We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, uncomfortable claustrophobic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Ranked #190 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced, uncomfortable claustrophobic rooms”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a medium quality room (the Odyssey) and they initially gave me the dreaded Room 41. It had an extra low ceiling only 7-feet high that sloped down at the end like an attic. I knew the rooms were tight going in, but this was more than I expected. I've stayed in a lot of hotels with strange smells, but this one had a strong chemical smell that stung my nostrils, so strong that I had to sleep with the windows open, which is not a good idea because the narrow Paris streets channel sound. Frequently woke up. Room 41 also had a depressing dark blue theme (tip: choose a brighter color). Room 41 also was freezing cold from an over-active air conditioner. Something tickled my memory so I checked Tripadvisor and sure enough someone else had the same smell and cooling problems in the same room (room 41)! Decided I had to change rooms next day. Things changed a bit when I received a new room on the first floor, which had a higher ceiling that was about ten feet high (3 feet higher). It also had a huge window on one side with doors that open up that allow you to lean out and take in the Paris scene. This new room had a better smell, more faint and perfumy and tolerable, like a carpet cleaner smell. Air conditioners are either on or off, temperature is not regulated (fan settings are: off, medium fan, or full). While room 41's unit cooled too well, leaving the room freezing, new room's worked perfectly. Bed headboards have felt pads on them, making me wonder what liquids they had soaked up over time. Hard to avoid leaning against them in bed. Building directly across the narrow street is under heavy construction. Woken up at 8:00am to guys throwing metal and glass into a bin, then using hammers and chisels all day on the facade outside (yes, handheld chisels and tap tap tap during morning and early afternoon). Not so good if you're working off jet lag and sleeping late. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Would not stay at this hotel again though despite some of the modern design being neat, as the rooms are too cramped and the overall design ignores comfort. You basically have to shuffle around the room, always bumping into things. Not enough room in bathroom to place your things, just a narrow ledge above the sink. Can't imagine two people staying in these rooms. Not a complete nightmare due to superficial modern design, but for paying over €200 a night, expected more comfort.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoDude69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    195
    35
    11
    2
See reviews for
42
374
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

this was our first visit in paris, and it was one off the best trips we ever made because this hotel!
amazing location (everything is 5-20 min away), amazing concept and design, amazing food and amazing stuff and service!!!!
the rooms are very clean. some said there small but for me and my wife it was great. the design is inspiring and the breakfast (if you decide to take it, and you should) is great and cheep.

Room Tip: in this hotel (by concept) any room is different and special. take the superior room or the Galileo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Personxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a back-alley close to Louvre and the Opera. The rooms are small (we ordered the medium), but with such cool and modern look that it doesn't feel that way. There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance, and at this price the hotel deserves a recommendation. Lovely breakfast and friendly and helpful service. Enjoy your stay!

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Ó is in the Marais district which is a fantastic location. Walking distant the several Paris tourist must do's.
Plenty of funky shops, great cafe's also in walking distance.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. I noticed another review complained about a particular room. Ours was the opposite. Air con worked well. We also had a window beside the bed which look out over the prettiest garden area. So plenty of fresh air.

Very funky interesting design. Great colours. Not for the traditional conservative person.
We loved our stay here and would definitely come back.

Only slight issue. Internet worked but only just in our room. Not a huge problem. Everywhere else it was perfect.

Pricing was reasonable given such a trendy area. Book in advance you get a better rate. We used an app on our iPhone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeshellB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for work. While the rooms are small, they are nice with comfortable beds. The problem with the room, however, was twofold: 1. the ventilation system was broken and as a result the temperature was at a constant 15 Celsius. 2. the room smelled of mould and it was apparent that it was coming from the ventilation system. The attendant at check-in was obviously aware of the problem because it was obvious that the room had been sprayed with a scented aerosol to mask the smell. (She went up to check to see if the room was ready upon check-in). To add insult to injury, the night attendant offered to discount the room because of the cold, which didn't happen and in fact, there was a charge for breakfast on my bill which was not consumed.

Loved the neighbourhood, having stayed in St. Germain, and Montparnasse in the past. It is an easy walk to various attractions and St. Germain and the Chatelet-Les Halles Metro is a short walk.

Room Tip: Rm. 41 smells of mould.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sal_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The price is according to Parisian prices. The breakfast a bit too expensive in my opinion. But all in all a very del situated hotel, in walking distance from most important places and the staff was absolutely helpful, oriented, simply quality.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hajlander1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very friendly staff. My room was very quiet (it was facing inwards so no street/construction noise). Fantastic location just blocks from the Louvre. Room was small (it's Paris!) but very clean and modern. I especially liked the rainfall shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sshambar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon Rouge by Elegancia
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
Hotel Crayon by Elegancia
#242 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#152 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#79 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#179 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
Hotel Louvre Sainte Anne
#546 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia

Property: Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia
Address: 19 rue Herold, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#189 Business Hotel in Paris
#257 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the famous Les Halles district, near the Louvre and the Seine, discover the Hotel Odyssey, designed by Ora-Ito and his team. Odyssey Hotel is a haven of peace where prevailing welfare and comfort. In the original style of Ora-Ito, the hotel is a harmonious blend of clean lines and soft curves and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Odyssey by Elegancia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing