We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and dirty with tiny rooms and poor access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Prince Monceau
Ranked #1,645 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Quite difficult to find even for local taxis which was an immediate warning. The reception was tiny and during booking I found that breakfast was not included which was a surprise as the price was high even for a major city. Walking up the stairs (no lift) was fine for me and I only had a small case but be careful about booking this if you have large or heavy cases or have trouble with a small spiral staircase. The carpet on halls and stairs was badly worn and dirty which again had the alarm bells ringing, I was wondering what sort of room I would find. Simply getting into the room was a challenge it is cramped and tiny, dark and very old fashioned. The bathroom/toilet similarly cramped and dirty. Very disappointing at over Euro200/night - I only booked because getting rooms was due to the Paris airshow. I will never stay here again, I'd take a tent and pitch it in a local park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ITJuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights- misunderstood booking- breakfast was not included (make sure you double check when booking) they wanted something like £8 each per morning we went elsewhere for breakfast so unable to comment on food.

We drove to Paris and were aware of parking facilities at hotel- we arrived early morning to find no spaces so had to drive around which was no fun after a 10hour journey!! Found a car park around the corner for £40 (50 euros).

We called 2 days before arrival to let ask about early check in- we were assured on the phone this was no problem and would be fine from 10am. We arrived at 10.30am to be told to wait untill 2pm- husband was not happy as he had driven all night and we planned a sleep before exploring the sights of Paris.

We were put in a room on ground level (the same floor as reception) which initially we thought was excellent. The room was basic, quite dark in decor. We arrived to find a puddle of urine in the en suite!!!

I called for assistance immediately and the chap came in, laughed and went away- 10minutes later a lady arrived to tell us it would be cleaned up straight away.

We the n attempted a snooze- which would have been possible if it had not been for doemstic staff playing with carrier bags from the stor cupboard RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR BEDROOM DOOR!!!

This same disturbance happend at 6am each morning- very disturbed sleep- also door slammed shut each time was opened.

The only positive was location- 15mins walk to Moulin Rouge district- 30mins walk to arch de triumphe and 45mins from eiffell tower.

Paris is beautiful and this hotel would have been ideal for budget accomodation had it not been for the stated complications!!

Would we stay here again? No!

Room Tip: Do not stay on ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

First problem we ran into immediately upon arrival, the hotel was over booked. When we arrived at 4:00 p.m. on Sunday, there was a line of other people, all of which were being told your hotel over booked and there was no room for us. An hour and a half later, we were finally able to "check in" but then were told we were no longer getting the rooms we initially booked, but that one room was ready and the other would be ready later (Check in started at 2:00 p.m. so you would think all of the rooms would have been ready before our whole fiasco). And to top that off, the prices weren't changing even with the alteration in rooms.

When we finally got into our rooms, and this not being our first time in Paris, they were very small, as we had expected. However, our specific room had a bathroom that was so small, we could barely use the toilet. It was pushed into a corner and you literally had to sit sideways on it, with your feet in the shower. This is just unacceptable! Our room was also missing wallpaper on an entire wall and had holes on the others, they are simply corroding. General cleanliness of the room was less then mediocre. There was mold coming out of our bathroom mirror. The linens were like sandpaper. The blow dryer was covered in scotch tape to hold it together! There was minimal lighting, in fact, our light on the wall didn't work at all. Then to top it off, our bathroom had drain problems. The sink wouldn't drain, and we could not shower long because the water would overflow, and since the bathroom was so small, the water would spill into the bedroom. Then we would have to wait at least 20 minutes between showers for the water to slowly drain out enough for a second shower. We addressed the lighting and bathroom issues with the front desk. The only thing that was repaired was the sink. Clearly, reception did not take our complaints seriously at all.

Now, let me clarify, we did not expect a 5 star hotel. We knew we were getting what we paid for. However, the majority of these complaints are completely unacceptable for ANY hotel, regardless of how many stars it may have. To top off our terrible experience at this hotel, we come home late Monday night, after celebrating the new year, and find shreds of white things scattered on the desk and floor. When we look closer, we realize it is shreds of the plastic bag that was on the desk. This plastic bag contained cheeses and meats we had purchased earlier that day. As we looked closer, we saw a hole in the bag, a hole that went through not 1, but 2 plastic bags, and then through the paper into the cheese and the meat. A mouse or some sort of rodent ate through our things! You can actually see the teeth marks in the meat! My boyfriend immediately went down to reception with the bag and told them clearly, we had a mouse in our room. The man at reception said he would make a note and that we could speak with a manager in the morning when we checked out. Needless to say, neither my boyfriend or myself got any sleep that night.

The next morning at check out, we were finally able to speak to a manager. When we told her about the mouse, her answer was "That's strange". She repeated this over and over again. Then we were told, that yet again, another one of our complaints was not noted by reception from the night before! Now the best part of our hour long conversation with her, was that she insisted that someone must have brought in the mouse in their suitcase. She tried to explain how someone had a dog in the hotel (funny since they have a no pet policy) and that she couldn't control what people brought in but that she would try to start. We tried to explain to her that there was clearly a pest problem, probably in the corroding walls, and that she should call pest control. However, she just kept insisting that someone brought the mouse in with them, which is just ridiculous. She refused to take responsibility.

Do not book here. Just terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we booked a 5 day trip to Paris with a travel agent that sent us to this hotel. the reception photos are realistic, very clean and modern. the driver from the airport didn't know where the hotel was so drove around for quite some time, obviously adding to our fare. once we found the hotel we were disappointed that the room wasn't ready. there was a room to leave our bags and we went for a walk around. the hotel is very well located to all the main attractions. we walked everywhere, going to different areas of monuments each day. there aren't really any hills nearby and most things are about a 30 min or so walk away. when we got back to the hotel we got told which floor and number it was and just left to it. the spiral staircase seemed to be the only way of getting from floor to floor, it is very narrow and difficult to carry suitcases or large bags up. the room was very different to the reception area. it was quite old and distasteful. we had booked a double room but it was just 2 twin beds. the walls are very thin so you can hear next door's tv, or shower, etc. it is okay for a few days to get away as long as you aren't planning to spend too much time in the room. we were under the impression that breakfast was included which is partly why we had booked it but there was quite a large fee. the staff in the reception don't speak very good english so you may struggle with quite simple questions

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjay505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Efi D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank IngridElaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2012

thankyou for a pleasant stay,room was clean and aircon was great.staff were very nice and spoke english.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank belinda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Cosy Monceau
Cosy Monceau
#1,424 of 1,805 in Paris
77 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Prince Albert Wagram
Hotel Prince Albert Wagram
#1,063 of 1,805 in Paris
207 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Eugenie
Villa Eugenie
#1,070 of 1,805 in Paris
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trocadero
Hotel D'angleterre Etoile
Hotel D'angleterre Etoile
#1,479 of 1,805 in Paris
89 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Royal Wagram
Royal Wagram
#945 of 1,805 in Paris
271 reviews
Hotel Romance Malesherbes
#506 of 1,805 in Paris
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prince Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince Monceau

Address: 9 rue Tarbe | 17th Arr., 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,645 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £57 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince Monceau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a Parisian hotel, located between champs elysée and opera, close to public transport. fully renovated, all our rooms are equipped with TV, air conditioning, shower, safe, telephone, hairdryer, magnifying mirror ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prince Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Albert Monceau Hotel
Prince Albert Monceau Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing