We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations”
Review of Victoria Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Victoria Palace
Ranked #385 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The Victoria Palace is a beautifully restored and decorated hotel on a quiet side street but well located bordering Montparnasse and the Latin Quarter. There are metros for two lines nearby and ample shopping on a busy nearby street. Restaurants are plentiful in the neighborhood. We were able to easily walk to the Luxembourg Gardens.

The staff is exceptional in hospitality and graciousness. We had a twin room on the seventh floor overlooking the interior courtyard. The walls were covered in lively bright fabric with drapes and bedskirt to match. The room was spacious and had lots of closets. The bathroom was enormous, modern and had stunning marble walls and floor tile. Public rooms on the ground floor were traditionally decorated, including scenic painting on the ceilings. The breakfast buffet has a great variety of food from which to choose and is served in a dining room that has starched white tablecloths and is beautifully decorated.

We feel very fortunate to have found the Victoria Palace.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mulamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    135
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
125
262
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I think that this is a lovely gracious hotel. We had a junior suite which was quite large..and this is what we wanted. The hotel is old world and lovely. It was off the beaten track, but easily accessible. The concierge was very helpful. Our A/C did not work the first evening. We complained that it did not work when we arrived. After traveling all day and night and their failure to fix the a/c, they offered to change our room at 11 PM. We were traveling with my parents who were in the next room and we did not wish to move to another floor. We opted not to move at 11PM at night. This was fixed by the second evening, but the manager was not very nice about it. He did warm up and was a bit friendlier by the next day. I would definitely stay here again.

I think that I would not take the breakfast if you have to pay extra. There are many places to eat and the breakfast is not great. Basic offerings and the coffee was only okay.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet. I liked being at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As in prior reviews, very nice, clean hotel in a safe neighborhood with several Metro stops in walking distance. Twice daily maid service with new towels. The front desk staff was incredible. More helpful and friendly than I can remember at any other hotel anywhere. Breakfasts were very good as well. No question we would stay here when we return to Paris. Only annoying thing is the internet since you have to sign in again every time you use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A luxurious hotel in a quiet, safe area in the 6 Arrondissement, convenient to several Metro lines and a number of attractions, including the Rodin Museum and the Invalides, as well as being a reasonable walk to the Eiffel Tower. Rooms were well appointed and spacious. Lots of choices at the included breakfast buffet in a beautiful dining room. Excellent service by the hotel staff who are always willing to help with dinner and cab reservations. The only downside was cumbersome and spotty wi-fi service. All in all, a stay at the Victoria Palace will make your visit to a magical city all the more memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onecontinenttwogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Located close to the Montparnase Station and St Germain, to where you can go walking. Beautiful rooms, excellent service, very good buffet breakfast. They even got us a wheelchair from a local pharmacie at a low cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudioVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I arrived home last evening from a great week at the Victoria Palace. Check in went very smoothly and before we knew it we were escorted to our room. The room was decorated in a classic Parisian manner. The room was very clean, the mini bar was adequately stocked and was very quiet. We utilized room service for breakfast and coffee on two mornings but never participated in the breakfast buffet. Everyone was eager to assist us in any manner.

The hotel was located a short walk to the Metro and about a 25 minute stroll to the Louvre. There were lots of cafés and shops within minutes of the hotel.

We ended our travel very early Sunday morning. With our check out going equally as smooth. We were so appreciative for the great trip and relaxing location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindyluhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 days after a couple of nights in an extravagant hotel in same city. The rooms are great; good size and comfortable. Helpful staff and breakfast easy every morning. Location much better than expected; quite a way from the conference centre but very easy ob the Metro with 2 different lines accessible easily. Walk to the Seine, Great lap pool nearby at Montparnasse, and overall a better than expected experience.

Room Tip: No fitness centre on site but good public one nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbtravellers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#154 of 1,800 in Paris
893 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#98 of 1,800 in Paris
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#177 of 1,800 in Paris
1,160 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#204 of 1,800 in Paris
1,180 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#373 of 1,800 in Paris
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace

Property: Victoria Palace
Address: 6 Rue Blaise Desgoffe, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#230 Family Hotel in Paris
#244 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Left Bank, near the pseudo-Bohemian and resolutely charming, trendy rue du Cherche-Midi, the Victoria Palace Hotel stands out amongst Parisian hotels by the size of its rooms, especially the 28 Junior Suites averaging 375 sq ft (35 m²) each. The hotel opened in 1913 and although completely renovated , the decor remains deliberately traditional and quintessentially Parisian. For those travelling by car, the hotel has its own garage. The hotel prides itself on its staff's ability to ease guests into a truly Parisian experience : local shops, local restaurants, local markets, etc. There is also a special welcome for children to help introduce them to Paris and the French language. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing