We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #86 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a return visit in October. It is very near the Arc de Triomphe and has a metro stop right outside. It is not cheap but not much is, in Paris. The front of house staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to provide me with gluten free bread for breakfast each morning. We had probably the best room in the hotel last time we stayed (with a view of the Arc and the Eiffel Tower) and did request the same this time, but I think that was lost between the travel agent and the hotel this time. We were originally shown what could arguably be one of the worst rooms in the hotel with a noisy drill going in the background and after a phone call to reception, they changed our room. It wasn't the one we had last time but it was upgraded and was very roomy with a front view (106). The toiletries in this hotel are always of a superior quality which is not found more and more when travelling around the country. When dining out round and about we found if we headed down the hill or to the left we had cheaper meals than around to the right, which proved very expensive the night we tried that way. We would be happy to stay here again as it is within walking distance of a lot of the major sights and the others can be accessed by the metro. Also the open topped tour buses have a stop at the Arc nearby.

Room Tip: Any room on a corner or the ones each side of that e.g. anything ending in 06,07 or 08 would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    324
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
270
654
44
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A great hotel, very convinient location close to public transportation, in a great part of town.The hotel had very helpful staff, courtious and considerate. Breakfast was elaborate with good service. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I travel to Paris frequently for both business and pleasure, and I find that Paris hotels can be rather hit or miss (much like London and NYC). Unfortunately this one was more a 'miss' for me.

Pros:
- Central location (right beside the Arc de Triomphe)
- Very helpful concierge / front desk
- Comfortable beds
- Staff were friendly and willing to accommodate requests (for example sourcing a baby cot)

Cons:
- Lack of value for money (expensive by European standards)
- Small room
- Room service (simply terrible food, which is surprising in a city like Paris)
- Temperature - the room was baking hot, with no air con (and I stayed in October!)
- Construction work next door

Conclusion: Given the cost of the room I feel disappointed with my stay. I will consider other options first when I next return to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression at the Hotel Splendid Etoile and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay and that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
We always do our utmost to offer our guests the best possible service.
We take every criticism seriously and we hope you will give us a second chance for your next stay.
Kind regards,

Mr. Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The stay started out great. We got the room with a spectacular view that we asked for, and paid extra for. I was disappointed at twin beds but on way out to dinner they said they would make into a king. After dinner we came back to twin beds and when my wife pulled the sheets back we were greeted by tiny black bugs. When I complained they offered to vacuum the room. I politely let them know we needed to switch rooms and they moved us to a room with zero view. I brought this to their attention and they said this was the only room left and they would try to improve the following day. They never did anything. Never got a room with a view. Never got an apology. Never got anything for our trouble. Oh, and when we checked out I was charged the rate for the room with a view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression at the Hotel Splendid Etoile and we are deeply sorry about this incident. We confirm you that we have never met this problem in the past.

Our Front Office Manager whom you met apologized for this incident and she attributed you another room type as the room with a view you occupied previously was not available any more.

Besides, we are very surprised to read that during your departure we charged you the rate for the room with view while our Front Office Manager granted you a discount of 50 Euros, per night since the beginning of your stay and your discount is clearly indicated on your invoice.

We naturally remain at your entire disposal to discuss it together at your convenience.

Yours sincerely,

Mr Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our experience at the Hotel Splendid Etoile couldn't have been better! I can't emphasize enough how great this hotel is. We spent two weeks in Europe and this was the best hotel we stayed in. We stayed 3 nights. The staff is warm and helpful. They all spoke English very well and were very friendly. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated and furnished. We upgraded to a suite and it was a huge room with the BEST views of the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. The location is absolutely superb with close proximity to the Arc de Triomphe and Champs Elysees and the Metro. When we go back to Paris we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teethfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Propriétaire at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for making the Hotel Splendid Etoile your preferred hotel during your holidays in Europe. It is always a pleasure to be of service to you and to provide you with the best hospitality. We are delighted that you felt well taken care of during your stay.
We are truly forward to having you with us on your next visit to Paris.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location! Location! This hotel is located near the head of the Champs Elysees, with the Arc de Triomphe in view. The metro station is right across
the street as is the stop for the Air France shuttle bus to and from Charles de Gaulle Airport. There are numerous cafes and restaurants nearby too.
Now, the hotel. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet was varied and such that we never felt the need to stop for lunch. But the folks working at the reception desk really made our visit so nice. Farooq, the chief concierge, was always pleasant and very helpful. He offered numerous helpful tips and always took the time to chat with us. He has a great sense of humor. David was also very nice to deal with. Overall, the service (in the room, at breakfast, at reception) was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Propriétaire at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your most generous comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding your visit earlier this month.

We are genuinely touched that you found the staff to be thoughtful and showing a real sense of hospitality. That is the biggest compliment anyone could ever pay us.

Everyone at the Hotel Splendid Etoile look forwards to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This Hotel has the best location....this was my first trip to Paris and everything about this Hotel worked out perfectly!..Across from the Metro station...bus service to and from airport across the street..early checkin...and a very warm welcome!
Mr. Farooq was just wonderful... helpful...and very informative.....actually every one on the front desk were great!! The staff in the morning for breakfast also were great...as was the selection of breakfast foods!
My sister and I were on our "sister's week"....and the Splendid Etoile was a huge part of making it a perfect week! thank you to the staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwgnlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#81 of 1,801 in Paris
1,092 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#29 of 1,801 in Paris
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#95 of 1,801 in Paris
323 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Ekta
Hotel Ekta
#54 of 1,801 in Paris
423 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Property: Splendid Etoile Hotel
Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#124 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing