We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, charming, small hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Cordelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cordelia
Ranked #713 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient, charming, small hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was my first trip to Paris. After searching for a hotel on tripadvisor.com, I chose this charming hotel and I was not disappointed. The final renovations are being completed so the hotel has been redone from top to bottom. They were still working on recarpeting the stairway. We arrived at Gare du Nord via Eurostar from London and easily took the RER train to Gare du St. Lazare. After a 4 block walk we easily found the hotel. It was too early for check in but they gladly stored our bags so we could begin our sight seeing adventure. Lots of small boutiques, restaurants and Printemps department store are very close. Very easy walk to museums and metro. The rooms are small but very functional and clean. They have been redecorated and remodeled with modern fixtures. The staff is helpful and pleasant to deal with. The breakfast area is small but charming and the continental breakfast was wonderful. Just what you need to start a day of sight seeing. They lent my niece a power adaptor for our entire stay. When we checked out, we again were able to store our bags until the time for our departing train. Our room overlooked the street below with a bar below but the noise was not a problem even with the window open. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCordelia, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied about our hotel and our staff.
Don’t hesitate to book with us directly by email to have amazing price! We will be pleased to see you again.
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    147
    48
    6
    9
See reviews for
50
149
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first visit to Paris and we pre-booked this hotel via travel agents. Perfect location as very central - could hop on a bus or metro and very easily walk to the places we wanted to go to. Renovations nearly finished and we had a room with air conditioning (however I was unable to find a control to turn ours off of down during the night. We were on the top attic floor and yes the rooms are small but very clean amd quiet room and there is everything you need - including tea/coffee making. we only had a shower but just what we needed. very friendly staff and will speak English and very prepared to help with whatever you need - after checking out they looked after our luggage in a locked room until it was time to leave Paris. Agree with previous reviewer re breakfast room - its very charming but we experienced a morning when a couple came down but no room left so they had to wait until someone vacated a table. there are only 5 tables set up for 4 people each so be prepared to share - however on the plus side breakfast is served until 11.00 am at weekends so no mad rush to be in. I would definately stay here again when visiting Paris.

Room Tip: top floors would be quieter as it is quite a busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied about our hotel and our staff.
Don’t hesitate to book with us directly by email to have amazing price! We will be pleased to see you again.
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here last year for a few days,before the renovations, and it's a lovely little hotel in a great location.
The room wasn't very big but had a hallway which was unexpected, great bathroom and very clean.
The staff was friendly and helpful (not something you can take for granted in Paris).
It's near the main department stores Printemps and Lafayette on one side and Madeleine on the other.
Only negative point was that on the street in front of our room was a cafe/bar and the noise was a little annoying. Apart from that we had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasha310611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken time to communicate us your comments concerning the hotel Cordélia.

We are glad to hear that you are satisfied about our hotel and our staff.
Don’t hesitate to book with us directly by email to have amazing price! We will be pleased to see you again.
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ and London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stepping into the Hotel Cordelia on a wet and wintry afternoon was like being offered refuge in someone's rather comfortable Parisian home - in fact the home of the Comtesse Cordelia herself! The entrance has a small lounge and bar area which is traditionally furnished and very cosy - especially with the fire going. The reception staff are charming, friendly and helpful. I stayed in a 5th-floor refurbished room, and although small, it was very comfortable and had everything I needed - even tea and coffee-making facilities, rare in European hotels. Despite being in a lively district of theatre and shopping, with many cafes and restaurants, I found the nights very quiet and was able to sleep well, woken only by the daily street refuse collection - around 5.30am! - but I didn't mind that too much. Although I was out during most of the day, on the one occasion I was in the hotel during office hours, I did hear some noise from the ongoing refurbishment but it was distant and not particularly intrusive.

My room, restfully decorated in grey shades, was small but well laid-out, with a very quiet minibar in the wardrobe. It had a flat-screen TV with some English channels (BBC1, BBC2, CNN, Al Jazeera) although I did try to watch some French TV also! Lovely new bathroom with spacious shower and ecological toilet paper. I notice that some other reviews talk about the rooms being hot; I'm pleased to say that my room had air conditioning and although still being tested during my stay, it worked well. I just turned down the temperature overnight and it was fine.

Breakfast was served in a refurbished vault area with lovely stonework and arches. I particularly liked the galettes and lovely coffee served with a jug of hot milk on request, plus fresh croissants and pastries as well as the usual selection of cereals and fruits. The egg-boiling machine took a while to figure out, timing-wise; my egg was soft after 10 minutes in there which was fine, but colleagues who'd left theirs in there for only a few minutes found them undercooked, so it's a case of trial and error. If you like to have an egg for breakfast I'd suggest putting it in the machine as soon as you arrive. For dinner I went to Le Greffulhe, a delightfully French and very popular bistro opposite the hotel, but there were plenty of alternatives in the neighbourhood. All in all, I would definitely stay here again as it was a really enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I had room 504 which was a corner room on the 5th floor, therefore had 3 windows. It had a very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetenCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Carole,

We thank you for your kind message.
We hope to see you soon at Hotel Cordelia
Kinds regards
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brugg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very clean and quiet room, also good size, well furnished and recently renovated. Friendly and helpful staff. Great central location, close to many sights, restaurants, bars and lots of shopping.

Only negative point was small and not very well organized breakfast area (though quality of food/drink was fine). This may, however, have only been a temporary state of affairs because of renovations then underway in parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Google Translation
Francis C

Nous sommes ravis d’apprendre que vous avez apprécié la qualité de service et le professionnalisme de notre personnel lors de votre séjour parmi nous.

Toute l’équipe de l’Hôtel Cordelia aura le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau lors de vos prochains déplacements
Nous vous invitons à réserver directement sur notre site afin de bénéficier de notre meilleur tarif VIP www.cordelia-paris-hotel.com
Bien cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice and cosy little Hotel on a quite silent street just a few minutes from the main department stores Printemps and Lafayette. Very near the Opera Garnier and walking distance to Louvre. Our room in the sixth floor was little, but charming, with a great Parisian roof-view. Hotel staff was friendly and the room was always tidy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tuulinen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Directeur général at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We take very careful note of your comments do everything we can to ensure your stay in our establishment is enjoyable as possible.
All the staff at the Hotel Cordelia will be pleased to welcome you back again next time you are passing through.
We invite you to make your reservation directly on our website in order to enjoy our best VIP rate www.cordelia-paris-hotel.com
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and as always had a lovely restful few days. The new bathrooms are superb with their double size showers and cream tiled walls and the Cordelia is for us the only place to stay. In fact we worked out that we had been coming here for about 13 years now! How time flies. The location is perfect for all that you want to see in Paris, especially if you are walking which we did a lot more of this time around. New Year in Place de la Concorde was fabulous and the meal at the Greffulhe over the road was superb as always. In fact I will be returning for a shorter visit in April with a friend who has fallen in love with Paris and the Cordelia as much as I have. All the staff are pleasant and helpful too. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly56_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Responsable réception at Hotel Cordelia, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Beverly,
Thank you for your lovely message. It is a real pleasure to welcome you for 13 years now!
The 1st and the 2nd floor are now closed and noise pollution can be expected between 9 am to 5 pm until the end of April 2014.
20 of our 30 rooms are newly decorated with air conditioning.
It won't be long until we contact you and show you the two last floors!
See you next time in April and don’t hesitate to book directly with us or with your VIP code!
Kinds Regards,
The Cordélia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Queen Mary
#658 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Hotel Le Malown
#1,262 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#408 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George Sand
Hotel George Sand
#728 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cordelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cordelia

Property: Hotel Cordelia
Address: 11 rue Greffulhe | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#518 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cordelia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Cordelia is the place where romantic writers used to meet in the 19th century. In an elegant and relaxing atmosphere of serenity, Countess Cordelia of Greffulhe invites you to discover her 30 non-smoking and air conditioned rooms, all recently renovated. A harmony of shimmering colors combined with some historical eye winks and modern equipment. The courtesy of our staff will make your stay a special moment! The rooms are differently decorated but they stay true to style, each of the 30 rooms (Classic, Comfort and Privilege) have contemporary requirement and charm that inspire relaxation and serenity. Some rooms will surprise you with a flowered window. The hotel CORDELIA'S rooms inspire heaven and are placed in the heart of the world's business and fashion. They offer guests the assurance of a stay under the sign of comfort. All our rooms have the same level of technological equipment: • Direct Individual air conditioning • Direct Phone Line • Free WIFI connection • LCD TV with 56 satellite channels (CNN - Eurosport - BBC - RAI - etc.) • Individual safe • Courtesy tray - tea / coffee / kettle • National and international newspapers at your disposal • Hair - dryer and cosmetic mirror • Welcoming rank of products "Dream Thermal" • Mini bar • Desk • Luggage holder • Iron and an ironing board at your disposal • Other services: Room service 6pm/3am, laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cordelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordelia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing