We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing was the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Ranked #954 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
beer sheva
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only good thing was the location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spend a week in the hotel, group of 22 students. The rooms were fine, but service was not so good.
No safes in the room (although it should be), ones who had a safe in the room, didn't work. Staff knew it didn't work and didn't offer any solution. When I talked about it with the front desk, I didn’t get any solution and as a bonus I got yelled by the receptionist that he is only working there so what can he do, if I want him to cut his hand off and that I'm making him upset. I respond to him and explained him that he is the one who making me upset and asked my money back so I can go to a different hotel. His response: go to the police. I have no idea what's the connection.
A different receptionist was much nicer but still didn’t do much to help us. As a result we needed to carry all of my money and passport with me. My friend's handbag got stolen from the lobby of the hotel, so we asked to see the footage from the security cameras, maybe catch the thief, surprise surprise the cameras are not real! Taking with the manager he told us no responsibility and ignores the fact that there is no safe, and no security cameras.
There were more small problems, like the Wi-Fi not working all the time, water leaking from the shower to the floor, phones that don't work in all the rooms and more...
The only 2 good things were breakfast and location.
To sum: there is enough hotels in Paris, choose another one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    170
    84
    21
    19
See reviews for
49
178
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spending a week in the hotel on an art group tour, this hotel, although situated well in Paris has the most awful service i have ever come experienced.
Advertising a safe in the room, some rooms do in fact have a safe, some do not. Those that had, safe did not work. When confronting the front desk on the issue, the guy on call, yelled at us, asking us what he thinks he should do, threatening to cut off his hand as he has no solution, this may help he suggested. Once he had calmed down, he offered us to use the safes sitting in the lobby, but these safes were not attached to the wall, but he assured us not to worry, as they have camera surveillance. We opted not to use the lobby safes as such, choosing to carry my money and passport on me, resulted in having my bag stolen form the lobby. When i asked to see the camera playback, they told me the cameras are just for show, they do not actually work.

Wi-Fi issues: again claiming 24 hour Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, not true. Wi-Fi works when it suits, totally unreliable.

Extra blankets, we asked for, but every day, the housekeeping would take them away, and every night we would have to go down to the lobby and again request extra blankets which we had to carry up to the room

Same for extra towels, every day the reception would put in a request that we want extra towels and every night, along with the blankets we would carry out towels

All in all, a horrible experience, although great location, comfortable bed and hot showers, though the shower leaks all over the floor, so you need extra towels to absorb the water,

As such, i recommend, if you cna find another hotel. go for it.

Oh yes, some of our group had problems with their phone in the room, which the hotel promised daily to fix but never actually did.

IN SUM: AWFUL, UNRELIABLE, AND RUDE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Madam, Hello Sir,

We read your message, and we have noted your comments on heating, safes, reception staff and telephone.

All team Timhotel Tour Montparnasse Thank you for your contribution to the improvement and reputation of our institution.

Sincerely,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in September and found the prices really reasonable for central Paris.

The location is ideal, minutes from 3 Metro stations linking you to most of the city, so it's so easy to get around. It's also in an area with lots of bars and restaurants which is helpful (but not busy/noisy near the hotel which is nice).

The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and speak great English. We asked for recommendations and travel help and got great advice.

The room wasn't huge, but it was clean and tidy and the bathroom was too. We weren't planning to spend a lot of time on the room as we used it as a base for exploring, so it was absolutely fine.

Some minor cons: twin room (not a double bed), breakfast is really pricey (pastry shops nearby are much more reasonable).

Would recommend it as a base for exploring Paris, and would happily use it again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Madam, Hello Sir,

We read your message

All team Timhotel Tour Montparnasse Thank you for your contribution to the improvement and reputation of our institution.

Sincerely,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This Hotel is ideally situated in a very busy area with plenty to do. You have three metro connections within 5 minutes walk. The taxi from Gard du Nord if using the Eurostar is approx. 20 euro and takes approx. 20 minutes depending on traffic. Be prepared for an experience if taking the taxi as the trip in rush hour is not for the faint hearted.

I found the room to be pleasant but nothing more. It was very small but function able. The room was on the 5th floor which was accessed via a small lift that took an age to arrive. The view from 505 was not one that I would choose as you looked over the back of buildings and not a lot more. For a better view you would need to be in 501-504 on the front of the hotel.

The bed was comfortable and the en-suite was suitable with only a shower, toilet and sink. The décor was dated and showing signs of age but as stated was function able. The A/C was very good as at the time the weather was hot outside but the room cool and afforded me a comfortable sleep.

The staff were very helpful if requested. The breakfast buffet was good though starts at 7am and finishes at 9.30 so if you are leaving earlier you will miss out.

I have one complaint and that was I paid 185 euros a night which I seriously think it is not worth that amount of money plus they were advertising a rate of 129 euros outside,

Outside you are spoilt for choice for restaurants as there must be 20 within 5 minute walk and the area is alive and bustling worth walking around and soaking the atmosphere. Though do be wise as the cost of food I found can vary as does the price of drinks with a beer costing 8 euros per pint in some establishments

All in all I enjoyed the area very much and my stay in the hotel was pleasant and comfortable. I would not choose this hotel again based on what I paid as I know other hotels within the area are better value for money.

Room Tip: The only real good views are on the front face of the hotel. If you require a quieter room then the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Nous avons pris connaissance de votre message avec attention,

Notre petit déjeuner en formule "Buffet à volonté" est actuellement accessible entre 7h00 et 10h45. nous pouvons effectivement réfléchir à la plage horaire.

Nos tarifs sont ceux du marché et nous n'hésitons pas à promouvoir d'éventuelles annulations de dernières minutes.

Tout l'équipe du TIMHOTEL TOUR MONTPARNASSE vous remercie pour votre contribution à l'amélioration et à la renommée de notre établissement.

Bien cordialement,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Type in "bed bugs in Paris" into Google and read the horror which is being played down by the Parisian authorities. Sadly we stayed in this hotel in early August for four nights and found we both ended up with incredibly itchy bites in all sorts of places you simply wouldn't expect mozzies or midgees etc to access.

All seemed clean and the staff were particularly helpful and friendly. Now we obviously don't know with certainty that the bites were definitely bed bugs nor do we know they were picked up at this hotel (we didn't realise the extent of the issue as the bites were still erupting up to a week or so after we left - which again is the reported modus operandi for these beast bites. Consequently we did not report this at the time. However, we didn't have them before nor since (TG!!!) and believe this is the most probable source.

Happy to remove this post if the hotel management undertakes an inspection and can confirm the hotel is free of this blight. Over to them..........

The reaction to these bites was so intense it can stop you in your tracks - the most intense itchiness imaginable - they almost induce nausea at times! Hence the alert status.

Anyone else have a similar experience?

Room Tip: Can't recall the room number we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Nous avons lu votre message avec attention, nous vous informons n'avoir eu aucune infection de punaises de lits depuis plusieurs mois.

Les rares cas qui peuvent se produire sont éradiqués dès qu'ils se présentent.

Tout l'équipe du TIMHOTEL TOUR MONTPARNASSE vous remercie pour votre contribution à l'amélioration et à la renommée de notre établissement.

Bien cordialement,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isa Town, Bahrain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My experience was horrible .. the rooms are very small .. it's like prison cells .. tiny and smelly elevator .. if you were unlucky to be placed in the last floor you will need to drag your bags on the stair!! because the elevator for some odd reasons refuses to get there. Limited options in the breakfast.

Room Tip: No last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Nous avons été sensible au contenu de vos observations, Les chambres "Confort" sont effectivement plus petites que les chambres "Supérieure".

Effectivement nous avons eu une défaillance de notre ascenseur qui a pu être maintenu jusqu'au sixième étage. L'intervention a été effectuée dans les délais les plus court.

Tout l'équipe du TIMHOTEL TOUR MONTPARNASSE vous remercie pour votre contribution à l'amélioration et à la renommée de notre établissement.

Bien cordialement,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I booked this hotel for our honeymoon on booking.com and was lead to believe it was 3 stars. Okay, so it wasn't, but it was pretty clean, comfy bed and our room was just at the back so nice and quiet.
Breakfast was extra money but nice, typically continental.
Most staff nice but one man was bit odd when we asked where vending machine was for snacks (stated in room brochure ) and he laughed and said "I am the machine" .... Hmm!
Sex shops opposite were not a problem as we weren't in them and you can't see anything anyway!
All in all, not bad wee place in busy part of Paris .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Tout l'équipe du TIMHOTEL TOUR MONTPARNASSE vous remercie pour votre contribution à l'amélioration et à la renommée de notre établissement.

Bien cordialement,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#487 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,160 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Paris Gare Montparnasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#923 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#368 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Patio Brancion
#1,183 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Tour Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Tour Montparnasse

Property: Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Address: 11 B rue de la Gaite | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #954 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Tour Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Timhotel Tour Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Montparnasse Hotel
Elysee Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing