the 2nd floor are now closed and noise pollution can be expected between 9 am to 5 pm until the end of April 2014.
20 of our 30 rooms are newly decorated with air conditioning.
It won't be long until we contact you and show you the two last floors!
See you next time in April and don’t hesitate to book directly with us or with your VIP code!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    147
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
49
147
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here last year but I must say this is a wonderful hotel. Great location, close to la Madeleine and very comfortable. We had an attic room which was great for the view. The only negative was the heat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Emily,
A lot of novelty since last year !
Our renovation of all the room has begun in July and the end of it will be finished by the end of April 2014.
During the last 6 months, Elegance, Comfort, and the feeling of Welcome have been the motivation for Countess Cordélia de Greffulhe and its staff.
Christmas is full of lavish surprises to improve the comfort of all our guests. At the end of January 2014, twenty of our thirty rooms will be newly decorated, blending tradition with comfort, charm and new technology, all in a beautiful harmony of shimmering colors:
Premium bedding, feather duvets, Courtesy tray, Air conditioning, both hot and cold, dependent on your requirements and the time of the year, the bathrooms provide lighted magnifying mirrors and Algotherm product range.
Before leaving for a busy day, enjoy our breakfast where you will be spoilt with our new quality selection of Viennoiseries from “ Le Nôtre”, assorted teas “Mariage Frères”, miscellaneous dairy products and a selection of hot and cold meats.

We hope that Christmas will more than satisfy you, and that not only will you feel well looked after, but that you may wish to return again and again to stay with us.
We will be pleased to see you and to welcome you again. Don’t hesitate to book with us directly by email!

The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is Located just few meters from the Madeleine and Place de La Concorde. Most of the city's attractions are easily reachable within walking distance and if you are tired, there are the metro station next to the hotel where the most important lines stops. The staff is very friendly and helpful. For sure if we go back to Paris we will overnight in this lovely property!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Admir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Admir,
Thank you for your nice message. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel and you found our staff at your convenience.
We will be pleased to welcome you again. Don’t hesitate to book with us directly by email!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My friend and I, we stayed at the Hotel Cordelia for 4 nights.
This was my first trip to Paris and we found Hotel Cordelia from trip advisor. The location is really perfect.
The staff was very helpful, they gave us a map of the city, explaining all the metro stations. They were also very friendly and really welcoming.
The hotel is close to the metro, Rue Royale, Champs-Elysees and all the main tourist sights. We were able to walk to most attractions easily.
There's a market called "Rapid Market" which is really close to our hotel too. They are open till 2 am
They are renovationg some rooms so there's a lot of noise starting from 09.00 to 17.00 but as you came visiting Paris, you won't be spending your whole time at the room so that won't be a big problem and also it ends in March 2014.
We took Car Air France from the airport Orly and for going back to Orly we used shuttle service of our hotel which was very comfortable.
The bed was very comfortable, they have clean rooms and also good shower!
The breakfast was excellent !
I'm looking forward to visiting Paris and also staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizem E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Gizem,
Thank you for your kind message. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hotel and you found our staff at your convenience.
We will be pleased to see you and to welcome you again. Don’t hesitate to contact us directly by email!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myself & my Fiancé stayed at hotel Cordelia for 1 night during our short trip to Paris.

Having read previous reviews about the hotel, I had emailed them in advance and requested one of the newly renovated rooms if possible. I got a very nice email back from the hotel staff saying that they would do their best.

We got the Roissy bus from the airport to Opera and the hotel was a 5 minute walk. So convenient!

When we arrived at the hotel, we were too early for check-in but the staff took our bags & stored them & gave us a map of the city & they were really friendly & welcoming. The hotel was really quaint & well kept.

When we returned to check in & got the lift to the 6th floor, we had been given a beautiful newly renovated room. It was decent size too by Paris standards. It was immaculately clean with a lovely clean bathroom with fabulous shower.

The hotel is close enough to walk to the Champs Elyesees & all the main tourist sights or if you prefer there is a metro station beside the hotel. It is right beside Primtemps & Galleries Layfaette.

The next morning when I washed my hair I could not find a hairdryer in the room to dry my hair & when I phoned down to reception I was told it was at the reception. The girl on reception apologised & explained to me that there would be hairdryers in the room soon as the renovations are not complete yet. That is a very small complaint though!!!!

I look forward to going back to Paris & staying in this hotel. It is a perfect base for exploring the city & offers really good value for money in my opinion & lovely staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Ker,
After reading your message, we just want to come and to stay there! So, thank you for your lovely message and we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be very happy to welcoming you again and we hope that when we will come back, the renovation will be finished!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our second stay - see my earlier review of Aug 25, 2007. Most of what I said then still holds. Our experience this time does not match the recent negative reviews aside from my comments below re air conditioning.

Why do major refurbishments that required the air conditioning to be switched off during a Paris summer? Surely this is best left until later in year when weather is cooler. The hotel apparently did pre advise guests that this was happening but because of the vagaries of email, I did not see ours until after our stay.

We arrived late afternoon on a very hot day and were put in a small double room which, without air-conditioning, was way too hot. When I checked our emailed booking confirmation I realised that we ought to have a king sized bed. I returned to reception and the young lady on duty was most understanding and managed to put us in a larger corner room with plenty of windows. The bed would probably be referred to as queen size in many countries but that was fine by us.

Fortunately the temperatures dropped to a more comfortable level for the remainder of our stay and by keeping the curtains drawn when we were out and windows open when we were in we managed to stay comfortable.

One of the male receptionists came across as being a little abrupt but none the less was helpful and efficient. All other staff were most courteous, friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was again excellent.

As I mentioned in my earlier review and in the heading of this one, the location is perfect if you are keen on walking. On this stay we walked as far as Rodin's garden and back.

Apart from the air conditioning we had no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Davnz,
Thank you for your nice comment even if the circumstances of your stay was specific regarding the renovation. We hope to see you again as soon as the refurbishment of the rooms are finished.
Contact us directly to ask about availability and the new rooms!
And thank you again for your fidelity at Hotel Cordélia.
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a very nice stay in the hotel. The room was fine, bathroom too.The location is really perfect: close to 2 metrostations, near to Galerie Lafayette, Place de la madeleine.
the only thing which was very annoying was the noise coming from outside! due to no aircondition in the room because of the refubishment of the rooms, we had to leave the window open a bit. and ofcourse that gives noise.
Because of that the small breakfast area downstairs was very hot. As soon as the refurbishment is done, the aircon will be switched on again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Joleen,
Thank you for your nice comment even if the circumstances of your stay was particular regarding the renovation. We hope to see you again as soon as the refurbishment of the rooms are finished.
Contact us directly to ask about availability and the new rooms!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Queen Mary
#573 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Caumartin Opera - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Malown
#1,302 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Basile
Hotel Basile
#665 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordelia

Property: Hotel Cordelia
Address: 11 rue Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#519 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordelia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Cordelia is the place where romantic writers used to meet in the 19th century. In an elegant and relaxing atmosphere of serenity, Countess Cordelia of Greffulhe invites you to discover her 30 non-smoking and air conditioned rooms, all recently renovated. A harmony of shimmering colors combined with some historical eye winks and modern equipment. The courtesy of our staff will make your stay a special moment! The rooms are differently decorated but they stay true to style, each of the 30 rooms (Classic, Comfort and Privilege) have contemporary requirement and charm that inspire relaxation and serenity. Some rooms will surprise you with a flowered window. The hotel CORDELIA'S rooms inspire heaven and are placed in the heart of the world's business and fashion. They offer guests the assurance of a stay under the sign of comfort. All our rooms have the same level of technological equipment: • Direct Individual air conditioning • Direct Phone Line • Free WIFI connection • LCD TV with 56 satellite channels (CNN - Eurosport - BBC - RAI - etc.) • Individual safe • Courtesy tray - tea / coffee / kettle • National and international newspapers at your disposal • Hair - dryer and cosmetic mirror • Welcoming rank of products "Dream Thermal" • Mini bar • Desk • Luggage holder • Iron and an ironing board at your disposal • Other services: Room service 6pm/3am, laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordelia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing