We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely small, clean and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Ranked #913 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely small, clean and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for a week and had a very pleasant experience. The room was small, but very clean and with great toilet facilities including air condition. The room also included an automatic safety box and the hotel's free wi-fi even worked in our room which is not standard for any hotel and something we very much appreciated. Only lack would be the missing refrigerator. The staff was always friendly and accommodated all requests we had. Location wise it is close to the metro line 7 and the nearby surroundings offers several great restaurants and cafés. You can safely choose this hotel for your next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    131
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
135
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was not close to the centre of Paris but easily accessible to main attractions if you want to be in the less touristy part of the city. Staff were very friendly, rooms clean and although small, perfectly adequate. Breakfast was very good and there are some wonderful restaurants in a beautiful little street just a short walk away.. Just ask for directions. We recommend this hotel as being good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Found this hotel after some research, lived upto the reviews - great location, handy for metro and local restaurants and bars. Room good, staff good, couldnt fault it really! Would go back if I get the chance to go to Paris again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetlou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
komen
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped here for 4 nights after reading the reviews on here, web were not disappointed. We had to contact the hotel over our booking after we had booked and they were courteous and quick to reply. We thought the location might be not very good, but there is a metro station about 10 mins walk away and it felt safe walking to and from the metro station, the hotel is located on a side street. There are numerous restaurants nearby some on the way to and around the metro station and on the roads leading off from the metro station. If you walk out the hotel and turn left opposite direction to metro station and cross the main road you come to a street with restaurants and bars on it we only found this on our last day. You can get to the hotel from Gare du noord train station by 3 trains/metro stations or walk out the train station and walk for about 5 to 10 minutes to metro station poissonnieres on the pink line and this will take you to les gobelins this is the stop for the hotel. You can buy the tickets in the train station.
The room we had was basic small and well used but it was clean and for us it was just some where to sleep. We found the bed comfortable and the linen clean. We had the breakfast included in the price of the stay and though we found not a lot of choice it was all very good and we never left hungry. Croissants, cheese ham and cereals. Depending on the waitress if you sit at a table for 4 and there is only 2 of you you might get told off for putting plates on the other 2 person place. !!
Staff are really friendly and helpful.
If we were to go back to Paris we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking time in depicting all the services and location the Cardinal Hotel is offering.
Be sure that we will always welcome you back :)
See you soon!
Frederique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed four nights at Hotel Cardinal in April 2014 and were positively surprised by our large room and how well situated the hotel was. Clean, fresh and friendly! A very good standard of rooms and service and we enjoyed the french express breakfast of coffe, orange juice and croissant at a very affordable price. The hotel is very well located with two metro stations very near but Notre Dame is only a 15 minute walk away. We would absolutely stay there again and can warmly recommend it to others visiting Paris!

Marie-Louise & Johan from Stockholm, Sweden

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Indeed April and Spring provide nice weather and fell to indulge Paris,
hope to share with you nice moments again in Cardinal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Very hospitable staff who were very helpful. I was provided with wifi and a map of Paris on arrival. The location is great I managed to walk to saint Germain des pres and other locations from. There's is a food market not too far away. Also a lovely pub/bar across with the hotel with very friendly staff and great wine and Cafe Lea is just up the road which serves amazing food and doubles as a bar in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FREDERIQUE D, Responsable relations clients at Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you s much for this feed back, Please consider the Cardinal Hotel as your hometown in Paris! :)
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The room is very european, meaning there isnt much space- but what do you expect. Its great that they have a person at the front desk 24hrs, so you can leave whenever, we had an early train to catch- so it made this really convenient. the directions from the website wasn't' great, i definitely recommend looking at directions before hand. The location is sweet though, and its on an "ally" so it quiet but you are in a good walking distance from Notre dame and the Lourve. it took like 30 mins for me, without a map, wandering, with a large blister. haha. the free wifi was also a perk. and it was great because you didn't have to worry about loosing your room card, they kept it at the front desk when you left and gave it back to you when you returned. Overall lovely quick night in paris.

Room Tip: The twin beds are just pushed together anyway, so you are basically sleeping in the same bed with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weirdbrit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Garance
#1,157 of 1,798 in Paris
119 reviews
Hotel Sunny
#1,406 of 1,798 in Paris
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Serotel Lutece
#762 of 1,798 in Paris
208 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#664 of 1,798 in Paris
504 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#98 of 1,798 in Paris
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris

Property: Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris
Address: 20 rue Pascal | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#583 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cardinal Rive Gauche is located on the left bank, in a quiet street of the historical heart of Paris.Take advantage of its location to discover or rediscover Paris and its many treasures.Stroll in the picturesque streets of the area and fall in love with our neighbourhood: the “Mouffetard” Street and its daily typical market and its many restaurants, the “Arènes de Lutèce”, the “Panthéon”, “Botanical gardens”, “Notre Dame cathedral”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardinal Rive Gauche Paris Hotel Paris
Comfort Inn Paris
Paris Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing