We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes a clean comfortable room isn't enough”
Review of Hotel Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Square
Ranked #903 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

So here's the deal with Hotel Square. The rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable. The WiFi never works (seriously, if you're a business traveler and need Internet access, bring a hot spot but even that will be slow). It's a bit out of the way but there are convenient rail and Metro stops. The front desk is very friendly but not very knowledgable (We asked for some nearby restaurants and were directed to go past the Eifel Tower, over a mile away. We went on Tripadvisor and found 3 directly across the street.) We asked for a pack of matches and got them 3 days later.

So, if you're self sufficient and don't mind being a little bit out of the way, this is a decent option.

P.S. - There's a grocery store half a block away which is always a nice option in Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Directeur général at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

We are more than concerned about our service. Please accept our apologies for the Wifi malfunction. The problem came from the Internet provider and not from our installation. It works perfectly today but once again we completely understand your annoyance. We thank you for your comments about our staff and the recommendation of restaurants. There are indeed many restaurants around the hotel. However, we try to find other areas to our customers who want to discover Paris.

Kindest regards,

Edouard Daehn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

we stayed last weekend at this hotel (in a deluxe room -with marble bathroom - very posh!) with 2 other couples for a special family event (so 3 rooms in total). Each was similar and had everything we needed and more -CD player with CDs to play, a couple of books, and everything else you expect like mini bar, a good range of toiletries and quite a few channels on the large tv (toilet and bathroom are separate, which is always appreciated. However, we weren't told about the hairdryer behind the mirror, so I missed it the first morning... well hidden! The rest of the party was told, so I'm sure it was just an omission for us.) The lighting is also a little too 'moody' to fully see what you're doing - the bathroom is however well lit, so do your make up there!)
The rooms are spotlessly clean (I know it should be a given, but it's not always the case, even with an expensive room). They are well 'insulated' so there was very little noise from outside in the street, or from the corridor (double door into the room itself). The bed was excellent (large and super comfy). There were little touches, like a welcome note when we arrived, and a couple of little cakes to eat (sweet!) The front desk were very nice and accommodating, although on arrival, the person we talked to had difficulty understanding either French or English. We got there in the end, but it was a slight struggle. They were however super polite and always said hello or bye when we saw anyone.
It IS indeed 10 min walk to the nearest metro station, but the view at night on the sparkly Eiffel tower from the bridge just in front of the hotel is SUPER (v romantic). It's not a struggle to find it either (go along the Seine from Passy for eg, and you'll see it easily in front of the enormous and round 'maison de la radio')

All in all, I would really recommend it. We didn't have breakfast here (there are plenty of better value deals around) but we had a 'special' dinner, and we couldn't be happier (they accommodated all our needs, even changing our table at the last minute to satisfy our needs and were excellent in service -present enough without being overwhelming). We will be back (at the restaurant for sure, and if we feel splash, maybe at the hotel).

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are certainly worth splashing for (we didn't have time to use the fitness centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchy90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment about our hotel. We are very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Your testimony is particularly useful as it will us improve our services in many ways.

For the tip, the little pastries you had in your room upon arrival are called "Canelé" and they are a specialty from the Bordeaux region!

We hope to welcome you very soon at Hotel Square or Zebra Square Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

3.5 I really enjoyed our stay here but there are a couple of caveats. One was that I booked the hotel with breakfast and the restaurant closed for renovations in the middle of our stay breakfast was the basket of pastries from room service at that point. The other was the location. I should have thought that out. There were quite a few expensive cab rides from there. We had a fire alarm incident which woke us up in the night and I don't remember any compensation which I shouldn't expect but at this caliber of hotel I do.

In exchange for these things the size of the space was really good. The bathroom actually had a tub, and the bed was the most comfortable on our Europe trip. I also enjoyed the modern decor.
Service spoke English well and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inowreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Madam, Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment. It is very helpful for us to receive such a detailed description of your experience.
We are truly sorry for the alarm incident late at night, it was in fact a very unpleasant situation for all our guests staying at that time. We have since emphasized our employee training program on security issues like this one in order to guarantee that this will never happen again.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Square, please do mention this exchange for a future reservation and contact our team directly at reservation@hotelsquare.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel after looking at the slh site. It's a small hotel, very modernly decorated inside and with spacious rooms, especially for Paris standards.
We booked two rooms, since we are a family with two kids and they had no interconnecting rooms. Both rooms were supposedly deluxe but one looked a bit like the classic one. It was smaller and with a different decor, but we were assured they were both the same category. The rooms had a stereo system, CDs for our use, books to read and were very well thought of. The bathrooms were spacious and all the toiletries had a great design.
We had breakfast the hotel. Every morning it was croissants, bread, jam and butter, all very tasty. The waiter every day seemed very bored for what he did. I can only imagine that this was not his normal everyday job, since the restaurant was closed for the holidays and we were informed when booking that only breakfast would be available.
The location is a bit weird, I mean it is close to the Eiffel Tower but not really close to metro stations.
Everybody, except from the breakfast waiter, was extremely polite and eager to help. Believe me, this is very hard to find in France!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Madam, Sir,

I am glad your family enjoyed their stay at Hotel Square. Thank you very much for sharing your experience it will be very helpful to improve our services and the training of our staff.

We hope to welcome your family again very soon at Hotel Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We are a family of 4 and we stayed in 2 rooms. The hotel does not offer interconnecting rooms, but the two rooms were right next door and they gave us 2 keys for each room, so we all had a key to both rooms. The rooms are very nice, modern and spacious. The bathroom is very elegant, and the toilet is separated from the bathroom. There is a fitness center with a pool 300m from the hotel that you can use if you want to. The breakfast is very nice, croissants, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, etc. The staff were very helpful and there is a private parking available for 25 euros a day. We'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have more modern colors. 208 is a good choice. I also suggest the left side so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aristotle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Madam, Sir,


We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very important to us to have discover the experience of Hotel Square through our guest's eyes.

I wish you a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 15-17th July in a deluxe room. The staff were very polite and could not have been more helpful. The room was sufficiently large enough to accommodate two adults and a child (a full size single bed was provided for our son in addition to our super-king size bed), it was clean and the decor modern.

The location is very close to Kennedy RER, and under 10 minutes walk to Passy Metro, and less than a mile to the Eiffel Tower. There is a 7-11 store next door which allowed us to stock up on snacks and lunch, and several nice restaurants very close by.

We ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and of a similar cost to the other local eateries.

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel and would definitely use the Square again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoutgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Madam, Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review it's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We can't wait to welcome your family again at Hotel Square.


I wish you a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013


This hotel was like a breath of fresh air, with staff that offer excellent customer service. We arrived early and our 2 rooms were ready. Rooms are clean and modern. The hotel got a secured parking. The spa was wonderful and much needed after a shopping weekend. Food at dinner and breakfast very tasty and the service extremely efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matti_kettonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsquare, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Madam, Sir,


Thank you for taking the time to write this review it's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hotel Square is in fact ideal to enjoy an after-shopping break. With the Zebra Square restaurant and our Nuxe Spa, you have all you need at all times.

We hope to see you again very soon.

I wish you a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Trocadero
Eiffel Kennedy Hotel
Eiffel Kennedy Hotel
#296 of 1,803 in Paris
691 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Banke
Hotel Banke
#266 of 1,803 in Paris
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Victoria Palace
Victoria Palace
#369 of 1,803 in Paris
599 reviews
Trocadero
Le Dokhan’s, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Trocadero
Maison FL
Maison FL
#254 of 1,803 in Paris
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Square

Address: 3 rue de Boulainvilliers, 75016 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Spa Hotel in Paris
#329 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#430 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#528 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £170 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Square 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Square has a very stylish feel yet it is cosy and comfortable with eye-catching pieces of glass and ceramics in a number of the public spaces. The four-story exhibition wall features a superb collection of contemporary works of art and photographs. Rooms are decorated in various shades of gold and bronze, brick and saffron or grey and ivory.Head to Hôtel Square’s cool, lounge bar and relax on a comfy leather sofa with a glass of champagne. Dine at Zebra Square restaurant in the elegant dining room where haute cuisine is served with a fittingly modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Square Hotel Paris
Hotel Square Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing