We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Superb Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel celebrating a 40th Birthday. We requested a room with a view for this purpose and we were not disappointed. I would recommend to anyone staying here to request room 507. Others have expressed about the size of the room but this was not an issue in the slightest given the amount of time you would be spending in it. It is in a superb location, just across from bus stop to the Airport and a few steps to the Metro line. The views of the Arc de Triomphe are fantastic and this is a very central place to get to any of the main areas in Paris.

I would recommend foregoing the buffet breakfast which is quite expensive and you can easily find some very nice Cafes nearby to soak up the early morning atmosphere.

The staff were incredibly friendly and I would be very tempted to go back.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rooms with a view on the higher floors. Room 507 is great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank POTFOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
There are newer reviews for Splendid Etoile Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, comfortable spacious rooms, and fantastic views if you are lucky enough to overlook Avenue Carnot from the upper floors, but it is the staff's attention to detail, friendly approach and willingness to help that make this hotel outstanding. This will be our first choice next time we visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great location right across the road from the metro stop, and within a stones throw of the Arc de Triomphe. You'd think it'd be noisy, but once inside you don't hear anything, and the road outside isn't that busy at all. In nice neighbourhood, with Lamborghini and Range Rover etc just round the corner. Welcome on reception was fantastic. I asked for a nice room if poss as we were celebrating my mum's birthday, and whilst I expected a suite for a triple room (as on their website), we were put in one bedroom (extra bed but with a mattress the same as on the twin beds). But we were put in one of the refurbished premier rooms i think, with gorgeous furnishings, floor to ceiling windows opening out on to a balcony with a fabulous view of the arc de triomphe. Spotlessly clean, lovely bedding and a great bathroom (with a showe so powerful it did tend to spray on the floor too!). Breakfast (included with our Cresta booking) was plentiful and delicious. Always a friendly welcome and a chat with the staff on reception. Rooms quiet. Only downside was that my bed was a little hard, but it didn't detract from the holiday. Go there, you won't be disappointed!!

A few tips for Paris: 1) it's cheaper to drink wine than water in the cafes so if you need a drink when you're out and about I'd suggest filling up a water bottle from the hotel room... unless of course you'd prefer to just drink wine. 2) service was included in some of the cafes/restaurants so check your bill before tipping. 3) If you love sewing/knitting then La Drougerie is a must (they have a website too), it's just on the les halles metro exit and you could buy amazing stuff, just check out google for how the system works.

Room Tip: Our room (304) had a fabulous view of the Arc De Triomphe. Ask for a room with a view of it if they...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovethatbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I chose the Splendid Etoile Hotel for a short business trip to Paris, based on the favorable reviews here and also based on the fact that it was about a 15 minute walk from the office. I was very comfortable, and the size of the rooms and bathroom was very nice, especially compared with some other neighborhood hotels in Paris (I usually choose neighborhood hotels to avoid the generic business hotels). If I were just being a tourist, I might feel that this location was a bit off-center, as it were, since as a tourist I would not likely be frequenting the Champs Elysee. Overall, a pleasant, comfortable place to stay, and if I were visiting our Paris office again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isbergglenn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent experience in all respects. Location central (and right as one emerges from Metro). Concierge and hotel staff world-class. Without any hesitation, recommend it, and will stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here while visiting Paris in June 2011 and I was excited before I had even arrived. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and shown to the lift to be taken up to the room and what a room it was. We opted for a superior room with direct views of the Arc de Triomphe from two private balconies. Our room was beautifully styled and furnished and the views onto the Champs Elysée and the imposing Parisian landmark made the experience all the more rewarding, a true asset of the hotel and it left a lasting impression on us.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel and once again the high standard of service was evident with a wide selection of well presented hot and cold foods including French breads, breakfast pastries, cheese, cold meats, juices, cereals and yoghurt. Scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage are also available with boiled eggs made to order if desired. The unobtrusive service from the polite waitresses made breakfast at the hotel enjoyable and incredibly relaxed, a perfect start to the day.

The hotel also benefits from an intimate and relaxed bar and lounge, perfect for a quick night cap or a final bottle of French red before turning in for the night.

A absolutely glorious stay and if you do intend to stay then please make sure you request a room with a view, as the pictures I've attached show, has to be one of the best views to wake up to!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

The location is great, next to a metro/rer and the Air France buses. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet.

Only downside is the restaurants nearby are expensive and not very good. Although the boulangerie down Ave Carnot was very good. Ask for La Tradition and not a baguette.

1  Thank Clwardnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#71 of 1,804 in Paris
1,124 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#129 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#45 of 1,804 in Paris
1,086 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#57 of 1,804 in Paris
448 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#124 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £152 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing