We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Ranked #896 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Very hospitable staff who were very helpful. I was provided with wifi and a map of Paris on arrival. The location is great I managed to walk to saint Germain des pres and other locations from. There's is a food market not too far away. Also a lovely pub/bar across with the hotel with very friendly staff and great wine and Cafe Lea is just up the road which serves amazing food and doubles as a bar in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you s much for this feed back, Please consider the Cardinal Hotel as your hometown in Paris! :)
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    131
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
135
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The room is very european, meaning there isnt much space- but what do you expect. Its great that they have a person at the front desk 24hrs, so you can leave whenever, we had an early train to catch- so it made this really convenient. the directions from the website wasn't' great, i definitely recommend looking at directions before hand. The location is sweet though, and its on an "ally" so it quiet but you are in a good walking distance from Notre dame and the Lourve. it took like 30 mins for me, without a map, wandering, with a large blister. haha. the free wifi was also a perk. and it was great because you didn't have to worry about loosing your room card, they kept it at the front desk when you left and gave it back to you when you returned. Overall lovely quick night in paris.

Room Tip: The twin beds are just pushed together anyway, so you are basically sleeping in the same bed with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weirdbrit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, close enough to Les Gobbelins metro station to reach all the sights we wanted to see but in a quiet neighbourhood. We were often late getting back to our room and we always felt safe in the area.
We found the staff to be friendly and knowlegable, and we were so thankful that they spoke English. Our room though small was clean and comfortable, and they allowed us to check in at 11:30 am with no extra charge which was so appreciated after the long flight. The food at breakfast was always fresh and replenished and the selection was much better then I was expecting.
There were lots of shops, cafes and restaurants near by, we loved the market area.
I would choose this hotel again, however, if staying in Paris for more then a few days I would recomend looking into an apartment. We found so many lovely food shops and would have loved to have taken food back to prepare and have the occassional evening in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suellen_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I found the hotel easy to find and in a great location. It's about a 5 minute walk to the Les Gobbelins metro station. The neighbourhood felt safe, with cafés, restaurants and shops nearby (including a supermarket and tobacconist which sells stamps). The free wifi was great. The receptionists and cleaners were lovely and offered great service. The only down side I found as an English speaking tourist missing home is that the television rarely had any shows which could be heard in English. Hardly important but something small which would've helped. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations publiques at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Jessica,
Many thanks for the great feed back.
We are indeed genuine english speakers :),
Looking forward to welcoming you again and again.
Kindest regards,
Frederique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel was clean but the rooms were small. Not too far from the metro which made travelling to sights accessible. Several little cafes and bars close by. Ideal for short breaks but not for anything longer than about 3 or 4 days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for your add.
We perfectly understand you feltt your room too narrow.
Next time please do not hesitate to tell reception and we will upgrade you in a larger room :)
All our best
Frederique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A warm welcome from English speaking staff.
Good appetising and plentiful breakfast
Only downside was the mattress which was "hollow in the centre"
All hotels should change mattresses on an annual basis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments towards our services and staff :)
Regarding the mattress, since your kind remark, we worked it on !
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Me & my girlfriend stayed in this hotel over the new year period, from the start we had a good experience. We were greeted by friendly & helpful reception staff, the rooms are basic but adequate for a city break, we spent most of our time exploring the city so wasn't interested in a luxury room, a good perk to our room was a free safety deposit box, it also had separate toilet & shower room. Another great aspect of this hotel is it's location, it is just on the edge of the Latin quarter however just down the road is a great little street called rue mouffetard , this is one of Paris's oldest yet intriguing neighbourhoods, it has many shops,bars cafés and a regular market...overall an ideal hotel in a great location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Garance
#1,141 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel Sunny
#1,411 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Serotel Lutece
#747 of 1,796 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#669 of 1,796 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#100 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris

Property: Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Address: 20 rue Pascal | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#582 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cardinal Rive Gauche is located on the left bank, in a quiet street of the historical heart of Paris.Take advantage of its location to discover or rediscover Paris and its many treasures.Stroll in the picturesque streets of the area and fall in love with our neighbourhood: the “Mouffetard” Street and its daily typical market and its many restaurants, the “Arènes de Lutèce”, the “Panthéon”, “Botanical gardens”, “Notre Dame cathedral”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing