We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location, basic quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Ranked #344 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good central location, basic quiet room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

The hotel has a good central location, within walking distance to most of the sites and close to a variety of restaurants.
The staff were welcoming at the front desk, we spent most of our time out away from the hotel and only returned to sleep.
Our bedroom was basic, with slightly tired decor and a view that didnt encourage you to look out of the window again (straight out onto other rooms), however it was quiet and as we only used it as a base, met our needs.

Room Tip: Good for a central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    230
    60
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
251
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Great location, within striking distance of Madeleine metro and walking distance to Concorde with which both has most of the lines to bring you to the major places in Paris.

Rooms and furnishings of decent quality. Don't expect large rooms as this is Paris! It's unfair to rate them poorly for small rooms. Free wifi with good connection speeds were welcome. We didn't bother with the hotel breakfast and just went downstairs to Fauchon for breakfast.

Love being able to walk up to Opera within 5 mins and get quick access to main shopping boutiques along Rue Fabourg St Honore and to Lafayette/Printemps.

Location is probably a bit thin on the value for money food and you probably have to travel out for that.

Overall no complains and the stay was very pleasant. Staff was very friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygraphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

This 3* hotel is located right in front of the Madeleine Church. This means being well located but, somewhat on a busy street. The hotel is clean and the service excellent. The rooms are surprisingly large for Paris and for the price. Also, the bathrooms are very clear and nicely appointed. Finally, wireless internet is available in all rooms and for free. I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

The Hotel Madeleine Plaza is my favourite hotel in Paris: I slept there for the third time
and, as usual, I was satisfied with service; the rooms are not too large (but in Paris it is the rule) but very clean; we had the room facing the secondary street as the ones facing place de la madeleine have a wonderful view but are a little bit noisy for me; wi-fi connection is on request and it works well;
buffet breakfast is not cheap but it's worth; the staff is nice and helpful;
I will come back to the Hotel Madeleine Plaza for sure in my next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank depexmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Stayed here on first trip to Paris- Oct. 29 thru Nov. 6. Superior room on the 6th floor with a balcony- perfection! Traveling with my 71 year old mother who had a health situation after the long trip over from the US and the hotel staff was immediately helpful and attentive. Throughout the remainder of our stay, they were caring and always making sure we were comfortable and all was well. The front desk personnel spoke excellent English and even endured my pitiful French! They were always willing to help us with directions, suggestions for restaurants nearby (of which there are many), Taxi and Metro assistance.
The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were beautifully updated, but be aware that the showers aren't like American showers- the "door" is only about 1/3 of the way down the tub, so you have to stand right under it with the nozzle pointing down or you'll spray water all over the bathroom! Only a minor inconvenience- and the only one that I encountered my entire stay.

I would not hesitate to recommend this fine establishment to anyone planning a trip to Paris! Its in an outstanding location- within walking/strolling distance to many of the main attractions, and with easy access steps from the lobby door to Metro entrances and bus lines to easily get around this fantastic city. If you are planning a trip to Paris- you can't go wrong with the Hotel Madeleine Plaza!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorgue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for a night in September 2008 and loved the central location of it. Rooms were alright and the value for money was great. I would recommend this place if you look for something central and clean.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I traveled to Paris, among other European cities, to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary. We were more than pleased with the Hotel Madeleine. We were given an upgraded room on a high floor with a loft and wrap-around balcony, with a view of the Eiffel Tower which, fortunately for us, offered a great light show the night we were there. We also had a direct view of La Madeleine church, located in the Madeleine Plaza, directly behind and within walking distance of the Place de La Concorde. The Metro, a taxi pickup location, and a "hop on and off" bus stop are all adjacent to the hotel, as is an indoor/outdoor cafe that has nothing to do with the hotel. Hotel offers continental breakfast, but we opted for the sidewalk cafe for the experience. Young man by the name of Youshao at front desk (who thankfully spoke English), and really, everyone we dealt with at the hotel including the manager were very friendly, patient, and accomodating (unfortunately, unlike some of the locals we encountered on the outside). Definite plus: it has an elevator and a/c in the rooms, and our room had a very comfortable king bed and nice roomy bathroom. Free internet in the lobby. Hotel very clean, and all this for an affordable price. We were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moradilla1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Le Relais Madeleine
Le Relais Madeleine
#375 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel de Seze
Hotel de Seze
#148 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#399 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Hotel Opera Marigny
#436 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madeleine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeleine Plaza

Property: Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Address: 33 Place de la Madeleine | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#284 Family Hotel in Paris
#341 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madeleine Plaza 4* located Place de la Madeleine famous for its luxury boutiques and delicatessen is ideal for business and leisure travelers. The hotel features 49 spacious rooms decorated with refinement in a French classic style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madeleine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Plaza Hotel
Madeleine Plaza Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing