We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite section of Paris but could do without the mold!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,086 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite section of Paris but could do without the mold!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

There are a few major positives about the hotel, mostly it's location and the helpful staff. The location is really unbeatable. This section of Paris, however, also happens to be our favorite! It is quintessential Paris - with cafes, shops, history, museums, restaurants and gardens abound. Some of the best... The Church of St Sulpice is right across the street with it's beautiful organs, St Germain des Pres is a 10 minute walk, St Sulpice and Mabillon Metros are a few minutes walk, the Luxembourg Gardens are at the end of the street, a treasure trove of great and affordable shopping on Rue du Four/ Rue de Buci, Rue Bonaparte and all of the surrounding small streets, great restaurants like our top favorite - Da Pietro for amazing Italian food.

However, I'm so sad to say that our experience at the hotel was really ruined by getting very, very sick and we think it's from the mold in the hotel. We were married in Paris this fall and other guests stayed at the hotel who also had allergies and colds from the mold. We are really healthy people who rarely get sick, so we knew something was up at the hotel. As soon as we walked in each night, my sinuses and breathing got very tight. As soon as we would leave, we felt much, much better. By the 2nd day, I had a full sinus infection. I can't say anything bad about the staff not accommodating us because we never brought it to their attention since we were so busy. We even had to postpone our honeymoon! We checked out as planned but stayed another few nights to recover in an apartment that other guests had rented for the week. So, if you are the least bit sensitive to this sort of thing (which I don't think I've ever experienced a reaction like this!), I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on the top few floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank starchixx325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
62
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Getting to Relais Saint Sulpice is like going back home after a long trip. You do not get the standard, aseptic ambiance that have most of 3 stars hotels in Paris. After the sweet and warm reception you are shown your room...and there you get home. Each room has a different decoration with pieces of furniture sourced in antics they have reasonable sizes big enough for comfort and warm enough for a nice romance in the best district of Paris (VI). The courtyard gives a feeling of the movie Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen the Saint Sulpice church, which you can enter from the back ie 5 meters from the hotel door, is a good way to reach the wonderful restaurants and bars from Rue des Canettes, or Marche Saint Sulpice, not to mention Cafe de Flore or Jgo. Same for shopping as Le Bon Marche is nearby - 10 minutes walk max. Jardin du Luxembourg, the most beautiful park downtown Paris is at the end of the street,...fantastic for me as I am a regular runner. 2 metro stations are nearby for more distant options Taking the breakfast at the hotel is the best option though, as the buffet is just perfect. I have tried a good dozen of hotels in this category in the last 6 years and this one is definitely my home in Paris

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are probably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelstarSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We spent six nights at the hotel and the best thing I can say about it is that the location is great. We checked into our room and found a clean & tidy small room without any frills whatsoever. Why would a hotel not have night stands next to the bed? I had to move the chair over to the bed to make a table to put my books etc. on. Hair dryer is something out of the 1950's- no shower cap, body lotion etc. just some shampoo. But the absolute worst is the wifi situation. The hotel charges for wifi (which when paying over $200. a night is an insult) and then the service is archaic (Orange). Only one device can go up at a time, each & every time you attempt to use it, you must put in a super long ID and code. The final straw was that Orange blocks Skype usage! This is inexcusable that a hotel would deal with a service that blocks such a necessary service for travelers. In addition, the hotel has the tv volume set to a maximum that is quite low as the rooms are all fairly close together. As mentioned above, the location is great and the maid service does a good job. All in all I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katshorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel has loads of charm and is located in an ideal central Left Bank location, just behind the St. Sulpice church (now of Dan Brown fame...). It is situated in an old 'hotel particulier' of someone famous (can't remember who). The rooms are typical parisian, i.e. small, but the bathrooms are well-appointed. The place is clean and tidy. The breakfast room is down a floor in the basement and is thus a little claustrophobic. My major complaint was having to pay for wi-fi and Internet access, which seems ridiculous given the price and out-of-touch with 2011. There is a slight "old" feeling and maybe the place just needs a little updating. Nevertheless, it wouldn't be my most highly recommended hotel in that neighborhood (I have sampled a few) but is certainly better than many.

Room Tip: We had a 'deluxe' room facing the inner courtyard which was very quiet. Not sure about the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellinghawk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The other reviews pretty much describe the hotel and what to expect (and its deficiencies.) We wanted to be in this neighborhood and would have chosen the Bonapart except it was full. Nevertheless, pretty well satisfied but expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhanlonsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We found this place gratefully after having a terrible experience with a robbery attempt at the Hotel Peyris Opera. They were wonderful to us and gave us rooms far below their stated price. Rooms were clean and lovely. Views of a really nice little courtyard. GREAT location near a wonderful neighborhood with lots of great places to eat. Only downside was the breakfast (too pricey at 12 euro for what you got) and you had to also pay for internet (the only hotel we had to do that in 3 weeks) I would have rated them 5 starts but for that. BUT overall a wonderful place to be. You will not be disappointed!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tracyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Little room on the interior courtyard was quiet and perfect for sleeping of jet lag! Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating helping with taxis and restaurant reservations. Great location.

Room Tip: You may want to request a room on a higher floor for more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssphl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#306 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#577 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#90 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#464 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#144 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Property: Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Address: 3 rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#446 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel of the 18th century situated in a beautiful environment; the St Germain with its terraces, its art galleries but also fashion boutiques (Dior, Yves St Laurent, Vuitton, Armani ...) all easily accessible on foot from the hotel. Le Relais Saint Sulpice, whose facade is listed as an historic monument, has a magnificent view of the back of the remarkable church of Saint Sulpice: Baroque architecture, paintings by Delacroix on the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing