We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in an ok location”
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Victoria Palace
Ranked #407 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in an ok location”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed in this hotel with a mate for a few nights. It's was indeed a lovely hotel and if I could give it 3.5 I would, but I struggle to award it 4 as I have stayed in better hotels that I have rated as 4. This should not be seen as a criticism of the hotel, it was very very French, the room as big-ish by Paris standards, the staff were very helpful etc etc. but it didn't blow me away that I expected it was going to.....I have stayed in better hotels in Paris that I would rate higher eg: Hotel L'Abboye...which is close to perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    131
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
124
258
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Just returned from a trip to Paris and a stay at the Victoria Palace. The staff were exceptional. Staff at front desk were ready to give directions and restaurant recommendations! The bar tender very efficient and friendly. The doorman always offering a greeting. The breakfast staff provided good service in the breakfast room and also brought room service as well. Housekeeping and turn down was great too with chocolates. This is a small hotel on a quiet street. It is very close to Montparnasse and the Rue Cherche Midi and Bon Marche. It is near several metro stops. I would have preferred to be a little closer to the Seine but we walked frequently to St. Germaine de Pres. I thought the breakfast buffet which was included was just average as far as quality, but offered many choices. The hot chocolate was delicious. Our room was small but closet space was good. The bath was also small but lovely. Hotel arranged car service to/from airport. Overall a very good value with great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We recently stayed here and enjoyed it very much. The staff is very helpful, the hotel room is large and quiet. The bathroom is excellent, especially if you enjoy soaking in a bath each day! Very quiet setting, short walk to several metros or bus stops, easy to navigate. The only negative was the bed was not very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaertmove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Captiva, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We very much so enjoyed our stay here at the Victoria Palace Hotel. The staff is very warm and accommodating with advice on restaurants, directions, and arrangements for us to travel back to the airport.

The hotel is located in a very nice and quiet area, but if you would like to be closer to some sights to see, this neighborhood is a bit far to walk home to at night, but easy to reach by metro or bus.

One of the most excellent benefits of our stay is the included breakfast. Excellent pastries, bread, coffee, and chocolat chaud! If you are travelling on a budget, this is a very good thing!

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is worth the additional cost, though from our balcony, it was not an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Victoria Palace Hotel in Paris is situated on a quiet street in the 6th arrondissement just north of the Montparnasse train station. The hotel is near several Metro stops, so getting around is easy. Our room was quite large (by Parisian standards). The bathroom was lovely, with good water pressure and hot water always available. Breakfast was not your usual Continental style; it was bountiful. I can't say enough about the front desk; everyone was pleasant and spoke excellent English. I found out that the hotel is frequented by many Americans and Australians; this is not where you will rub shoulders with French supermodels. That being said, our stay at the Victoria Palace was very pleasant, overall. In order NOT to sound like an advertisement for the hotel, I must register a few minor complaints: 1. The lack of French supermodels. Seriously, though, I would recommend that you avoid rooms on the inner courtyard. We were placed there in order to assure quiet, but sound can bounce around the courtyard walls and end up being just as annoying as street noises. Secondly, even though there are several Metro stops nearby, I think it I would have been nice to be a little more north (closer to the river), especially if you like to walk everywhere. But, if you don't mind the Metro, the closest stop is five minutes away.
One additional benefit of the location is the Air France bus service to and from the airport; it departs on the hour and half hour all day long to/from the Montparnasse station, a 10 minute walk south of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParisLoverUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Paris, close to transport yet in a quiet street. It is between several different metro line stations which made getting around so simple. Nearby there are fantastic restaurants with a massive choice of cuisine.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, escorted us to our room which was very big with a lovely bathroom. Everything was very clean and lots of little things to make the stay easy. The bed was comfortable and large.

We didn't eat in the hotel for either breakfast or dinner as we wanted to sample the various places to eat nearby so I can't comment on the food.

The hotel allowed us to leave our luggage with them for the whole day on our day of departure. I'll definitely go back every time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerStL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed, by default, at Victoria Palace from Oct. 13-17. All other hotel choices were filled and how fortunate for us that they were. Victoria Palace could not have been better. The hotel itself is beautiful, very tastefully decorated, clean and inviting and well-situated for tourists who enjoy walking to sites. Our room, a junior suite on the 4th floor, was lovely, very spacious, immaculate, quiet and offered amenities we needed. The breakfast buffet, included in pricing, offered a great variety of hot and cold options with a breakfast room staff attentive and quick to respond to requests. All of the staff were friendly, spoke English and very helpful in directing us to places we wanted to visit, with arranging tours, hailing taxis and they happily do currency exchanges at the front desk. We were always cheerfully greeted upon leaving or returning after a day of sightseeing which made us feel like we were "home." I definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 404 is quiet, has windows that open onto the street side, is nicely decorated, spacious--next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FallAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#154 of 1,802 in Paris
869 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#192 of 1,802 in Paris
1,101 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#214 of 1,802 in Paris
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#195 of 1,802 in Paris
1,130 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#403 of 1,802 in Paris
257 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Property: Victoria Palace
Address: 6 Rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#230 Family Hotel in Paris
#259 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Left Bank, near the pseudo-Bohemian and resolutely charming, trendy rue du Cherche-Midi, the Victoria Palace Hotel stands out amongst Parisian hotels by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated , the decor remains deliberately traditional and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing