We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Ranked #949 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a 4* Hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. Prior to our arrival I requested a room with a view and as high as possible given previous comments by travellers, I was surprised therefore to be given a room on the 2nd floor with a direct view of the sex shop!

The room was small but that was expected and accepted, again given previous comments. The room was tidy but appeared worn (our sink had a large dirty crack along it)

The position of the hotel is fantastic for the Paris metro and getting to and from Paris attractions.

Breakfast was adequate.

This hotel could not be described as a location for a romantic getaway more a base for travel. If you arrive with that view in mind you will not go far wrong.

It is hard to imagine why this hotel has received a 4* rating when all things are considered - All in all ,with the cost of stay taken into account, this is in our view 3* hotel at best.

Room Tip: Don't take room 204; the shower floods the bathroom!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    178
    87
    24
    19
See reviews for
51
185
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel. It was clean and comfortable. However I do not think it is a 4 * hotel charging 4* prices.

We arrived about 8:45 pm as i had indicated by e mail. We were allocated a twin-bedded room ( as requested) on the 7th floor. The room had a slight musty smell and was right beside the lift. We decided that would be noisy and could disturb our sleep so asked if another room was available. The receptionist hummed and ha'd saying rooms were allocated on arrival and as we had arrived late then that was all that was left! He then offered us a room on the 2nd floor at the same time expressing an opinion that why anyone would want to move to the 2nd floor rather than have the view for the 7th was puzzling to him!
The room on the 2nd floor was in a better position but had a double bed. I had indicated by e mail on a number of occasions that we wanted a twin-bedded room.
We were then offered the same room on the 3 rd floor which did have a twin-bedded room, It was stressed that this only could be done if the first room was left immaculate as we were being swapped rooms.....from someone who had not yet arrived....wait a minute....this doesn't make sense as we were told original room was given to us due to our late arrival!
Why oh why can hotels not just allocate best room on arrival without having to go through this palaver all the time when they try to fob you off with one of their poorer rooms?!
Also having a robe and slippers doesn't equal 4*. Much better to have the tea tray topped up and water supplied every night and not just on arrival. Also the room was not made up to a high standard during our stay.
I was disappointed as having spent a bit of money as it was my daughter's birthday I felt that the small finishing touches which make it special just weren't there.
The shower was fine and cleanliness fairly good.

Room Tip: Persevere if you are not happy with the room allocated....there are probably other rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I'm not sure why this hotel has got bad reviews people obviously have too high expectations for what they pay for. Paid £100 for a double room for one night. (£50 each) which is v reasonable for central paris!! The bathroom was really new and the room clean and air-conditioned. Didn't bother with breakfast there (so near little cafes there's not point). The view was fab and the location was so good. Service was good, they let us keep our bags in the lobby before and after checking in/out, I found the people on reception really nice and accommodating.
For a weekend break it was perfect in terms of location and cleanliness. Used as a base and don't bother getting breakfast included. I wanted extra towels and they were really helpful in providing. I would stay here again.
There was a lovely little market and jazz music on the saturday so had a lovely morning.

Room Tip: Get one on a higher floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Good morning Madam,

We read your message,

All team Timhotel Tour Montparnasse Thank you for your contribution to the improvement and reputation of our institution.

Best regards

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our stay at the Timhotel on rue de la Gaite was for little over a week. The hotel, services and food are fine, the rooms are just sooo small. I guess the first room we had was about average size for this hotel...we could open our suitcases and still have one person standing in the room. The second room was so small, only one person could stand and the suitcases got stacked in front of the door as that was the only empty floor space. So we requested a larger room and had to upgrade to a superior room....now besides the bed, there are two chairs and a small table for drinks AND space to have our luggage open. So just be warned on the space vs price here. Otherwise, the bed was very comfy and the blankets are also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIOldLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour Madame, bonjour Monsieur,

Nous avons lu attentivement votre message, et nous avons bien noté les divers observations mentionnées.

Les hôtels anciens à paris font l'objet de cette remarque concernant la superficie des chambres, aussi, pour plus de clarté nous proposons deux de catégories de chambres, les "Confort" et les "Supérieures".

Tout l'équipe du TIMHOTEL TOUR MONTPARNASSE vous remercie pour votre contribution à l'amélioration et à la renommée de notre établissement et nous vous saouhaitons de très agréables fêtes de fin d'année.

Bien cordialement,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beer sheva
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spend a week in the hotel, group of 22 students. The rooms were fine, but service was not so good.
No safes in the room (although it should be), ones who had a safe in the room, didn't work. Staff knew it didn't work and didn't offer any solution. When I talked about it with the front desk, I didn’t get any solution and as a bonus I got yelled by the receptionist that he is only working there so what can he do, if I want him to cut his hand off and that I'm making him upset. I respond to him and explained him that he is the one who making me upset and asked my money back so I can go to a different hotel. His response: go to the police. I have no idea what's the connection.
A different receptionist was much nicer but still didn’t do much to help us. As a result we needed to carry all of my money and passport with me. My friend's handbag got stolen from the lobby of the hotel, so we asked to see the footage from the security cameras, maybe catch the thief, surprise surprise the cameras are not real! Taking with the manager he told us no responsibility and ignores the fact that there is no safe, and no security cameras.
There were more small problems, like the Wi-Fi not working all the time, water leaking from the shower to the floor, phones that don't work in all the rooms and more...
The only 2 good things were breakfast and location.
To sum: there is enough hotels in Paris, choose another one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Eilat, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spending a week in the hotel on an art group tour, this hotel, although situated well in Paris has the most awful service i have ever come experienced.
Advertising a safe in the room, some rooms do in fact have a safe, some do not. Those that had, safe did not work. When confronting the front desk on the issue, the guy on call, yelled at us, asking us what he thinks he should do, threatening to cut off his hand as he has no solution, this may help he suggested. Once he had calmed down, he offered us to use the safes sitting in the lobby, but these safes were not attached to the wall, but he assured us not to worry, as they have camera surveillance. We opted not to use the lobby safes as such, choosing to carry my money and passport on me, resulted in having my bag stolen form the lobby. When i asked to see the camera playback, they told me the cameras are just for show, they do not actually work.

Wi-Fi issues: again claiming 24 hour Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, not true. Wi-Fi works when it suits, totally unreliable.

Extra blankets, we asked for, but every day, the housekeeping would take them away, and every night we would have to go down to the lobby and again request extra blankets which we had to carry up to the room

Same for extra towels, every day the reception would put in a request that we want extra towels and every night, along with the blankets we would carry out towels

All in all, a horrible experience, although great location, comfortable bed and hot showers, though the shower leaks all over the floor, so you need extra towels to absorb the water,

As such, i recommend, if you cna find another hotel. go for it.

Oh yes, some of our group had problems with their phone in the room, which the hotel promised daily to fix but never actually did.

IN SUM: AWFUL, UNRELIABLE, AND RUDE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Madam, Hello Sir,

We read your message, and we have noted your comments on heating, safes, reception staff and telephone.

All team Timhotel Tour Montparnasse Thank you for your contribution to the improvement and reputation of our institution.

Sincerely,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in September and found the prices really reasonable for central Paris.

The location is ideal, minutes from 3 Metro stations linking you to most of the city, so it's so easy to get around. It's also in an area with lots of bars and restaurants which is helpful (but not busy/noisy near the hotel which is nice).

The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and speak great English. We asked for recommendations and travel help and got great advice.

The room wasn't huge, but it was clean and tidy and the bathroom was too. We weren't planning to spend a lot of time on the room as we used it as a base for exploring, so it was absolutely fine.

Some minor cons: twin room (not a double bed), breakfast is really pricey (pastry shops nearby are much more reasonable).

Would recommend it as a base for exploring Paris, and would happily use it again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monpt, Responsable réception at Timhotel Tour Montparnasse, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hello Madam, Hello Sir,

We read your message

All team Timhotel Tour Montparnasse Thank you for your contribution to the improvement and reputation of our institution.

Sincerely,

Bruno RICHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#975 of 1,800 in Paris
723 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Paris Gare Montparnasse
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#552 of 1,800 in Paris
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#364 of 1,800 in Paris
796 reviews
Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
Timhotel Odessa Montparnasse
#1,140 of 1,800 in Paris
337 reviews
Montparnasse
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
Nouvel Hotel Du Theatre
#1,475 of 1,800 in Paris
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Tour Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Tour Montparnasse

Property: Timhotel Tour Montparnasse
Address: 11 B Rue de la Gaite | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #949 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timhotel Tour Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Timhotel Tour Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Montparnasse Hotel
Elysee Montparnasse Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing