We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, worked out well”
Review of Brittany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brittany Hotel
Ranked #872 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice location, worked out well”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

When we first arrived in the evening, tired & disoriented, we thought we'd drawn the black marble. Ascending in the smallest elevator imaginable, we were shown to a depressing room on the top floor. (My memory is that it was all black!) The next morning, though, the very helpful staff let us change rooms to a much more pleasant one on the 2d floor, with French windows that opened onto the lively rue St. Lazare, & our mood took an upward swing. The neighborhood is filled with restaurants, sometimes very small, all the ones we tried quite good & the metro stop is right around the corner, just beyond a boulangerie, & we were off to all parts of that wonderful city. The Brittany is not luxe & the rooms aren't spacious. In addition, there was construction going on in the lobby, so it's probably not the place for the sedate traveler, but the people at the desk couldn't have been more helpful, & on the whole we had a very pleasant experience there, & would return. I should say that I'm retired & 75, so we're not talking about the hostel trade here. Breakfast was a bit pricey but there are plenty of places steps away where you can get a good breakfast. Thumbs emphatically up!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    219
    69
    25
    16
See reviews for
48
192
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I read reviews and thought I did my homework before leaving for a 5 day Paris trip.From all that I read I expected hotels to be expensive and tiny.This hotel was just that , but it was also dirty,The staff I will say at the front desk tried to help us, but when the rooms are all the same ,nothing larger or cleaner than the next, what can the staff really do.They advertised as a/c, and there was none. I paid for an upgrade large room, and after seeing most of the rooms they are all the same size! False advertising.The worst was that the hotel rooms were musty, dirty, leaking faucet and just not clean!!!!
I travel all the time in my work and have been in small rooms, but small and clean I can deal with.
This was not acceptable.I moved out the next morning and found a beautiful place, clean and wonderful that was $50 less per night!
This was a pleasure trip and money was not a concern, but small, dirty and $350 a nite a joke.
Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ath;etes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The renovations seem to be ongoing and the lift IS laughably small but the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and had a very comfortable bed with good quality bedding. We also found the air conditioning great amidst Paris at the height of its summer heat. The bathroom was very modern and also completely keen. In terms of location, I think this is great; you are only a ten minute walk from Sacre Coeur and about 15 to the Louvre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank blufish0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Previous reviews mentioned the small lift or elevator, which is very true BUT 3 other hotels that are local that I've stayed in have the same sized lift if not smaller.
Having stayed in quaint Chicago & large american city hotels that charge triple the rate with no breakfast, this hotel was a great stay for my husband & my little over a week stay.
The breakfast was buffet style, nothing super fancy but enough to fill us up& enjoy in their breakfast room. A brand new room was being built off the lobby to serve breakfast in& a kitchen renovation was under way.
One day The staff made recommendations to eat at the poultry place next door, which like fast food Was prepared to go. The staff said they would be Happy to have us eat in their breakfast room anytime& even provided us with cutlery and dishes and cleaned up after we were done with our meal.
The rooms are small but efficient& they do have air conditioning that works great now! Our bathroom was actually decent sized but only had a shower, which for us was ideal because we don't take baths at hotels anyways.
There are actually 3 metro stops within a short walking distance but the one nearest the hotel was very local & the people at this station did not speak english.
Overall Natalie, and Mi Mi (hopefully I spelled that right) really made our stay very at home. Natalie even took time to calm my mother down when she'd panicked from not hearing from us in a few days.
Only 3 things i'd change is trying to book trips at home previous to arrival due to cost, the cost of the wifi. (At the time we booked it said online it was included, it meant on site Not with your room cost. We've paid for wifi at many hotels but this one seemed fairly pricey compared to local cafe prices.) And somewhere to sit outside, or be able to see outside& enjoy a glass of wine after seeing many sites in paris!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby1329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

A very nice hotel a little outside of the chaos. Good local restaurants, shops and grocery near by. Right on the subway line. Renovation underway but didn't interfere, will be really nice when done but prices may increase. Breakfast was decent. Overall a great choice for us.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the back where it will less noisy, but enjoyed being able to watch the hud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andiLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Although there is a Metro station just 2 minutes from the hotel, the immediate area around the hotel is not particularly touristy and quite scruffy, but within 5 minutes walk you start to come across more bars and restaurants.
Staff were very nice and helpful, Natalie in particular who was genuine and keen to assist.
When we stayed at the Brittany there was a fair amount of renovation going on......and it does need it.
If you are claustrophoebic you will not want to use the lift.
It is a great place if you get a good price and budget is key to you.....we basically used it to sleep and that was it.
Didn't have any meals there, so cannot comment on quality

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room, do tell them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Stayed three nights and found the hotel ideally situated. Some refurbishment going on at hotel but did not create any problems. Good buffet breakfast and staff on reception were all excellent.Plenty of eating places nearby, ask reception for recomendations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank 1943bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#418 of 1,801 in Paris
612 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#740 of 1,801 in Paris
218 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#232 of 1,801 in Paris
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Hotel
#741 of 1,801 in Paris
355 reviews
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,040 of 1,801 in Paris
324 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#757 of 1,801 in Paris
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brittany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittany Hotel

Property: Brittany Hotel
Address: 3 rue Saint Lazare | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brittany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Heart of South Pigalle between the Opera and Montmartre, close to Galerie Lafayette and Printemps. The Grands Boulevards and Moulin Rouge are close by.The building in stone has been built en 1914 in Haussmann Style. The decoration of the lobby is an industrial vintage style with a Scottish inspiration. Leather on the wall of the bar and the lounge, large wooden old plank on the floor, chesterfield and comfortable armchairs, Edinburgh rugs give a calm and cosy atmosphere.The hotel is just a step from the subway station N-D Lorette line 12 and of the bus 26, 32, 42, 43, 67, 74 and 85. The station Saint Lazare and the station of the North are 10 mns.The mains Direction to use from the hotel to visit the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brittany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing