We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location close to metro in a nice local area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Color Design Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Color Design Hotel
Ranked #712 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet location close to metro in a nice local area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Staff were very polite and efficient, we stayed in a luxury room one down from the most expensive and it modern, clean the bed was comfy and the room was very spacious. Bathroom and shower were clean and nice. For the price we paid it was good value for a nice hotel. The area around the hotel was nice a modern mini supermarket just down the road , lots of nice a bar/cafes and restaurants and a lovely bakery on the way to nearest metro which was a 5 min walk from the hotel. It did look like some of the cheaper rooms would be very small.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it if you want some nice, quiet and on the metro was 2-3 mins to Bastille where you can change for lots of lines, we were in the centre in 10mins on the metro so very close.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    384
    119
    39
    23
See reviews for
65
386
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Very cheap and yet very clean hotel, modern, colourfully decorated rooms. Hence the name.

The rooms are mostly quite small, but adequate. The location isn't great, but there is a Metro just up the road and several restaurants, bars, cafes and boulangeries nearby.

Good comfy bed, and the A/C worked fine. Also, we were lucky enough to get a corner room with a tiny French balcony. Although there were construction works nearby and a hospital across the street, we were not bothered by noise from either.

The service is exactly what you would expect from a Parisian hotel in this price range: Some of the staff were curt bordering on rude, some of them very kind and helpful. Most of the staff did their job and not much else. The service at the local eateries was excellent, however.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blubbalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

You can't really expect five-star quality from a three-star hotel - so there are things that are slight quibbles here, but over all we would recommend it.

The room we were in was not large but it was quiet, with a very comfortable, large bed, a flat-screen TV (on which reception was of variable quality) and an i-pod dock. The bathrooms have been over-designed to fit the decor throughout, which is cheerful, trendy and bright but not always wholly practical! We only had a hand-held shower - but then we did have a bath, which I appreciated, and there seemed to be plenty of hot water. Why do modern wash-basins not have plugs that seal, so that you can run a small amount of water in to use, rather than having to leave the tap running - I don't understand it!

The real advantage, though, as others have said, is the location. The 12eme Arrondissement is not one of Paris's smartest but it's not dangerously run-down either. There is a great little restaurant called l'Ebauchoir almost next door to the hotel, one that is very popular, so you are advised to book for Friday or Saturday nights. We also ate very well not much further away at Le Tarmac - the porter will give you directions. Both of these are very French in the sense of being used by locals rather than tourists (always a good sign!) and there are no doubt other good restaurants in the area that we didn't have time to try.

Getting there - For those travelling by Eurostar and therefore arriving at Gare du Nord, take the Orange line 5 as far as Bastille and change to the Purple line 8, going two more stops to Faidherbe-Chaligny, which is the nearest stop to the hotel.

Ledru-Rollin, to the west and Reuilly-Diderot to the east are two other stops also within easy walking distance, and Gare de Lyon, which is a hub for four different metro lines is not much further, so you have lots of options for travelling into the centre.

If you want five-star luxury in Paris you really do have to pay five-star prices - but if you are simply looking for a quiet, clean and comfortable place to sleep, with good connections to all the sights, the Color Design Hotel will probably suit you fine.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank North-easterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel with a friend. We liked the look of the hotel a lot and the room itself very much. Everything looked fresh and stylish. The bathroom was beautiful but the door didn't lock and to me it was impossible to take a shower without making the whole bathroom wet. It was style above practicality for sure in the bathroom.

During our stay it was very cold in Paris but the heat worked well and it was lovely to get warm in a room after a cold day out. The bed and the pillows were comfortable, the room was average size and very cool. We found the breakfast 12e too expensive and skipped it.

The area was very nice and not horrible as some have said. There were many nice restaurants right around the corner and the metro was few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miyu_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

My worst hotel experience ever. They looked surprised when we turned up with a 6 month old baby and told us at least three times that she couldn't throw up in the bed. When we got over the receptionist stupidity we went to our room only to find some very suspicious looking white stains on our bed cover and the heating didn't work. We had to sleep in 5 degrees Celsius as the hotel was full and it was too late to go hunting for another hotel at 11pm.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrHemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I booked the hotel through lastminute.com and got a much cheaper rate than the advertised rate and absolutely loved it!

The location is great - within walking distance of three metro stations, just off a busy street with loads of shops and cafes.

The room - 206 - was a reasonable size, certainly big enough for one, with a comfy bed, lots of pillows, good lighting, flat screen TV - all very stylish! The window had a view of a side street and the neighbouring apartments. The bathroom was small but fantastic - a big shower with lots and lots of hot water from a large showerhead built into the ceiling. It was all beautifully tiled with small mosaic tiles, and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The room was quiet and I didn't hear anyone else at all although there were definitely other people staying on the same floor.

The breakfast seemed expensive at 12 euros but you could eat as much as you liked, the food was fresh and there was lots of choice, and it was a good way to start the day - far easier than trying to find a cafe and remember what the word for breakfast is!

I loved it, it really made my trip to Paris a little bit more special and I'll certainly stay there next time I go.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryBNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjw_londonium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

my wife and I stayed for 4 nights and loved the place. the staff were universally friendly and helpful, and allowed an early check-in on our first day. the hotel's decor is uber-modern and minimailist, and this follows through to the (very clean) rooms. ours was equipped with a flat screen tv and an ipod docking station. the large double bed was really comfy and the bathroom had everything you'd expect including a hair-dryer. my only (very minor) criticism was the lack of kettle in the room, but there's plenty of great parisian cafes in the neighbourhood so not a major problem!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjw_londonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#655 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Gare de Lyon Reuilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#593 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Venise Hotel
Venise Hotel
#500 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Citadines Bastille Gare de Lyon Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Design Hotel

Property: Color Design Hotel
Address: 35 rue de Citeaux | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Family Hotel in Paris
#364 Business Hotel in Paris
#590 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Color Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, the Color Design hotel will give you a warm, colourful welcome to the world's most romantic city. The pure geometrical lines, colours highlighted on white backgrounds, and plays of light create a delightful atmosphere, making the hotel a unique place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Color Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Color Design
Color Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing