We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but needs an update and some help in the kitchen.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,082 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location but needs an update and some help in the kitchen.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

After six nights here, I can agree with some of the comments below. Small dark rooms with firm but comfy beds. The common areas are not very welcoming with flea market furnishings in the lobby and a picnic furniture feel to the breakfast area. The lobby wood floor has actually buckled up to cause a safety hazard which is well marked with bright yellow tape. The staff is well, what can I say, stereotypical French. Although they are from everywhere in Europe except France.
The breakfast is rather expensive for what is served. Continental style with cold eggs and bacon. As hard as they tried, they couldn't get the sterno warmer to function with the eggs and bacon server.
But oh, location, location, location! You can walk to excellent eateries of every type. Metro is close by, Luxumberg gardens a short stroll away, and hiding behind Saint Sulpice Church, it is very,very quiet.
For a few days on the left bank it is OK, but there are better options for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XinguNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
62
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here based on a recommedation of a friend and will be quick to recommend to our friends too! We loved this charming inn. It is right by St Sulpice church and is very close to the St Gemaine area of Paris. This was a highlight of our stay in Paris!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmdc3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice. I had stayed there about 7 or 8 years ago and the reason I returned was because of the strengths it still has - great quiet location in St. Germain, lots of good restaurants in the immediate area, a clean room with good a/c (which was important given 90+ degree temps), reasonable prices for Paris, and a sedate place to spend downtime. However the hotel needs a refresh - it's starting to look a little dingy, the "antiques" others mentioned are run down and uncomfortable (chairs are more like lumpy flea market finds rather than comfortable seating), very limited common space, the room TV could not be turned up to a reasonable volume (and had very limited programming in English), and the staff was not particularly friendly or professional (a 4:00 am wake up call to get a cab to the airport was never delivered). Housekeeping apparently had no schedule since they showed up at different times of the day - often while I was in the room. In addition they would leave their cleaning cart outside my room all day (as my room was next to the elevator (otherwise not a problem). Housekeeping also took care of the typical European breakfast service, and not particularly well. So it was functional and served its purpose, but not particularly pleasant for a week long holiday. I'd recommend it only for solo travelers or couples on a budget - not families.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the charming Hotel Relais in January while visiting Paris to see old friends. We love the location which is centrally located on the left bank yet has a out of the way feel. The prices are on the high end but we enjoyed the quiet which enabled us to sleep peacefully even with the windows open... not easy to find in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mflifeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We chose this hotel to stay for a week in Paris, seeing as it was central and the price was reasonable though on the upper end (relatively speaking, in Paris prices). Seeing the full prices, however, we can only recommend to not book this hotel unless it is at a 20-30% discount rate at least - it is simply not worth the full price (of 220 EUR per night).

The room was small-ish, and the bathroom was not too clean (some mould in the corners). Due to lack of space, there was no small table besides the tiny and low bedside tables, so self-made breakfast in the room was a bit of a struggle. There was also no mini fridge in the room, which is surprising for a hotel of this class (also since the space was there in the cupboard). The TV has quite a few French channels (obviously), a few English news channels, and a good percentage of the German TV channels. The beds are a bit on the hard side; the area, being behind a church, is really quiet at night.

The service is generally friendly and forthcoming, but the room service is lacking: the room comes with two bottles of water, which are not refilled (even though those bottles are 0.30 EUR each in a supermarket!). The toiletries are also not refilled regularly, like in most other hotels I have been to.

Overall, we will keep this hotel in good memory and would not mind too much coming back; however, due to the price of the hotel compared to the shortcomings in the room service, I can only rate it a 3/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid July and had 2 rooms next to each other. While the rooms were a fair size by European standards, they were quite dark as they both were on the ground floor and opened onto an internal courtyard. Our room was immediately opposite the front entrance so if you opened the curtains to let some light in then everyone who walked into the hotel could look straight into our room. The bathroom was adequate and there was a separate W.C. When we arrived we immediately noticed the holes in the wall of the W.C room where presumably the toilet roll holder had come off. As well as this there was no toilet paper supplied and a hall lamp was not working as it needed a new bulb. The rooms were quiet and clean and the hotel staff were pleasant. The hotel was a close walk to Luxembourg Gardens, the Metro and many great cafes, restaurants and shops. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as there was so much choice at the cafes nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We visited Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice for one night back in April 2012.

Our room was a good-sized double, overlooking a beautiful courtyard. The decor was bright and cheerful, with nice soft furnishings and a lovely and clean on-suite. I seem to remember there being an average choice of global tv channels and a walnut writing desk in our room (nice touch).

The breakfast buffet was good value for money and well-stocked with a range of cereals, croissants and juices, tea and coffee.

I found the staff to be very helpful, who were also able to interject in English when my French failed. They also allowed us to leave our luggage in a secure cupboard after we'd checked out as we had a few hours of sightseeing before our flight home. This was much appreciated.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrietthespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#298 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#563 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#456 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#147 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Property: Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Address: 3 rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#446 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel of the 18th century situated in a beautiful environment; the St Germain with its terraces, its art galleries but also fashion boutiques (Dior, Yves St Laurent, Vuitton, Armani ...) all easily accessible on foot from the hotel. Le Relais Saint Sulpice, whose facade is listed as an historic monument, has a magnificent view of the back of the remarkable church of Saint Sulpice: Baroque architecture, paintings by Delacroix on the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing