We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,061 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
358 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is directly behind the St Sulpice Cathedral and near the Luxemburg Gardens and easy walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame and other sites in Paris. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom was on the small side. The decor is anything but French and a little dowdy. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was most helpful. For the price, we would probably stay somewhere else the next time we are in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
62
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Relais St. Sulpice is a small, old hotel on a side street directly across from Eglise St. Sulpice. I forget how many stories it is, but if you get a room facing the street, you will have a lovely view of the exquisite architecture of the old church that was featured in The Da Vinci Code. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping, and there is a metro station around the corner. There is a Christmas market in the area in December.

The rooms are very small by American standards, but typical for small, private European standards. They are very clean and ornately decorated, and if you want a true Paris hotel experience at a not-exorbitant price, this is the place. There is a breakfast room and an honor bar. We saw a couple having their breakfast up in the bar/lounge area. The breakfast is not included in the room price, which is not atypical in Europe (13 euros, but kids eat free). When we stayed there in 2002, the coffee was terrible. We did not try the breakfast this time around, so I cannot comment on it. However, it is offered from 7:30 till 11, which is great for those sleeping in due to jet lag. The breakfast room is on a subterranean level, with a glass roof that stretches up to the first floor. It is very pleasant.

The bathroom to our room both times was extremely small. There is a step-in tub with a glass shower door that covers only a third of the tub opening (also typical Europe), but the shower head was actually a hand held shower assembly which would not point anywhere but toward the wall when not being held. They really need to put some shower heads in, or else make the height of the hand-held adjustable to a greater height than it is, plus flexible enough to be able to point down into the tub so you don't have to hold the assembly in one hand while trying to wash with the other.

The staff is very friendly and speaks English. As usual, they are very appreciative if you try to speak a little bit of French. They will call a taxi for you to get to the airport, which is always a plus, and have a flat-rate deal with a taxi for 55 euros.

We love this little place for its authenticity and charm, despite the challenging shower and size of the room. The huge double windows open and give a great view out to the Eglise, but when you close them, the street noise disappears. It's a great deal in the heart of Paris for under 200 euros.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the front of the hotel because of the view of the Eglise St. Sulpice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

After six nights here, I can agree with some of the comments below. Small dark rooms with firm but comfy beds. The common areas are not very welcoming with flea market furnishings in the lobby and a picnic furniture feel to the breakfast area. The lobby wood floor has actually buckled up to cause a safety hazard which is well marked with bright yellow tape. The staff is well, what can I say, stereotypical French. Although they are from everywhere in Europe except France.
The breakfast is rather expensive for what is served. Continental style with cold eggs and bacon. As hard as they tried, they couldn't get the sterno warmer to function with the eggs and bacon server.
But oh, location, location, location! You can walk to excellent eateries of every type. Metro is close by, Luxumberg gardens a short stroll away, and hiding behind Saint Sulpice Church, it is very,very quiet.
For a few days on the left bank it is OK, but there are better options for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XinguNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here based on a recommedation of a friend and will be quick to recommend to our friends too! We loved this charming inn. It is right by St Sulpice church and is very close to the St Gemaine area of Paris. This was a highlight of our stay in Paris!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmdc3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice. I had stayed there about 7 or 8 years ago and the reason I returned was because of the strengths it still has - great quiet location in St. Germain, lots of good restaurants in the immediate area, a clean room with good a/c (which was important given 90+ degree temps), reasonable prices for Paris, and a sedate place to spend downtime. However the hotel needs a refresh - it's starting to look a little dingy, the "antiques" others mentioned are run down and uncomfortable (chairs are more like lumpy flea market finds rather than comfortable seating), very limited common space, the room TV could not be turned up to a reasonable volume (and had very limited programming in English), and the staff was not particularly friendly or professional (a 4:00 am wake up call to get a cab to the airport was never delivered). Housekeeping apparently had no schedule since they showed up at different times of the day - often while I was in the room. In addition they would leave their cleaning cart outside my room all day (as my room was next to the elevator (otherwise not a problem). Housekeeping also took care of the typical European breakfast service, and not particularly well. So it was functional and served its purpose, but not particularly pleasant for a week long holiday. I'd recommend it only for solo travelers or couples on a budget - not families.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the charming Hotel Relais in January while visiting Paris to see old friends. We love the location which is centrally located on the left bank yet has a out of the way feel. The prices are on the high end but we enjoyed the quiet which enabled us to sleep peacefully even with the windows open... not easy to find in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mflifeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We chose this hotel to stay for a week in Paris, seeing as it was central and the price was reasonable though on the upper end (relatively speaking, in Paris prices). Seeing the full prices, however, we can only recommend to not book this hotel unless it is at a 20-30% discount rate at least - it is simply not worth the full price (of 220 EUR per night).

The room was small-ish, and the bathroom was not too clean (some mould in the corners). Due to lack of space, there was no small table besides the tiny and low bedside tables, so self-made breakfast in the room was a bit of a struggle. There was also no mini fridge in the room, which is surprising for a hotel of this class (also since the space was there in the cupboard). The TV has quite a few French channels (obviously), a few English news channels, and a good percentage of the German TV channels. The beds are a bit on the hard side; the area, being behind a church, is really quiet at night.

The service is generally friendly and forthcoming, but the room service is lacking: the room comes with two bottles of water, which are not refilled (even though those bottles are 0.30 EUR each in a supermarket!). The toiletries are also not refilled regularly, like in most other hotels I have been to.

Overall, we will keep this hotel in good memory and would not mind too much coming back; however, due to the price of the hotel compared to the shortcomings in the room service, I can only rate it a 3/5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#321 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#541 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#138 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#78 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#476 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Property: Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Address: 3 rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#434 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel of the 18th century situated in a beautiful environment; the St Germain with its terraces, its art galleries but also fashion boutiques (Dior, Yves St Laurent, Vuitton, Armani ...) all easily accessible on foot from the hotel. Le Relais Saint Sulpice, whose facade is listed as an historic monument, has a magnificent view of the back of the remarkable church of Saint Sulpice: Baroque architecture, paintings by Delacroix on the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing