We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
Ranked #615 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Clean & quiet”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Good service from counter staff, cleaning staff and breakfast staff. The desk staff helped us on many occasions in our 6 day visit and were always polite. Two of the desk staff did not know where the laundromat was but sent us to what they thought was one. If they did not know for sure they should have said so - any way another person gave us a printed map and we found it!

Room Tip: we were on the main road and had no problems with noise. The rerviewer who complained about the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    481
    227
    55
    41
See reviews for
258
473
36
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location of this hotel is fabulous. There are many restaurants, stores and the subway station is outside the front door. We booked a family room and it was big enough for a family of two adults and two teens. The beds were comfortable and the room was fairly clean. The bathroom shower was in need of repair with the shower head always falling. The air conditioner worked on and off and was temperamental. The staff, for the most part were kind and helpful. We were on the fourth floor and never heard any noise from the Irish Pub below.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellin4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time at Tryp François Hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Can't say enough about that. After marathon days walking all over Paris, it was wonderful to know you could pop into the nearest metro station and pop out right at home base. We are not transit riders in real life, nor do we speak French, but it took all of one trip to become comfortable with how the system works.

Room was very nice for our family of four. Bunk beds for kids, king for parents in separate bedroom. Our room faced an inner courtyard and noise was not an issue, despite location on busy boulevard. They wanted €19 pp for breakfast, so we enjoyed pastries and coffee elsewhere - you only have about 10,000 choices within a few blocks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our hotel during your recent stay in Paris.

Concerning our breakfast , please take note that we offer more than 33 diferent products in order to give you a total satisfaction.

Looking forward to see you again at Tryp François!

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked very late, places were full, this one was available and not too expensive. There were positives and negatives. First the good news: The location is great - a short walk to the Seine, the Louvre, not far to l'Opera, the Madeleine and the great shops on Blvd Haussmann. There is a Metro station right outside the door. The staff were just great, really nice, helpful and always there when you needed anything. The room was small but not especially small for Paris and it had enough storage space. It was fairly nicely decorated, perhaps a bit tired but not terrible. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was not too small but the shower was very tight - don't try it if you are a very heavy person! The shower curtain leaked and the shower head wouldn't stay up on its holder. But the bathroom was very stylish and modern. Now for the other side of the picture: Our room was not air-conditioned (maybe others are) and it was hot in the room even when cool outside. I didn't think to ask for a non-smoking room and the whole section of the floor smelled of stale smoke - ugh! Worst of all, it was really noisy on Friday and Saturday nights, all night until 5 a.m., from the night clubs across the street. Sunday was better. The serious sound-proof french doors on the faux balcony cut out much of the noise but the screaming and bass rhythm was too much! Use earplugs! Overall, probably better places on side streets but relatively good value for money, especially if you wait too long to book!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room; ask if the rooms at the back are quieter or use earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances4612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We really try our best to guarantee that all of our customers experiences are totally satisfying . Please take in consideration that our hotel is located in the heart of Paris and we can understand that the noise could disturb you.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A group of 3 couples, all based in London, we go out for dinner together once each month. Once a year, we also go abroad as a group. This time it was to Paris.

I used to work in Paris, and so I know the city well. I wanted a centrally-located, modestly-priced hotel for our four days in Paris.

The TRYP Paris Francois met the bill pretty exactly. The location is fantastic, right downtown, and a few feet from a Metro station. The hotel is modern and clean. However, the 'standard' rooms were tiny, the price proposed at the time of booking turned out NOT to include breakfast and the staff were not particularly helpful.

As a place to sleep - OK. As a good experience - not particularly. Despite the location, we wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMautner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear M Mautner,

Thank you for choosing the Tryp François on your last stay in Paris.

Concerning the size f the rooms , please do not hesitate to book our Premiums rooms for more confort. Do not hesitate to visit our web site, you will find the good prices with breakfast included.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

first off, I would like yo point out that we used European Destination to book our trip so I am not aware of the price of the hotel.
that being said, the hotel is very comfy. it isn't far from Gard du Nord station (eurostar) so it only cost us about 20 euros for four passengers. the location is right by the Grands Boulevard metro station so it's easy to get around Paris. If you're planning to take the L'open bus tour, there's a stop about two blocks away from the hotel.

The hotel staff were so nice. They know multiple languages. I've heard them speak Spanish as well. The elevator can only fit two people excluding the luggage. The room was quite interesting. You have to go through three doors just to get to your room. we stayed in the family suite, which was very comfortable. there's a bunk bed and a separate room with a king size bed. they don't give out shampoo and bath gel. they have a dispenser that apparently is a shampoo AND bath gel. thankfully, I brought my own.

the only concern I had was that there was no AC during our stay. I don't know if it's normal in Europe to not have it in May as we've experienced the same thing in Rome.

overall, it was a great experience and I will be staying there when I come back to Paris!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07trish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that you had a good experience in our hotel and you will stay with us on your next stay in Paris. Concerning the AC i confirm you is properly working during the summer time.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First of all, if you are a light sleeper please, please read the reviews for this Hotel.
I believe, that when reading reviews, you need to read between the lines so to speak, and make your own judgements.
Unfortunately in this case I made the wrong decision - I should have chosen an indoor facing room!!!
I prefer to be able to see what is going on around me, so chose the street view, and whilst during the day this was a good option, at night it was so very wrong!!
The hotel is joined on to the next building, which houses the music bar: O'Sullivans, which is open until 6.00am and also has an outside smoking/drinking area, as does the Australian Bar opposite!!
The boulevard outside is a dual carriage way and extremely busy into the early hours of the morning.
I looked out of the window at 5.00am and there was so much activity - well dressed people of all ages coming and going - there are a few theatres in this area as well!
Aside from the late night noise, this Hotel is in a very good position as a base to see Paris.
It is a lovely building, dating back to the 18th century, with helpful staff, and I was amazed at how silent the lifts were, albeit very small, they were so very smooth running.
I have to say that I did not like the fact that the tiny toilet cubicle did not have a wash basin - I prefer a full bathroom, but it is a very old building.
And also we kept smelling cigarette smoke - possibly wafting in through the vents?
There is an underground Metro Station virtually opposite the hotel from where you can travel to the main stations, or, as we frequently did, you can walk to the sights and pick up the atmosphere of Paris.
We had an unfortunate negative upon booking out where someone had had a breakfast and had given our room number, however the lady on Reception believed us when we said that we had not had any breakfasts.
We would stay in the Tryp Paris Francois Hotel again, as it was in such a good area, and the staff were friendly, but not a room with a street view!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, a boulevard facing room may not be a good option for you. The traffic do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceparis, Guest Experience France at TRYP Paris Opera Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of Tripadvisor.

As you mention, our hotel is located in the center of Paris and we can understand that the street could be noisy sometimes.

Anyway, we are happy to see do you want to stay with us again! . We look forward to see you again at Tryp François.

Best regards,

Priscilla Pascal
Guest Experience France
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#384 of 1,798 in Paris
553 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#780 of 1,798 in Paris
196 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Holiday Inn Paris Opera-Grands Boulevards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Melia Vendome - Paris
Melia Vendome - Paris
#353 of 1,798 in Paris
834 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Standard Design
Hotel Standard Design
#496 of 1,798 in Paris
565 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#257 of 1,798 in Paris
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Paris Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Paris Opera Hotel

Property: TRYP Paris Opera Hotel
Address: 3 boulevard Montmartre, 75002 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#335 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Paris Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Paris Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Paris
Tryp Hotel Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing