We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice basic design hotel but not the location it promises in Marais.”
Review of Color Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Color Design Hotel
Ranked #773 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I chose this hotel due to them promoting themselves as a hotel in Marais. Since I did not have much time to do research before I left I assumed the location would be in the cosy neighbourhoods of Marais, which was not the case. It is about two Metro stations from Bastille but the advantage is that the hotel is located close the Metrostation and still pretty quiet. With the Metro you can easily go to all important places without changing.

Room was clean and cosy, tastefully decorated in grey and dark lilac. Plus for the iPod docking station. Minus for only French TV channels. One needs to be a bit handy to get ahead in the bathroom: both the handle in the shower and the sink were loose and I ended up with the handles in my hand, water pouring fast. But fixed it myself, no problem, but not what one expects from a hotel like this.

Breakfast was good, very tasty and generous buffet. Service excellent and enjoyed the airport shuttle service for 25 Euro.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for Color Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

I went to Paris with my boyfriend and stayed for 3 nights. This hotel definetly made my holiday. The staff were really friendly and really helpful.
When we got there our room got upgraded which was a nice touch after travelling for most of the day.

The reception was clean, bright and fresh and was really welcoming. There was also a mac avaliable for use for guests and free wifi during our stay which was an nice touch. The Hotel was situated off the main road which meant it was nice and quiet for getting to sleep at night. Also there was a supermarket situated across the road which was very convienent.


Our room had a double bed which was extreamly comfortable. A flat screen television, ipod dock, a salon sized hairdryer and we had an extra single bed that could be used as a couch. Also we had a desk with two telephones and a light. The only criticisms that i could have for the room is that there could be more mirrors there was only one infront of the bathroom door which was annoying for getting ready. It would have been better if there was another one in the room. Also we had problems with our safe which we did notify the staff and they just gave us a key for it but we had to hand it back in. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and were given complementary soaps and other toiletries.

We had the buffet breakfast added onto to our stay and it was really nice. The continental breakfast included fresh pastries that they baked that day, cereals, coffee and tea facilities, fresh bread, meats, cheese, different kinds of fruit juices and yogurts. The breakfasts were really nice and the breakfast area was really clean, fresh and comfortable. I really enjoyed the breakfasts and they set us up for a busy day

The hotel was in situated like a 2 min walk from the nearest metro station and it was a 5-10min walk from bastille which was a main area with many restaurants and bars. The metro station there was a big station and had many lines including metro 1 which had stations such a lourve, champs de elyees. This was very handy for us as thats the line we used the most.

I would defientely recommend this hotel to family and friends and would come back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I travelled with my boyfriend and two other couples for new years eve. At first glance the hotel was bright, clean and vibrant. I loved it. The reception staff were 1000 % amazing, very helpful when we were stuck for which areas to go to etc. The metro station was 200 yards from the hotel and there was a supermarket on the same street at the hotel. You could have a cocktail and lunch at the bar at the end of the street also!

The next stop from the metro station was Bastielle and this was without a doubt the nicest area of Paris that we had drinks in. It was buzzing with atmosphere and the bars were all exciting.

We had heard that Paris was really expensive. We didn't go out for big meals but we found the drink prices were the same accross the board.. Spirits and cocktails were around 7/8 euros and wine and beer ranged from 5 - 8 euros. We didn't mind paying this as the bars were so lovely and it was great soaking up the Paris atmosphere while we sipped!

The rooms were not too small, perfect size for Paris which is known for having very small rooms. The rooms were extremely clean and the bathroom was lovely. I had read that the shower was handheld but ours was a brand new shower where the water came from the roof. It was great!

The room came with a lovely wide flat screen TV, ipod speakers, salon hair dryer. The rooms were cleaned each day with new towels. It also had free wifi that I used on my iphone while I was there. It was really fast so this was a great addition!

I would only give this hotel 10/10. For the money, the area, the staff, the convenience of the surroundings, the rooms and the general atmosphere of the location! We will defo be going back to this hotel and Paris in the near future! xxx

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bimbobeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I would recommend this hotel, would suggest the Gare de Lyon station not the Bastille!, the staff make this hotel, warm friendly and very helpful allowing us to check in early. The road it is on is under renovation however the hotel looked fantastic from the outside and in. Very upto date and the Bistro a few doors down is amazing, Everyone we met in the area wew so helpful really great area. As two young girls felt very safe even at night. On the negative rooms are cosy shall we say, also the bathroom door and shower does not have a lock or even a way of holding it closed, plus they have a gap all around. The hotel should also consider slow door releases as they do slam shut. Appart from that I would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle100London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I spent a few days in this hotel and for sure I will come back there. Hotel is situated near the Bastile, around 200 m from the metro station, on small and nice street. I like this style but for sure it is not for everyone. Rooms are not very big but enough. For some people there could be a problem with bathroom (no typical doors). Personnel is very friendly and helpful. There is a possibility to order the direct transport (bus) from hotel to the airport. If you have Iphone or Ipod you can listen music in you hotel room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We arrived at this hotel on a rainy Friday morning. The hotel was immaculate. The foyer warm and inviting. The reception staff were apologetic about not having two rooms ready at 10am. Check in was 2pm. We waited 10 Minutes and then were given keys to two rooms. The Rooms have recently been refurbished to a very high standard. The shower and bath were great . I hate showeres, so a soak in a big bath after much walking was much appriciated. The view from our rooms overlooked each other with very interesting un obtrusive lighting. The metro is about 3 minutes walk from the hotel .
A great 3 star hotel. I Would definatly reccomend it .

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzoupoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This modern hotel is in the Marais neighborhood (12th Arr). This is a residential area and a good walk to center of Paris but we managed without difficulty to get around. We found the Color Hotel on Splendia.com and so far they have not let us down. The rooms are very small but decorated in a unique color theme. We spend most of our city breaks out of the hotel so we didn't mind the small room but it is pricey for the size. There was a cold breakfast bar in the lobby-nice not fancy. We tend to travel last minute so we don't have time to do a lot of research but this hotel served us well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#588 of 1,803 in Paris
449 reviews
République
BLC Design Hotel
BLC Design Hotel
#652 of 1,803 in Paris
619 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#954 of 1,803 in Paris
225 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Design Hotel

Address: 35 rue de Citeaux | 12th Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Family Hotel in Paris
#364 Business Hotel in Paris
#589 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £70 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Color Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, the Color Design hotel will give you a warm, colourful welcome to the world's most romantic city. The pure geometrical lines, colours highlighted on white backgrounds, and plays of light create a delightful atmosphere, making the hotel a unique place to stay. We also have our driver we can provide you transfer from and to the two Parisian airports (Charle de Gaulle and Orly). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Color Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Color Design
Color Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing