We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in Paris”
Review of Hotel Aida Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aida Opera
Ranked #492 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in Paris”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Five nights in a triple room, my kids (12 and 9 yo) and myself. First time in Paris and we found the location of this hotel great. Nice good walk along Rue Lafayette to the metro in Opera (RER A here takes you straight to the door of Disneyland) or there is the Gare du Nord to the other direction if you were to take RER B (straight to Charles de Gaulle airport). All other means of transport accessible around this hotel , also surrounded with lots of cafés, restaurants, a Starbucks, a McDonald's , lots of shopping places, and a stone's throw from place de l'opera and academie nationale de musique.
Facilities in the hotel were fully functional. There is a safe in the room, a fridge, a TV, the bed seemed like a king size bed or are we just too small, I don't know,., it was nice and comfy and the pillows were fluffy and European (square shaped). The doona (fluffy comforter/blanket) was also nice and soft and warm. The room was quite spacious, given that this is Paris we are talking about, and I like the street view from my window.
There is a bath tub, which is also a bonus , most three stars don't have tubs. But the shower head was portable and it always wriggled and eventually leaked to the floor if you're not careful.
I found the breakfast too expensive for what it offered. 15 euros but there was no hot food selection ie omelettes/sausages/bacon... So most times we walked to Starbucks and spent our breakfast money there, it was better value for us.
The receptionist was very efficient but they did not seem to have a separate concierge? I am used to hotels having a dedicated concierge, this is an invaluable service.
Overall, I recommend this place to my friends and will be my first choice of hotel whenever I am in Paris.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT DE DIRECTION at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guests,

We thank you very much for all your comments.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in the triple room. This is our goal everyday. Please be aware that we have also quad rooms for families.

Yes, indeed, the area is lively with a lot of restaurants, theater, clubs...and all transportations are close to the hotel, easy !

Do no hesitate to contact us directly for a next stay. We remain at your disposal.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

With our best regards.

E.Pigneux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    447
    130
    26
    31
See reviews for
325
257
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel's location was fabulous and it was clean and the staff were amazingly helpful and always had a smile on their faces
The rooms however were a bit crowded and the variety of foods available at breakfast was limited.

Room Tip: Make sure u choose a room in the first couple of floors to avoid hav8ng to wait for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT MANAGER at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear madam, sir,

Thank you for your comentary. We are very happy that your stay with us has been fine and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Snagged this hotel on Hotwire, not sure what I would get by putting in a price range. Depending on how "needy" you are, this Hotel could work for you. This was quite a walk from the train station with luggage, and tricky to find on foot. However, once we found the location, we realized it was an easy walk to get onto the metro line, and many shops and restaurants. There was much construction going on to the front of the hotel, and inside it felt haphazard yet not quite like a Mom and Pop place. The front desk staff in general seemed confused. The neighborhood felt safe, yet there was a seedy section you had to walk through at night if you came from the train station and had to walk to the hotel. Mostly street walkers, beggars, and some odd sorts. We kept to ourselves and walked quickly. The hotel did not reassure us of the safety, as you had to be buzzed into the hotel each time we returned from an excursion. Our room for four was small and looked as if it were carved out of an old house, but still had room for us and all of our belongings. The bathroom was another story, very tiny and no room for personal belongings. We had slow assistance when our room safe suddenly would not respond to our password, help did not arrive until the next day to pop our safe. So much for hiding our cash! We were able to walk to many great cafe's and restaurants, and the Opera District, yet if we were not a younger family, getting to major attractions may have been an issue. The hotel was clean, and older with spiral staircases which were handy when the elevator was not working. We strived to limit our phone usage to when we could get free WIFI, and this hotel did provide a password to use the free WIFI, but it timed out very quickly. Very frustrating considering our other family members were in another hotel. The staff did indeed call a taxi for us for our morning flight to Vienna, and gave us a wake up call. I guess that is something. On my next visit I will not be choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for something LARGE, as a double to this hotel can be a room no bigger than the size of the doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhumesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments, however, we are very surprised.

The area is very safe, we never get any problem.

Our quad rooms have a good size, about 23/24 square meters. We would like to inform you that we have got the 3 star rating from Europeen norms and we even could be a four star hotel as we have the right surface measurement.
Please be aware that the hotel is from 19th century, it is very charming and also very parisian.
If you wish a modern hotel, then it is not the good choice.
We are sorry to know that the style and the room size are not suitable for you.

We apologize for the Wifi problem ; sometimes when a lot of guests use it at the same time, the connexion seems difficult. However, we are waiting for a technicien to find a solution very quickly.

We remain at your disposal

Best regards.

E.Pigneux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed (7) nights at Hotel Aida (2 beds). Having lived in France between 2002 - 2005, we were not surprised by the offerings of this hotel. Location was excellent and within walking distance to M8 metro line (Bon Novelle stop). The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood. The surroundings were ideal (safe and near other hotels / restaurants) with easy access to the local cafes, Opera district, Galleries Lafayette, etc. If you have already visited the major monuments in Paris: Arch De-Triumpe, Champs Elysee, Notre Dame, Palais Royal, etc, this hotel is ideal as it gets you away from the major crowds but can still access the areas of Paris with an easy transfer on the metro line. If you have any mobility issues getting around, this may not be the hotel for you as walking to the metro lines is ~0.5 mile in one direction. If you are familiar with the metro in major cities such as New York, Washington DC, London, Berlin or Tokyo, you won't have any problems getting around in Paris.

The hotel was very clean as we received good service from both the front desk and room service. It is a classic French Hotel with a spiral stair case and small elevator. If you are from the US, you will find the rooms to be slightly smaller and dated but again, this is standard for a French hotel which offers the essence of a French experience. The room had a small refrigerator and many electrical outlets (230V). Our shower leaked a little such that you needed to put a towel to absorb the water which is due to the old design of the shower. The elevator did not work for 3 days so we used the stairs as we resided on the 4em etage. The other nuisance was that one must re-enter the wireless username and password on a continuous basis if the wireless device remained idle for more than 10 minutes.

The people working the front desk spoke English but it always helps to ATTEMPT to converse in French. Security is taken seriously as one must be buzzed in by the receptionist. We checked out at 11am and were able to store our luggage at the hotel as we walked to the Opera to catch the Rossy bus to CDG airport.

My overall rating is actually 3.5 stars. The only reason I did not give it 4 stars was due to the fact that the elevator was not working for 3 days and the difficulty in re-signing into the hotel wireless internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT DE DIRECTION at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for all your comments.

Yes indeed, we had a technical problem with the elevator last week. We know it is disturbing, however, It was better to stop it for the security.

Now, the elevator is working good. We always do the best we can to satisfy our guests. Regarding the Wifi, a technician is coming soon to check why it does not work properly.

We are sorry for these inconveniences caused and we apologize.

We are pleased to know that, despite both inconveniences, you like our hotel, our staff and the area. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for a next stay.

We remain at your disposal.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Aida Opera.

With our best regards.

E.Pigneux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

it's a grand big building in the hausmann style. it stands well on its street corner and it's spotless clean here. the young Lithuanian woman on the reception was kindly and helpful. the location is a good one, fifteen minutes walk from gare du nord and within easy reach of shops, restaurants and bars (there's a particularly good bar called tabac des folies just down the street), BUT the rooms are ridiculously small. or at least the one we stayed in was. the woman at reception told us that for Paris it was a standard room. i don't know how they measure "standard" in Paris, but I've stayed in a few different hotels here for this price range and this was the smallest room yet. i had to walk sideways to get into bed and when i opened the window i couldn't get by to go to the toilet without closing it again. the bathroom is also tiny with limited shelf space for your things, so much so, i knocked my wash bag off the shelf every day. we didn't try the breakfast, we stayed for three days and worked out that it would cost us 90 euros to have done so. there are plenty of reasonable bakeries nearby where you can eat at a fraction of that cost. we are well aware that this is Paris and that you have to expect that it can be cramped and dear and you don't get much room for your money, but you should be able to at least relax and turn around in your room without bumping into one another. i would say that the room we stayed in was a single room with a double bed in it.

Room Tip: if you like to relax and stretch out a bit, don't book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT DE DIRECTION at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to know that your room was not suitable for you. We would like to inform you that all our rooms are double rooms. You should have told us when you were at the hotel. Please be aware that we have superior rooms available at the hotel, also triple and quad rooms

In Paris, a lot for building are from 19th Century, very charming, very parisian, however standard rooms are not very large.

If you prefer to have more space, the best is to reserve a superior room for a next stay.

We remain at your disposal for any further information.

Do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards.

E.Pigneux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I contacted the hotel a few days prior to our visit and in the emails they seemed very helpful! I told then it was our first year anniversary! The company who we booked it through also emphasised it was our anniversary! I wasn't expecting anything for free just maybe a good service!

Once we arrived it was a different story! The receptionist didn't realise we were checking in as she was calling us by a different name! On filling in the relevant forms my wife noticed it said single room! We explained it was a double and showed our confirmation it said double! After 10 mins of confusion and a phone call we were told this was the correct room! She also told us that she was new and if we had any other issues we would have to wait for her colleague in the morning!

We asked if we could get a drink and to our disappointment was told there was no bar in the hotel! We went up to our room! I opened the door and at first I thought it was a cupboard! The room was tiny! For a non smoking hotel I could smell a old smoke smell as if it was in bedded in the room! The toilet shower was tiny too! The bed was very hard!

After travelling all day I went to get a shower to go find somewhere we can have a drink! After my shower I walked out of the toilet shower to find that the water had leaked through and the carpet was soaked in the room!

The nights sleep didn't get any better as the fridge was next to bed near pillows it was acting as a bed side table! And every 30 mins decided to vibrate and make that noises that fridges make!!

€230 a night this hotel charged! now maybe I'm expecting a bit more for my money but a small room a leaky shower no bar and that's not including breakfast that's an extra €15 somehow I feel that I didn't get a good deal! You be the judge

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT DE DIRECTION at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We are sorry for what happenend with our new receptionnist. She was a little in panic when it was busy this evening and made confusions. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We would like to inform you that all our rooms are double.
Regarding room size, standard rooms in Paris are very charming, very parisian but not very large. However, we inform you that we have superior rooms (Twin, Triple and quad) at the hotel that can be reserved. Then, you can have more space.
You should have asked for the Management, we could have done something for you when you were on the spot. We are sorry to be aware of that now.

There isn't any bar at the hotel. Have you read somewhere that we have a bar ? In the area, you can find a lot of very nice bars and good restaurants, this is very lively.

Do not hesitate to contact us. We remain at your disposal.

With our best regards.

E.Pigneux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The reception staff was welcomed but the room wasn't good quality. Old fashoned (from 1970?), no capboard, Tiny bathroom with a toilette installed very high... not comfortable...
Good location.
too expensive for the quality of service they offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank edyta_rut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmanuelPIGNEUX, ASSISTANT DE DIRECTION at Hotel Aida Opera, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your comments.

We would like to inform you that parisian standard rooms are not very large, this is typical. However, we have superior rooms at the hotel if our standard room is not suitable for you.

Regarding the decoration, we are more traditional than contemporary and most of our guests like that as they can find contemporary decoration in their country.

Our sytle is more frenchy than international and we regret that you do not appreciate it.

We remain at your disposal for any further information.

With our best regards.

E.Pigneux.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Peyris Opera
Hotel Peyris Opera
#453 of 1,801 in Paris
653 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#459 of 1,801 in Paris
843 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Pax Opera
Hotel Pax Opera
#364 of 1,801 in Paris
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Corona Opera
Hotel Corona Opera
#395 of 1,801 in Paris
468 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#244 of 1,801 in Paris
505 reviews
Opera / Bourse
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
The Lodge du Centre Hotel
#434 of 1,801 in Paris
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aida Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aida Opera

Property: Hotel Aida Opera
Address: 11 rue Richer | 17 Rue Du Conservatoire, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#471 Family Hotel in Paris
#560 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aida Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Haussmann way architecture building from the late XIX century, in a Parisian rococo style, invites you to discover its 58 rooms and junior suites. The decoration in a romantic and chic style will leave you a great impression, with everything needed to a modern comfort - including our new fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aida Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing