We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture
Ranked #292 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a quiet spot in the city. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 602) that slept 6. The room was clean and modern; beds were new, clean and comfy. Bathrooms also modern and clean. Kitchen lacking in equipment for any real cooking, but OK for pit stop of a few days.
Staff were helpful.
My only criticism is that the windows don't fit so there is not much sound insulation from the inevitable city noise.
We loved our stay here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Hi,

thank you for your nice comment. I'm sorry that you did not find all you needed to cook properly and we keep improving the kitchen equipment.

Hope to see you soon at the Villa Daubenton.

Best regards,

Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    84
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
169
43
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago. Excellent situation in one of the quieter corners of Paris. Well located for Metro. Good restaurants in and around Rue Mouffetard. Hotel changed hands since we were last there. Not bad before, but really good now. Helpful and friendly reception staff. Tastefully furnished and well-equipped little apartment. Independence if you want it, but the area, and Paris in general, has much to offer. Good breakfasts to be had locally .. recommend Village Monge, near Censier-Daubenton Metro.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Dear Philip,

thank you for your kind recommendation. You are right, we are lucky being located at the nice area of Mouffetard.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay once again and you appreciated the renovations and changes at the Villa Daubenton.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We checked in to 3 rooms villa. The lighting in the room doesn't works properly and consider dark. Some of the lighting without bulbs. The sofa bed not in the correct position, once lay down the leg would be higher than the head, hence need to sleep the other way round. However, the staff here is helpful and friendly. Careful at night since there is small renovation short distance from the villa. We saw someone squatting down at that area doing something illegal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
Dear Eastkid,

thank you for sharing your opinion.

I am surprised concerning the illegal issue close to the hotel, as the 5th district is one of the best district in Paris. I have been walking around at many different hours and I have always considered the area really calm and full of nice Parisian people living around.

Concerning your apartment, we have different decorations thus I propose to contact us directly next time and we will propose you the one suits you better.

I hope to welcome you and your friends in the near future at the Villa Daubenton.

Best regards,

Isabel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Loved this hotel! really nice location, just south of saint germain.

It was so easy to get to from GDG airport, just one train and we were just down the street from the train station. Much cheaper than a taxi and no changes of train lines!

Really near to the local metro station, also it was cheap to get a taxi to the Lourve area. (about 10euros) The staff at the hotel called us lots of cabs and were so helpful with dinner recommendations and places we should visit.

The building is a typical old french building, but the inside is super modern, clean and chic! We loved our room and even had an outside area where we could sit and eat breakfast! we had a small fridge and kitchen area in the room, which were spotless and really handy for keeping drinks and if you wanted to cook in the hotel one night, you could. Perfect if you are travelling alone!

Really clean, lovely bathroom, lovely room, great decor and great staff.

The breakfast in the morning was incredible too! they bring it to your room at your request, hot chocolate, yogurt with honey, breads and croissants! it was wonderful and exactly what we wanted!

LOVED this hotel, would love to return!!!!

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are nice! the staff are so helpful, I am sure you could ask them if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyMerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Dear Kirsty,

thank you so much for your kind opinion. I am glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and the new design.

We will be pleased to welcome you again at the Villa Daubenton. As you already know, either in couple or with friends, we are the right place you need to enjoy the best of Paris.

Best regards,

Isabel MORALES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel just finished painting and had new decorations so things were clean and kitchen areas had everything we needed for our breakfast. Staff was helpful, very friendly to our dog and our friends who was with us traveling with their 3 year old son. the location is centrally located in the 5th arr. and close to great cafes, restaurants, and markets as well as the metro. Isabel and the rest of the staff were great!

Room Tip: We loved our first floor room because we had an outdoor balcony/garden. Get that one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annakgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Dear Anna,

the pleasure was ours having you and your friends with us for your long stay in Paris, not to forget Rafa, your nice dog!

thank you for trusting in the Villa Daubenton and I will be waiting for your next stay! Hope for next Roland Garros event?!

Best regards for you, your husband and friends,

Isabel MORALES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

To start off with I completely agree with P K's review. The pictures of the rooms online are TOTALLY misleading! I highly advise the hotel to show the real rooms of the hotel so as not to upset guests expectations! We were put in a horrid blue room with extremely dim lighting that was depressing to say the least. The kitchen was tiny and not what we expected from the pictures we saw. The price we paid was extremely high for what the place is. Not to mention being asked to pay 40 Euros because we didn't clean our dishes (which we did). I honestly would not recommend this place to anyone.

In all honesty, the staff were polite and helpful and In my opinion, to make a start at improving, they need to have a more transparent website and not have such ridiculous "policies" regarding cleaning dishes when the rooms are already expensive as it is.

Room Tip: Ask to see a REAL picture of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ameera_Al-Merri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Dear Mrs. Ameera,

thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience at the Villa Daubenton.

I apologize for this matter. As I explained at your arrival, we just finished the redecoration of this apartment a few days before your stay and unfortunately the pictures were not available yet through the websites. Please note that all the apartments are available trough the website now and we invite you to chose the decoration that suits you most.

I am sorry that after all the satisfaction you and your family evinced during your stay I did not realized the apartment style was so disappointing. Please contact us for your next stay in Paris and we will be pleased to provide you the best service.

Sincerely yours,

Isabel MORALES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Villa Daubenton in June 2014. A negative experience from the moment we checked in. There was wet oil paint on the walls in our room. When we complained about this (fumes, wet paint) we had to change rooms. Only to see more of the same. BUT....it got worse...the door of the balcony could not be locked. Major security risk as our young children had to sleep in the living room leading to the balcony. Not to mention the risk of burglary. We couldn't watch TV and cook at the same time as there was only one fuse and we had to alternate between the cooktop and the TV. Very limited kitchen utensils made it difficult to prepare a meal. A used sponge in the kitchen. Totally disgusting!!! We paid for a room with a washing machine. There was no washing machine in the room. It had been removed and replaced by a dishwasher that wasn't connected until 2 days before we checked out. We ended up washing clothes and dishes by hand. The room itself was a horrible pink colour with very limited lighting...most unpleasant to come back to after a long day in Paris. The bathroom was tiny with a bath/shower. The bath tub was so high off the floor that it was very difficult to get in and out of. Having traveled somewhat for both business and leisure, I am can confidently say that this was the worst hotel experience ever. Extremely overpriced hotel offering one unacceptable situation after another. The location was average. Staying at this hotel again is totally out of the question!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Daubenton, Directeur général at Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture, responded to this review, 24 November 2014
Dear Madame,

I am deeply sorry that you had this negative experience with us. Concerning the color of the apartment I understand that you do not like it and thus I invite you to chose before your arrival among all our different decorated and styled apartments for your next stay.

I take great consideration of your remarks and I took the necessary actions to improve our services: supplementary utensils available in the kitchen, a new cleaning kit is provided in the apartment at the arrival; we have created a Laundry Room available 24h/24 for all our clients and we provide you with detergent tablets for the dishwasher in the apartments; grab bars have been installed in order to help getting into the bathtub.

I wish I could welcome you in the future at the Villa Daubenton and remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

Isabel MORALES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
Helzear Champs Elysees
#306 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Hotel Serotel Lutece
#764 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Helzear Montparnasse Rive Gauche
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#328 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#391 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture

Property: Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture
Address: 34 rue de l Arbalete, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Family Hotel in Paris
#313 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Daubenton is an Apart Hotel in Paris center. Ideally located in the Latin neighbourhood, near the Pantheon and the Cathedral of Notre-Dame, two steps from the rue Mouffetard in the 5th arrondissement. The apart Hotel Villa Daubenton has 17 spacious studios and apartments that can welcome between 1 and 6 people, and offers unique comfort and services. Our apartments are perfect for families. Feel like at home ! As a hotel member of the HappyCulture Collection, enjoy of a free access to Netflix and popcorns in all apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Villa Daubenton Hotel Paris
Residence Hotel Daubenton
Residence Hotel Paris
Villa Daubenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing