We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel correct”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Ranked #1,348 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hotel correct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel as it was just next to the BERCY PALAIS - the concert hall (15 minutes by walking). The hotel is very well designed, with very friendly staff - the lady at the reception welcomed us very warmly and the receptionist of the night very cool. (day and night of 25th February). The room was smaller than I expected but had everything necessary, with very beautiful decoration and especially I was impressed by the bathroom. For the promotional price I booked the hotel and for what I experienced, it was very very correct price. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I think a court side room is very calm during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to share your experience in Villa Lutèce Port Royal.

It is always pleasurable to read that you had a good time and enjoyed the attention of our staff as it is our main concern to make our guests feel at home in Paris.

As for the room you booked a classic one but we also have larger rooms called Junior Suite or Dupex rooms that you can book when calling the hotel front desk or the booking department direct.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Villa Lutèce Port Royal ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    146
    101
    42
    46
See reviews for
42
180
18
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at the end of August for 5 nights as a couple. Didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised at our room, yes a little small but we were in Paris! It was hot, but no excess noise through having our windows open at night. Loved the style and setting. Perfect location for the price we paid, near enough to a metro and the rent-a-bike system. Negative was that our 'double bed' was two single pushed together but we got over that. Plenty of space, lovely power shower, great safe available, convenience store located a stones throw away great wifi and pleasant staff. Yes our shower door was a little broken and the doors didn't work downstairs for the duration of our stay but this did not bother us as all we needed was a place to sleep at night and we got more than that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscreetBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel with the other travellers.

We are glad that you did enjoy your stay in Paris and in Villa Lutèce. You were very lucky to benefit from our promotional rate and should you plan on visiting again, do not hesitate to check our website for special offers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Manager of the Villa Lutece Port Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with four other female friends. Clean and quiet. Staff helpful when checking in. Rooms not massive but fine for a city centre hotel. We pushed our twin beds apart a few inches!
Yes Room was warm but windows opened. Didn't try out air con. Most of Paris seemed Overly heated to be honest- galleries Lafayette were stifling.
Fab power shower and lots of hot water. Comfy bed in my opinion tho pillows too squashy. Not enough lighting in bedroom - black cupboards and black carpet make it hard to find your stuff!! Decor in corridors needs updating but rooms pleasantly decked out. Liked the bathroom tiles very much.

Bit irritated at checkout to be told to pay 25euro for a city tax. Would have been nice to get some warning - "it's on our website" is not acceptable reason!

Great location for exploring as close to several metro lines. 20 mins to gare de nord. Look down avenue les gobelins for more choice of eateries.

Unf had to visit gendarmes as pickpocketed on metro- watch your handbags!

All in all quite good, would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lauralime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions about our hotel.

We will of course use your comments to improve our quality. We are glad that you enjoyed the service as well as the location and comfort of Villa Lutece.

All the team and myself hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in Paris.

Sincerely,

Laurence Cornetet - Villa Lutece Port Royal ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Nothing worse for business traveller to spend first half hour struggling to get connected, having to switch to a new room eventually, and having to deal with grumpy (although by french standards perfectly functional) staff...pictures look charming, but the rooms are kitsch, mattresses hard.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were astonished to see a 4-star sign outside this hotel. It is not a bad place, and our stay was, at the end of the day, not too bad, but it does not come close to that ranking.

First warning-sign was the broken revolving front-door, not fixed in our 3-day stay. The rest of the lobby was pretty smart, and a lot of care clearly once went into the styling of the whole hotel, but unfortunately this was not kept up in the rooms.

The worst sign of this was the furniture, for example, the TV/mini-bar unit, so worn it looked like a pet-dog might have chewed on it! The once-elegant wall-paper had a lot of mysterious ghostly-looking staining. The bed was actually a double bed-base with two single mattresses on it. In the bathroom, the again fashionable decoration was spoilt by a badly cracked basin.

All of this could easily be put right and the room would be pretty good, although there were some other problems. The room only just contained the double-bed with minimal room to walk around it, and no room for a proper armchair. Surely there must be a minimum for 4-stars, even in Paris? It was also strangely warm and stuffy, requiring the window to be left open. We could never get the free wi-fi to work in the room, or even locate the signal.

To be fair, the hotel staff were very helpful, and open to us changing rooms, but unfortunately the worn-out furniture was apparently common to all.

The hotel has quite a lot going for it. It is clean, and the location is not bad, even if very slightly distant from the centre. It is in a quite pleasant, quiet area, a bit non-descript but not far from the interesting Rue Mouffetard and Jardin de Plantes, with a direct, nearby Metro line straight to the Gare du Nord.

It is probably not too bad for the price, the rooms just need updating. It was mostly that 4-star sign I could not get over!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably better. Ask to see a room first. My ratings would be a bit better if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Returned today from a 3 day stay in Paris. This is not a 4* hotel, how it got it I do not know. The rooms on the site are NOT what you get. My daughter and I had a tiny room with twin beds which were so close they were a double bed and once the suitcase was in that was it the room was full !!!!!!
It was dirty, very very tired and worn to the point that the chair was thread bear and torn. We complained as the room was so hot you could not breath and they did nothing about it so we slept with the windows open just so that we could breath.
The front doors you could not use as they were broken when we arrived and were still not working 3 days later and to add to it the lift broke down as well so we had to carry our own luggage down as they did not have a porter !!!!!!

So glad we did not have breakfast there. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
Please do not go there, as I said before the pictures do not reflect the room that you will be allocated.
Also it is a metro ride of about 20 mins to get into the heart of Paris and not a particularly nice area. Even at 7 in the evening there is nobody on the metro except the tramps and beggars. Not a nice experience.

Room Tip: I would not suggest you stay at this hotel it is too far away from thecenter of Paris
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolinebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We are just back from a great visit to Paris, we stayed at the Villa Lutece Port Royal for 3 nights.
The Hotel's location is about 150m from the Metro Line Campo-Formio on line 6, this made it ideal for getting to all the sites in Paris, it also meant we could get a train from CDG airport almost to the hotel's door, changing once at Gare de Nord.
The rooms are small (it's a city centre hotel, what do you expect) but they're well furnished with good sound proofing, we didn't hear any of the city noises whilst in the room (room 406)
The bathroom was clean with a cracking shower, the room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and all the staff were friendly and very pleasant.
Some nice Café's nearby with an Indian restaurant just by the Metro stop.

all in all i would heartily recommend this hotel to any of my friends and i would use it again for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#775 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#614 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Luxembourg
Villa Luxembourg
#1,174 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Villa Royale
Villa Royale
#493 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Kube Hotel
#1,033 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN Allegro Nation
BEST WESTERN Allegro Nation
#820 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lutece Port Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lutece Port Royal

Property: Villa Lutece Port Royal
Address: 52 rue Jenner, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#475 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lutece Port Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Lutece Port Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lutece Port Royal Hotel Paris
Hotel Lutece Port Royal
Lutece Port Royal Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing