We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good location”
Review of Powers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Powers Hotel
Ranked #630 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

During my trip to France I visited Paris and stayed in the Powers Hotel. Nice place with good location. Rooms a little bit small, but the builing is old..from the hotel there are just 2 minutes walk to Champ Elysees. The room was with balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    85
    25
    15
    10
See reviews for
61
128
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Yes, it was expensive (but we were upgraded). The staff was the highlight. From the desk staff, to the breakfast people, we were treated by cheerful, competent and helpful people. The breakfast hostess, a Catherine Denueve look-a-like, was always a wonderful wake up call. The location was close main arteries and the Metro. On the whole, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We just got back from our trip to Paris. We were there for 10 nights and stayed at Hotel Ares in Paris, Disneyland Hotel in Paris, and ended our trip here at Powers Hotel. I was very excited to stay here as the pictures with the fireplaces make it look so quaint and romantic. We arrived around 1 pm, and there was a large group checking in, they told us rooms weren't ready yet, so we left our luggage and hit Champs Elysses! After some shopping we came back when they said rooms would be ready, they gave us our first room, number 17, and I was just so excited. Much to my dismay, this room is not very French and didn't look anything like the pictures. I nearly started crying. It was a boring white bedroom with a bathroom that looked like it was an institution. I told my husband he had to go request a new room, as this wasn't what I had booked and I need something more Parisian. He came back a few minutes later and said they had another room that we could look at. They took us to room 34, ahhhh there we go! This was the room I had imagined. A fireplace (of course not working since it's original, but it's all for ambiance anyway) beautiful ceilings and a nice Parisian look. I thanked the very nice lady who switched us rooms and we kept that one. They had said you may not want as the bathroom is very small with no tub, that part I didn't care about, I wanted a room that looked and felt Parisian. I'm so very thankful to the staff there who made this happen. It was also the room on the corner of the hotel, so it was very quiet. As this is an old building, you can hear neighbors (from the few minutes we were in 17) and rarely heard the people coming and going while in room 34. Very cute room, and TONS of closet space, which you know is a rarity in Paris. Overall, very nice stay. Very convenient to Champs Elysses, without being right on that busy street.

Oh and you get L'Occitane products that smell divine, and they spray that in your room when they clean so you come back to Lemon Verbana L'Occitane scent, it was wonderful. :)

Room Tip: Do your research as rooms vary greatly in this hotel. Room 34 is on the end, and not a lot of hallwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Live Oak, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The trip to Paris was the last leg of a European vacation. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and most accommodating to our needs. Our French language skills were almost nonexistent, and the staff confirmed each of our daily tours with the travel agency. The trip would not have been the fabulous experience we hoped for had it not been for the staff, especially Yusuf and Gils. The room was spacious, as well as the bathroom and closet space. I look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Sp
Level Contributor
661 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a place I will never come back. Here are the reasons: (1) staff was very rude when we asked for a late checkout (when we first asked for it, the "concierge" said we had to leave the room at 2PM; the second time, he said it was 1PM. When we inquired that he had previously said that the room should be vacated by 2PM, he answered: "well, now I say is 1PM"); (2) the manager was also rude and said that no late checkout was available even without checking her computer; (3) the third member of the front desk was a girl who was working there for a week or so and could not help us in any matters; (4) the bathroom is awfully small with no place to put your stuff (apart from two cups fixed on the walls for your tooth bruch; (5) the room was small; (6) the elevator carries 2 or 3 people (without luggage); (6) no one helped with our luggage on checkin or check-out; (7) at breakfast we ordered some toasts (more than once) and bever got them. And all of this for merely 490 euros a night... Forget this place! Go to Frontenac - just accross the street - for half price and ten times better service.

Room Tip: Go to Frontenac instead. This place is awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Sept. 2013 for 4 nights and just loved this place. We were celebrating our 15 wedding anniversary and they upgraded our room for free. We had a lovely room with a balcony. The room was more spacious than I expected and was clean and had plenty of space for storing our clothes and luggage. We enjoyed standing out on the balcony and people watching. The staff was extremely polite and treated us with first class service. The conceirge, Vincent was most polite with us as we bugged him several times a day with questions and for directions on the Metro. Every day he greated us with a smile and gave us perfect directions and answered all our questions. Thank you so much, Vincent. You are a great asset to this hotel. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

The staff was welcoming in English and appreciated my attempts with limited French.

The room was spacious and elegant, decorated in a very Paris like theme.

The included breakfast was nothin special and the serving staff was pleasant but undermanned.

Location was a block off the Champs Élysées and near the metro (subway) which is a short trip to the Left Bank or Marais district.

On value, you get a top hotel for top $$$

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Claridge
Hotel Claridge
#553 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
Hotel Chateau Frontenac
#228 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Francois 1er
Hotel Francois 1er
#179 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
Hotel Franklin D. Roosevelt
#450 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Oscar
Hotel Oscar
#1,200 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Pershing Hall
Hotel Pershing Hall
#1,164 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powers Hotel

Property: Powers Hotel
Address: 52 rue Francois 1er, 75008 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Paris
#339 Business Hotel in Paris
#346 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#644 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Powers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Powers is located just off the champs Elysees, in the heart of the 'golden triangle' formed by the Champs Elysées, avenue Montaigne and avenue George V.Formerly a private town house, the building was transformed into a hotel in 1919 and has managed to keep its charm and class over the decades. Wood paneling, period furniture, engravings and antique moldings all contribute to the building's elegance.The 50 rooms and suites are spacious, very comfortable and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Powers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powers Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing