We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Really nice Parisian Boutique Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,107 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for almost a week, the rooms are a bit small but with a Parisian feel to it which we love. All the rooms were also overlooking a small garden or courtyard inside the hotel which was also nice and refreshing. It was a bit expensive though and the breakfast was the same everyday-bacon, eggs, breads, fruits..Service was good but when my daughter left her euros inside the cabinet in the room she couldnt find it anymore when we got back in the hotel.But still, we would love to stay in this hotel again in the future when we go to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is directly behind the St Sulpice Cathedral and near the Luxemburg Gardens and easy walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame and other sites in Paris. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom was on the small side. The decor is anything but French and a little dowdy. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was most helpful. For the price, we would probably stay somewhere else the next time we are in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Relais St. Sulpice is a small, old hotel on a side street directly across from Eglise St. Sulpice. I forget how many stories it is, but if you get a room facing the street, you will have a lovely view of the exquisite architecture of the old church that was featured in The Da Vinci Code. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping, and there is a metro station around the corner. There is a Christmas market in the area in December.

The rooms are very small by American standards, but typical for small, private European standards. They are very clean and ornately decorated, and if you want a true Paris hotel experience at a not-exorbitant price, this is the place. There is a breakfast room and an honor bar. We saw a couple having their breakfast up in the bar/lounge area. The breakfast is not included in the room price, which is not atypical in Europe (13 euros, but kids eat free). When we stayed there in 2002, the coffee was terrible. We did not try the breakfast this time around, so I cannot comment on it. However, it is offered from 7:30 till 11, which is great for those sleeping in due to jet lag. The breakfast room is on a subterranean level, with a glass roof that stretches up to the first floor. It is very pleasant.

The bathroom to our room both times was extremely small. There is a step-in tub with a glass shower door that covers only a third of the tub opening (also typical Europe), but the shower head was actually a hand held shower assembly which would not point anywhere but toward the wall when not being held. They really need to put some shower heads in, or else make the height of the hand-held adjustable to a greater height than it is, plus flexible enough to be able to point down into the tub so you don't have to hold the assembly in one hand while trying to wash with the other.

The staff is very friendly and speaks English. As usual, they are very appreciative if you try to speak a little bit of French. They will call a taxi for you to get to the airport, which is always a plus, and have a flat-rate deal with a taxi for 55 euros.

We love this little place for its authenticity and charm, despite the challenging shower and size of the room. The huge double windows open and give a great view out to the Eglise, but when you close them, the street noise disappears. It's a great deal in the heart of Paris for under 200 euros.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the front of the hotel because of the view of the Eglise St. Sulpice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After six nights here, I can agree with some of the comments below. Small dark rooms with firm but comfy beds. The common areas are not very welcoming with flea market furnishings in the lobby and a picnic furniture feel to the breakfast area. The lobby wood floor has actually buckled up to cause a safety hazard which is well marked with bright yellow tape. The staff is well, what can I say, stereotypical French. Although they are from everywhere in Europe except France.
The breakfast is rather expensive for what is served. Continental style with cold eggs and bacon. As hard as they tried, they couldn't get the sterno warmer to function with the eggs and bacon server.
But oh, location, location, location! You can walk to excellent eateries of every type. Metro is close by, Luxumberg gardens a short stroll away, and hiding behind Saint Sulpice Church, it is very,very quiet.
For a few days on the left bank it is OK, but there are better options for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XinguNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here based on a recommedation of a friend and will be quick to recommend to our friends too! We loved this charming inn. It is right by St Sulpice church and is very close to the St Gemaine area of Paris. This was a highlight of our stay in Paris!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmdc3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice. I had stayed there about 7 or 8 years ago and the reason I returned was because of the strengths it still has - great quiet location in St. Germain, lots of good restaurants in the immediate area, a clean room with good a/c (which was important given 90+ degree temps), reasonable prices for Paris, and a sedate place to spend downtime. However the hotel needs a refresh - it's starting to look a little dingy, the "antiques" others mentioned are run down and uncomfortable (chairs are more like lumpy flea market finds rather than comfortable seating), very limited common space, the room TV could not be turned up to a reasonable volume (and had very limited programming in English), and the staff was not particularly friendly or professional (a 4:00 am wake up call to get a cab to the airport was never delivered). Housekeeping apparently had no schedule since they showed up at different times of the day - often while I was in the room. In addition they would leave their cleaning cart outside my room all day (as my room was next to the elevator (otherwise not a problem). Housekeeping also took care of the typical European breakfast service, and not particularly well. So it was functional and served its purpose, but not particularly pleasant for a week long holiday. I'd recommend it only for solo travelers or couples on a budget - not families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the charming Hotel Relais in January while visiting Paris to see old friends. We love the location which is centrally located on the left bank yet has a out of the way feel. The prices are on the high end but we enjoyed the quiet which enabled us to sleep peacefully even with the windows open... not easy to find in Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mflifeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#188 of 1,805 in Paris
373 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#119 of 1,805 in Paris
1,130 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#63 of 1,805 in Paris
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#326 of 1,805 in Paris
287 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#666 of 1,805 in Paris
665 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#104 of 1,805 in Paris
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Address: Rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#475 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £140 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an 18th century hotel particulier, the Relais Saint-Sulpice offers a sanctuary, a timelessness experience, in the heart of historical Paris, in communion with the Saint-Sulpice Church. This voyage in time opens all sense toward reverie, creativity and wellbeing. Midnight in Paris - A secret garden in the heart of Creative Paris The collusion of styles, periods and characters takes our guests in a singular, personal and confidential realm. Objects and furniture from the Empire and Art Nouveau’s periods mingle with African art, engravings from Roberts, lithographies from De Rougemont edited by Galerie Maeght, a marvelous Japanese Garden by Zuber, offering an environment to reenergize and blossom in the Paris of publishing and high fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing