We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Ranked #1,086 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse hotel!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am appalled that this hotel calls itself 4 star. We were in need of a hotel in Paris for one night due to a change of plans caused by the train strike. After a frustrating day we arrived at the hotel to what can only be called an indifferent reception. Taking the elevator to our room should have been a warning. It reeked of a foul smell from what I think was a leak from garbage. Our room was right next to the elevator with a hole in the wall near the door. The room itself was totally run down and extremely shabby. Mildew in the bathroom. A towel rack held together with duct tape. The room description described it as heated. What a joke. The hair drier was a hose blowing not much of anything. To be fair they did send up a hair drier when I requested one. The wallpaper was peeling pretty much at every seam. We paid top room rate for this. I feel we were given a substandard room. Under the circumstances we were desperate and I believe it was the only room available in the hotel. But charging us the full rate was disgusting. I did complain and was offered a free breakfast which I don't eat. When I checked the room rate online the higher rate was if you wanted flexibility with any changes. Considering that we booked it that day and were only staying one night we should have paid the lower advertised rate that was 45 euros less than what we paid. We were told by the way that there was a problem with the credit card system when we checked in so we paid in cash. What was that about? I feel totally raked advantage of. Other than a great location there is nothing 4 star about this hotel. We are staying at 2 other 4 star hotels during our stay both of which are true to the rating and are paying less!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zelda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaismonceau, Responsable commercial at Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very sorry and saddened by your unpleasant experience in our hotel. We take very seriously the problems you mentioned and we would like to investigate the matter. Could you kindly contact us via e-mail at relaisstsulpice@wanadoo.fr with your name and dates of your stay so we can pinpoint the chain of events of these incidents as it is quite exceptional as the other comments show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    65
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
14
62
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ewellis
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My son and I visited Relais St. Sulpice for the second time (our first visit was 7 years earlier). As before, we were greeted warm and welcoming staff, who despite my butchered French always seem to understand me. Our deluxe room was small, but comfortable. Closet space is limited, and there were relatively few hangers; I made a trip to Muji for extras. But for the price and location would be hard to do much better. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights! This hotel is located behind the St. Sulpice Church which is where the DiVinci Code movie filmed. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of Restaurants and Pubs with a lot of character... Truly loved the location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for almost a week, the rooms are a bit small but with a Parisian feel to it which we love. All the rooms were also overlooking a small garden or courtyard inside the hotel which was also nice and refreshing. It was a bit expensive though and the breakfast was the same everyday-bacon, eggs, breads, fruits..Service was good but when my daughter left her euros inside the cabinet in the room she couldnt find it anymore when we got back in the hotel.But still, we would love to stay in this hotel again in the future when we go to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
362 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. The hotel is directly behind the St Sulpice Cathedral and near the Luxemburg Gardens and easy walking distance to the Seine, Notre Dame and other sites in Paris. The rooms are comfortable and the bathroom was on the small side. The decor is anything but French and a little dowdy. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was most helpful. For the price, we would probably stay somewhere else the next time we are in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Relais St. Sulpice is a small, old hotel on a side street directly across from Eglise St. Sulpice. I forget how many stories it is, but if you get a room facing the street, you will have a lovely view of the exquisite architecture of the old church that was featured in The Da Vinci Code. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping, and there is a metro station around the corner. There is a Christmas market in the area in December.

The rooms are very small by American standards, but typical for small, private European standards. They are very clean and ornately decorated, and if you want a true Paris hotel experience at a not-exorbitant price, this is the place. There is a breakfast room and an honor bar. We saw a couple having their breakfast up in the bar/lounge area. The breakfast is not included in the room price, which is not atypical in Europe (13 euros, but kids eat free). When we stayed there in 2002, the coffee was terrible. We did not try the breakfast this time around, so I cannot comment on it. However, it is offered from 7:30 till 11, which is great for those sleeping in due to jet lag. The breakfast room is on a subterranean level, with a glass roof that stretches up to the first floor. It is very pleasant.

The bathroom to our room both times was extremely small. There is a step-in tub with a glass shower door that covers only a third of the tub opening (also typical Europe), but the shower head was actually a hand held shower assembly which would not point anywhere but toward the wall when not being held. They really need to put some shower heads in, or else make the height of the hand-held adjustable to a greater height than it is, plus flexible enough to be able to point down into the tub so you don't have to hold the assembly in one hand while trying to wash with the other.

The staff is very friendly and speaks English. As usual, they are very appreciative if you try to speak a little bit of French. They will call a taxi for you to get to the airport, which is always a plus, and have a flat-rate deal with a taxi for 55 euros.

We love this little place for its authenticity and charm, despite the challenging shower and size of the room. The huge double windows open and give a great view out to the Eglise, but when you close them, the street noise disappears. It's a great deal in the heart of Paris for under 200 euros.

Room Tip: We like the rooms at the front of the hotel because of the view of the Eglise St. Sulpice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

After six nights here, I can agree with some of the comments below. Small dark rooms with firm but comfy beds. The common areas are not very welcoming with flea market furnishings in the lobby and a picnic furniture feel to the breakfast area. The lobby wood floor has actually buckled up to cause a safety hazard which is well marked with bright yellow tape. The staff is well, what can I say, stereotypical French. Although they are from everywhere in Europe except France.
The breakfast is rather expensive for what is served. Continental style with cold eggs and bacon. As hard as they tried, they couldn't get the sterno warmer to function with the eggs and bacon server.
But oh, location, location, location! You can walk to excellent eateries of every type. Metro is close by, Luxumberg gardens a short stroll away, and hiding behind Saint Sulpice Church, it is very,very quiet.
For a few days on the left bank it is OK, but there are better options for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XinguNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Recamier
Hotel Recamier
#306 of 1,798 in Paris
320 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Louis 2
Hotel Louis 2
#577 of 1,798 in Paris
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#90 of 1,798 in Paris
337 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#464 of 1,798 in Paris
247 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#144 of 1,798 in Paris
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice

Property: Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice
Address: 3 rue Garanciere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#446 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful hotel of the 18th century situated in a beautiful environment; the St Germain with its terraces, its art galleries but also fashion boutiques (Dior, Yves St Laurent, Vuitton, Armani ...) all easily accessible on foot from the hotel. Le Relais Saint Sulpice, whose facade is listed as an historic monument, has a magnificent view of the back of the remarkable church of Saint Sulpice: Baroque architecture, paintings by Delacroix on the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint Sulpice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Saint Sulpice Hotel
Relais Saint Sulpice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing