We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Lutece Port Royal
Ranked #866 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We just returned from a week-long trip to France which included 4 days in Paris. We decide to give the Hotel de Lutece a try based on some of the positive reviews from previous travelers. I typically don’t write reviews, but in this case I thought I would share some of observations. First, I’ll start by saying; anyone that travels for business will find a standard room at the Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn more accommodating. Our 1st room was uncomfortably small. The place isn’t without some charm, but overall, it’s needs some work; worn carpets, odd smells, broken a/c and other equipment that didn’t work; horrible bath towels. Also, we didn’t find the location particularly convenient. However, the Metro (subway) is only a block away. You’re probably a good 15 minute train ride away from any of the big tourist destinations and museums.

Room Tip: It looks like most of the rooms pictured in the photos are the junior suites. The standard rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ksaurus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking some of your time to write a review regarding your stay with us.

We pay a lot of attention to your impressions and are sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

We had last week a major break down with our air conditioning but it is fixed now and our guests can enjoy some refreshing nights if they feel like it.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Manager of the Villa Lutèce Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our family of 3 was here during the World Cup and missed a semi-final game since the hotel did not have satellite TV! We were fortunate to get 2 connecting rooms since a triple was not available when we arrived, but the fixtures on tub and handle on connecting door needed repair. Otherwise, room was ok. Must leave card key in door slot inside room to keep power on and we were storing medicine in refrigerator. Refrigerator was barely cool and we aren't sure medicine was kept cool enough when we were out of the room, so if this matters to you, ask about it. This location too far away from tourist attractions for us and staff did not speak English well enough to make recommendations we could understand. Restaurant service was very slow, very limited menu and alternatives were not readily available. Hotel was quaint, but overpriced in our opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Watermom32819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

We thank you for sharing your impressions with other travellers. You stayed with us in July and did benefit of a very promotional rate on the triple room and were upgraded to connecting rooms, this way you had more space and 2 bathrooms. You have to be aware that hotels with family rooms are not so easy to find in Paris.

As for your other remarks I am very surprised as we do not have card keys in our hotel and no such thing as a central lighting powered by a card key. We do not have a restaurant either, we serve breakfast, which is a buffet where our guests can help themselves with anything they feel like eating.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Manager of the Villa Lutèce Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here here with a friend in June and was very pleased. There have been some quite negative reviews but we had a lovely time.
The hotel is in a perfect location and staff were friendly and happy to help. The room was quite small but clean with a good shower, comfortable bed and air conditioning. The free wifi was very useful for planning our day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank cattyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Catty,

Thanks for sharing your opinions regarding your stay with us. We are dedicated to our guest satisfaction and it is always a pleasure to read that you appreciated our service.

The room you stayed in was a classic room but for people in need of more space, we also have duplex rooms and junior suites that can be booked directly with us, by phone our through the hotel website.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Manager of the Villa Lutèce Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The staff were very friendly, we received many recommendations from them. The location was brilliant, very close to a metro stop and also many restaurants and shops close by. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. I would definitely recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Although the metro stops are close, you can also walk to many attractions. You get more of a feel fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kritesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to receive this great review about your recent stay at Villa Lutece Port Royal.

Many thanks for your compliments to our helpful staff, we always try to make your stay unforgettable!

We look forward to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Villa Lutece Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

- Clean and comfortable room.
- The staff were nice and helpful.
- The hotel located in the centre of Paris and Near to the metro station.
- value for money.
- the security is quite good.
............

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A_O321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Ahmed,

Many thanks for leaving a review about your recent stay at Villa Lutece Port Royal.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your room, the helpful staff and the good value of our property. Your comments helps us to improve the quality of our service and your satisfaction is exactly what we are looking for !

We look forward to welcome you again at Villa Lutece Port Royal!

Sincerely,

Villa Lutece Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the hotel as it was just next to the BERCY PALAIS - the concert hall (15 minutes by walking). The hotel is very well designed, with very friendly staff - the lady at the reception welcomed us very warmly and the receptionist of the night very cool. (day and night of 25th February). The room was smaller than I expected but had everything necessary, with very beautiful decoration and especially I was impressed by the bathroom. For the promotional price I booked the hotel and for what I experienced, it was very very correct price. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I think a court side room is very calm during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to share your experience in Villa Lutèce Port Royal.

It is always pleasurable to read that you had a good time and enjoyed the attention of our staff as it is our main concern to make our guests feel at home in Paris.

As for the room you booked a classic one but we also have larger rooms called Junior Suite or Dupex rooms that you can book when calling the hotel front desk or the booking department direct.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Villa Lutèce Port Royal ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed at the end of August for 5 nights as a couple. Didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised at our room, yes a little small but we were in Paris! It was hot, but no excess noise through having our windows open at night. Loved the style and setting. Perfect location for the price we paid, near enough to a metro and the rent-a-bike system. Negative was that our 'double bed' was two single pushed together but we got over that. Plenty of space, lovely power shower, great safe available, convenience store located a stones throw away great wifi and pleasant staff. Yes our shower door was a little broken and the doors didn't work downstairs for the duration of our stay but this did not bother us as all we needed was a place to sleep at night and we got more than that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiscreetBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelationshdpgrp, Responsable relations clients at Villa Lutece Port Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel with the other travellers.

We are glad that you did enjoy your stay in Paris and in Villa Lutèce. You were very lucky to benefit from our promotional rate and should you plan on visiting again, do not hesitate to check our website for special offers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Laurence Cornetet - Manager of the Villa Lutece Port Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Pavillon Nation
Pavillon Nation
#406 of 1,803 in Paris
618 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Luxembourg
Villa Luxembourg
#1,060 of 1,803 in Paris
567 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Eugenie
Villa Eugenie
#1,165 of 1,803 in Paris
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
Villa Montparnasse
#491 of 1,803 in Paris
708 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Villa Alessandra
Villa Alessandra
#1,164 of 1,803 in Paris
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lutece Port Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lutece Port Royal

Address: 52 rue Jenner, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Gobelins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#420 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £79 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Lutece Port Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Paris 13th arrondissement, near the Jardin des Plantes and the National Library, is the very stylish Villa Lutèce Port Royal hotel. The Villa Lutèce features air-conditioned rooms that are stylishly decorated and equipped with a minibar. The private bathrooms feature a modern décor and a shower or a bath. Before venturing out to visit Paris, you can enjoy the breakfast buffet in the dining area. Room service is available all day and the hotel features a bar where guests can socialize over a drink. Staying at the Villa Lutèce Port Royal places you in the centre of the world's most visited city. In the surrounding area you will find a variety of restaurants that offer traditional and international cuisine, lively night life and many of the city's most famous sights. 13th arr. is a great choice for travellers interested in ancient landmarks, cathedrals and art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Lutece Port Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lutece Port Royal Hotel Paris
Hotel Lutece Port Royal
Lutece Port Royal Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing