We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #93 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I loved this hotel. Firstly I had an amazing view of the arc de triomphe without paying an arm and a leg and my room was spacious, clean, comfortable and modern with a wonderful bathroom and 'real' tub.
The hotel is in a great location and the metro is very close. The hotel staff were very nice, I only had one night there but would definitely stay there again when in Paris. The only reason I didn't rate the hotel a five was the poor service in the hotel restaurant. The food was good but the wait staff seemed overwhelmed and service was very slow.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the arc de triomphe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our three night stay in October was enjoyable. The hotel is excellently situated for sightseeings and transportation (RER, Air France bus shuttle, Metro). We had a room on the third floor and was beautifull. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our three night stay in September was the perfect finish to 6 weeks of travel. The Superior corner room on the second floor was both spacious and beautifully appointed with comfortable beds and a direct view on the Arc de Triomphe from our private balcony. The breakfast selection and service were very good. The Concierge and front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The Hotel is ideally located near the Champs-Elysees and Arc de Triomphe with a Metro stop facing the Hotel. Another advantage is the Airport shuttle service for Orly and Charles-de-Gaulle has a bus stop across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahlukasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've just come back from a four day stay in Paris at this hotel having had a fabulous time ! The hotel is excellently situated for landmarks ( Arc De Triomphe and Champs Elysee are on the doorstep ) and perfect for access to Metro , bus , coach , airpoirt transfer and taxi transport .
The staff were very friendly and helpful ( special mention goes to the Concierge , Farouk who was very helpful and got us a very good deal for a taxi to Versailles Palace which was only 25mins drive away ) .
The hotel is very decorated throughout and the rooms were always meticulously cleaned .
The all you-can-eat breakfast buffet is value for money given the amount you can eat which will keep you going till dinner time !
We would definitely go back there again !

Room Tip: If you ask for a room overlooking the Avenue Carnot you will get a view of the Arc De Triomphe from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hala L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a return visit in October. It is very near the Arc de Triomphe and has a metro stop right outside. It is not cheap but not much is, in Paris. The front of house staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to provide me with gluten free bread for breakfast each morning. We had probably the best room in the hotel last time we stayed (with a view of the Arc and the Eiffel Tower) and did request the same this time, but I think that was lost between the travel agent and the hotel this time. We were originally shown what could arguably be one of the worst rooms in the hotel with a noisy drill going in the background and after a phone call to reception, they changed our room. It wasn't the one we had last time but it was upgraded and was very roomy with a front view (106). The toiletries in this hotel are always of a superior quality which is not found more and more when travelling around the country. When dining out round and about we found if we headed down the hill or to the left we had cheaper meals than around to the right, which proved very expensive the night we tried that way. We would be happy to stay here again as it is within walking distance of a lot of the major sights and the others can be accessed by the metro. Also the open topped tour buses have a stop at the Arc nearby.

Room Tip: Any room on a corner or the ones each side of that e.g. anything ending in 06,07 or 08 would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A great hotel, very convinient location close to public transportation, in a great part of town.The hotel had very helpful staff, courtious and considerate. Breakfast was elaborate with good service. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I travel to Paris frequently for both business and pleasure, and I find that Paris hotels can be rather hit or miss (much like London and NYC). Unfortunately this one was more a 'miss' for me.

Pros:
- Central location (right beside the Arc de Triomphe)
- Very helpful concierge / front desk
- Comfortable beds
- Staff were friendly and willing to accommodate requests (for example sourcing a baby cot)

Cons:
- Lack of value for money (expensive by European standards)
- Small room
- Room service (simply terrible food, which is surprising in a city like Paris)
- Temperature - the room was baking hot, with no air con (and I stayed in October!)
- Construction work next door

Conclusion: Given the cost of the room I feel disappointed with my stay. I will consider other options first when I next return to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your impression at the Hotel Splendid Etoile and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay and that your experience did not live up to your expectations.
We always do our utmost to offer our guests the best possible service.
We take every criticism seriously and we hope you will give us a second chance for your next stay.
Kind regards,

Mr. Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#65 of 1,809 in Paris
1,193 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#124 of 1,809 in Paris
381 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Hidden Hotel
Hidden Hotel
#44 of 1,809 in Paris
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Cecilia Arc De Triomphe
Champs-Élysées
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#206 of 1,809 in Paris
1,777 reviews
Champs-Élysées
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Paris
#72 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#123 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £142 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing