We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on walking distance of many sites”
Review of Brittany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brittany Hotel
Ranked #876 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
CapelleaandenIjssel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location on walking distance of many sites”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here with my friends for a short weekend. The hotel is in walking distance of the Gare du Nord (10 minutes). The metro station is just around the corner. A lovely area and a lot of nice restaurants nearby. For an exclusive meal in a ** restaurant, just cross the street. The Sacre Coeur is also on walking distance as are the grand magasins, if you are interested in some serious shopping. A lovely museum to visit is Musee Jacquemart-Andre on the boulevard Haussmann 158 or Musee Marmotan Monet on 2, rue Louis Boilly.
The hotel staff is very nice.

Room Tip: Have a room on the inside, if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyParis, Propriétaire at Brittany Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear client,
Many tanks for your veru nice review. We are very happy that you've spent a good time in Paris and more precisely in our neighborhood.
The description you gave is gorgeous and reflecting very well the area.
For next time, you could visit either Musée de la Vie Romantique (George Sand house) (10 mns walking). There is a winter garden where you can eat for lunch or having a tea in the afternoon.

Paris has lots of small places not very known but absolutly surprising.

All the team is absolutly involved to make the stay of our clients as comfortable as it could be.

We expect you visit sometime futher.

Yours sincerely
Michel CADIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    221
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
50
194
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Good location for exploring Paris, and friendly hotel staff. The barman deserves a special mention - Stephane - he was brilliant, serving lovely cocktails with a smile!

Really comfy beds and pillows! Although road noise was a bit of an issue on the first night.

Our shower door did not close properly meaning you had to have a very quick shower to avoid flooding the bathroom. The main double doors did not close securely. There was only one socket in the room (one extra one in the corridor next to door into the room - no use when trying to straighten your hair etc) and no main room light, just bedroom side lamps.

Whilst decorating needs to take place, I do not feel it is neceassry to have every floor of the hotel started at the same time. There were ceiling panels missing down our corridor with wires exposed, and masking tape all over the doors, even on the room handles!

Shame these points let the hotel down as there are some really quirky, cool things about the place too - the bar area is nice, as is the breakfast room - both are decorated nicely.

Had a great time in Paris though, and wouldn't rule our returning for a budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomsMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyParis, Propriétaire at Brittany Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Client,
I thank you very much for taking time to leave a coment about your stay in our proprety.
You re the first to give a coment about Stephane our bartender. He will be very happy when I'll tell him this evening.
The door of the shower has been fixed.
Concerning the socket. It is a security choice. We had to removed some sockets, because there were used by client to use an iron inside the room which is absolutly forbiden. There is an hairdryer in the bathroom.
The lights choice in the room was a mistake. In fact, we follow architect advise, given more importance to the decoration setting than the effeciency. We try to manage it with powerfull electric bulb.
The works in the corridor will be finished at the end of april. The ceiling is done, the electricity will be finished today. The painters are preparing the wall and doors to do the final painting and at the end, the new carpet will be posed.
We had to do all floors in the mean time. It is easier to manage.

After all of that, we'll do the smoking room, in the bassement of the hotel.

It seems you've spent a good time in Paris. Which is very important. I'll hope you'll come back to see us again.
Yours sincerely
Michel CADIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip together to Paris. Being in the 1st Arrondisment was perfect for seeing tourist sites. The hotel is very close to the metro station making it easy to explore the entire city. Beautiful hotel and rooms, delicious breakfast, great service. We even loved that Depeche Mode was always playing in the lobby. Don't hesitate booking this hotel. We have since sent other family members there and they had a great experience as well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami75d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyParis, Propriétaire at Brittany Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear client,
I thank you very much for your compliments and confidence. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Thank you for the recommandation to your family who has been satisfied either.

Depeche Mode is a choice of our bartender who is a fan of 80's song. Which, I confess, could be annoying sometime.

Yours sincerely,
Michel CADIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed at the Brittany hotel for week during Christmas, the hotel was very quiet. It has a fantastic location and can be walked from Place de la Concorde, although Notre-dame de lorette tube station is literally 20 yards away.
I thought it was charming and the staff were lovely and very friendly and very helpful. The only negatives was the room was a bit cold so we had to put on the little heaters provided in the room, and there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. They were still renovating, thank god no builders whilst we were there, but its a great little hotel

Room Tip: try and get a room away from the tiny lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BawleronaBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyParis, Propriétaire at Brittany Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Client,
I thank you very much for your very kind review. It always help us to progress.
As you wrote the hotel is still in renovation. After many problems, now behind us, we can see the end of the works and expect that they will be finished in march.
The building will be totally renovated with new lights given a spectacular effect (hopfully).
The corridor and stairs will have new fabrics on the wall.
And we will be able to propose to our clients a smoke room in the bassment of the hotel.

You maybe will come back and see the hotel fully renovated.

Yours sincerely
Michel CADIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I opted for the Brittany Hotel on the strength of a response by the management on August 6 that renovation works would be finished by the end of last year. Sadly this was not the case and I found it still to be a work in progress, Doors were covered in masking tape and finding the right room necessitated a hunt with the NFC enabled key to a lock that recognised it. On the fourth floor, opposite the lift were numerous nails and screws sticking out of the wall at head level. For 2 days my room was plunged in darkness by the outside shutters being closed and covered with sheeting in order to sandblast the façade. Nothing that this would be happening was communicated on check-in. After 2 days I asked if this would remain like that for the duration of my stay I was told that yes, it would and did I want to change to another room. As packing and unpacking cases is my biggest pet hate I declined, figuring that I'd survive for a day and a half to departure. Had I been told of this on check in I would definitely have opted for the alternative. These were the points that made me regret somewhat that I had booked this hotel.
On the plus side, the public areas and the rooms were very nicely appointed and had plenty of HD tv channels. I had a superior room at the front. The desk is sited in front of the bed leaving no space, necessitating a position of 'side-saddle' when using the desk. The overall theme appears to be Scottish with lots of tartan and a scotch bar. Breakfast was a hit and miss affair. One morning at 9 there were no scrambled eggs, no sausages, no cheese, so that day breakfast was 2 mini croissants with 1 remnant of a slice of ham. 12 euros. Generally the scrambled eggs were a gloopy affair and generally an insult to chickens everywhere.
More or less everything is within walking distance and the metro station is around the corner. Staff are generally very friendly and very helpful. Once the building works have been completed it would be a very pleasant and affordable hotel to stay in. My tip - if you want to have breakfast, be early, very early.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Location is good, staff are nice and friendly, rooms are clean especially toilets. Bed was nice and comfortable.
No toilet amenities, no mini bar in room, no kittle. It is just a small room. Room furniture is dark in color and so is the floor. Very small elevator hardly for one person and a small bag. small LCD screen but was not bad. Small recitation area and breakfast was not containing many varieties.
Value for money is extremely high. Wouldn’t pay more than 70 euro per night for such a room.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are options here. my room was on street that was very noisy but this is ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hajerimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittanyParis, Propriétaire at Brittany Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello,
I thank you very much for taking time to leave a review about your stay in our hotel.
You, mainly, appreciate your stay in our hotel. Nevertheless, you've mentionned some critics as follw :
No Toilets amenities. This is on purpose we have a sustenable commitment. Then we provide soap, shampoo, body lotion "Pascal Morabito" in pump.
No minibar, no kittle. The hotel has a bar "Brittany Cocktails & Whisky Bar". We can serve any kind of beverage (cold or hot) untill 2.00 am.
The lift is small, unfortunatly it is something we cannot change.
The breakfast is as follow :
CLASSIC BUFFET : coffee(café), Tea, Chocolate. Fresh fruit juice, mineral water. Baguettes, mini croissants, mini chocolate croissants and in grapes. Milk 1/2 creamed, unsalted and slightly-salted butter, Egg sausage - Cheeses - Ham, natural yoghurts, fruit yoghurts, Cereal, honey compote, jams, nutella, Fresh fruit, fruit salad, segments of fruits.

DIETARY BUFFET : 0 % whole bread, milk, natural yoghurt and in fruits fromage frais.

You wouldn't like pay more than 70€ a night. This price is usualy the price for a 2 stars hotel in low season in Paris. The hotel is 3 stars and the period of your stay is high season.

Anyhow, I hope you've spent a good time in Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Michel CADIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Libertel Montmartre Opera
#418 of 1,800 in Paris
619 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Hotel Paris
Golden Hotel Paris
#766 of 1,800 in Paris
388 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#691 of 1,800 in Paris
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,104 of 1,800 in Paris
329 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Villa La Parisienne
Villa La Parisienne
#1,083 of 1,800 in Paris
132 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#906 of 1,800 in Paris
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brittany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brittany Hotel

Property: Brittany Hotel
Address: 3 rue Saint Lazare | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brittany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Heart of South Pigalle between the Opera and Montmartre, close to Galerie Lafayette and Printemps. The Grands Boulevards and Moulin Rouge are close by.The building in stone has been built en 1914 in Haussmann Style. The decoration of the lobby is an industrial vintage style with a Scottish inspiration. Leather on the wall of the bar and the lounge, large wooden old plank on the floor, chesterfield and comfortable armchairs, Edinburgh rugs give a calm and cosy atmosphere.The hotel is just a step from the subway station N-D Lorette line 12 and of the bus 26, 32, 42, 43, 67, 74 and 85. The station Saint Lazare and the station of the North are 10 mns.The mains Direction to use from the hotel to visit the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brittany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing