We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal overnighter.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Ranked #755 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Gold Coast Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal overnighter.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A truly boutique hotel, my 'cosy' room was just that but OK for an overnighter. My travel agent had me believe that my train for Limoges left from the station over the road from the hotel, it didn't so I had a 20 minute bus ride to Montparnasse. The tariff did not include breakfast & I found it a tad expensive for what it offered. It was however handy to several eateries, the Jardin des Plantes & a mini-mart & despite being on a very busy road, the traffic noise was non existent when the window was closed.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the main road, the bed was comfy, the shower & vanity were cramped as was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    250
    132
    56
    25
See reviews for
59
253
82
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

In my view the best aspects about the hotel Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes are:
The location
- Very close to the Jardin des Plantes where there are some very interesting museums and a nice zoo.
-Very close to the Gare d' Austerlitz metro station therefore quite easy to access the attractions in the centre of Paris. OK you will have to figure out how to navigate the Paris Metro but it is not too difficult.
The staff of the hotel are quite helpful which makes a stay in a hotel a lot easier.
There are quite a lot of reasonable restaurants within less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel and that is quite important because the hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast.
Another reasonable aspect of the hotel was the free WIFI, OK after 4 hours of usage you need to relogin to the WIFI network but it is very easy to relogin
The not so good aspects of the hotel are
- The size of the room that my wife and I stayed in.
The room was very, very small and another not so nice aspect was the location of the bathroom which was separated from the tiny room by a sliding door (that did not close properly, a small gap was left between the sliding door and the wall.
- If stayin in a room facing the main road then it is quite noisy lots of Police cars and Ambulances activating sirens ad noise from the Gare d' Austerlitz metro station.
When or if I return to Paris for a visit I would re-consider staying at the hotel again unless of course I could find a better/cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raffi_Nachshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre B, Directeur général at Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Raffi_Nachshol,

Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor.
We have taken account of your comment about the room. It will help us to provide the best service to our guest.
If you are not satisfied by the hotel Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes, we have 4 more hotels in the heart of Paris with bigger rooms and all renovated too.

Do no hesitate to conctact us for more information.

Yours sincerely,

M. Pierre BURIGNAT
Executive Director
Libertel Austerlitz - Jardin des plantes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Yes - my room is so small I have to put my suitcase on the desk. But so what? It's a sweet little room with a private bath and a beautiful window overlooking a beautiful courtyard in an excellent location. Loved my stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chickeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bali,indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are a tourist who will be out most of the day and need a no frills hotel room just to sleep than this is the place for you. I stayed in a privileged room, the matrimonial bed was a good size, soft with nice sheets and comfy pillows. Even if the hotel is along the main street, the windows are thick enough not to hear any noise. The room was always cleaned very well. The shower was a good size and the room came with bathing robes for each. The receptionist were very friendly, efficient and willing to provide information. Excellent position for transportation, the train station and metro just in front of the hotel and walking distance of 10 minutes along the river seine to Notredame. I travelled alone with my teenage daughter and felt safe coming home at night by foot.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraBali_indonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you plan to take the train in Austerlitz, this hotel is very well located, 10 minutes by walking.
It is also vey close to the Jardin des plantes and Musée d'histoire naturel.
Good for business, I would stay there for a long period as room is quite small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and was not unsatisfied at all with the hotel.
I would not come back though, as the rooms are so small, that you didn't had room for anything than sleeping.
I could use a closet for my clothes as well, as I don't like that my suitcase takes space for a room that is to small to begin with.
The staff speaks very little english

Helpful?
Thank Neru83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We selected this hotel for the close proximity to the train station which is directly across the street. The hotel was initially a bit difficult to locate as it is in a block of many stores and sandwiched between the storefronts. The homeless people out on the street and all around the hotel was somewhat off- putting and left us with some unease, but they were quiet and did not harrass or bother us in any way. The front desk staff were very accomodating and happy to assist us in English. We were granted our request at check-in for a family size room, which was large and comfortable. It had a Queen size bed and a roll away twin size cot with a very thick mattress for our 20 year old daughter. The bathroom was modern and spacious. There was a little water run off that escaped under the glass shower door, but it was easily remedied with a bath towel placed on the floor. Also, entering and exiting the shower could be challenging for someone with limited physical abillity. It was a hefty step up / down to get in and out. The room was clean and our beds were made each day. Nice touches in the room included robe and slippers, bottled water and chocolates when we arrived; and a decent flat screen TV with a few English stations. Our room faced the front - a very busy main road and trains running along the elevated rail. We were on a higher floor, so noise was not an issue. It was nice to open the windows and hear the street sounds in the mornings. But at night with windows closed, the sounds were muffled and seemed faraway. The breakfast was plentiful at an additional 12 Euro. People were taking seconds. It included hot beverages, juices, cheeses, ham, croissants & breads, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs. We felt it was worth the money and wait staff was pleasant & accomodating. We used the shuttle to get to the airport and this was really worth it. Sorry, can't recall the price, but needed to pay in cash. We were tired at the end of our trip and just did not have the energy to deal with our luggage on the subway again. We got door to door service and the driver was pleasant and got us to the terminal in plenty of time. Hotel allowed easy access to the Metro, close to Left Bank, River Seine, lovely gardens, and a zoo/museum which we did not visit. Supermarket nearby, eateries and a McDonald's. It was a bit far from the main tourist sights of Paris, but this allowed us more time to experience the subway system and the day to day life in Paris culture.

Room Tip: Ask for family size room is larger. Rear of hotel will be quieter or a room on higher floor will de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Devillas
Hotel Devillas
#737 of 1,800 in Paris
547 reviews
Quartier Latin
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
Timhotel Jardin des Plantes
#1,214 of 1,800 in Paris
481 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Hotel OFF Paris Seine
Hotel OFF Paris Seine
#756 of 1,800 in Paris
307 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#207 of 1,800 in Paris
302 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#965 of 1,800 in Paris
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes

Property: Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes
Address: 12 boulevard de l Hopital, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #755 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and refined, the Hotel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes is located on the left bank, opposite the Gare d'Austerlitz, beside the Jardin des Plantes and the Museum d'Histoire Naturelle (Natural History Museum). It is close to the Gare de Lyon and the Palais Omnisports de Bercy (sports arena) and not far from the Cite de la Mode et du Design (Fashion and Design Centre ), the new Paris Seine Rive Gauche district, Notre Dame and the quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Libertel Austerlitz Jardin des Plantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Austerlitz Jardin Des Plantes Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing