We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Splendid Etoile is splendid indeed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splendid Etoile Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Splendid Etoile Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Splendid Etoile is splendid indeed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

From the moment we checked in, until the last minute, this hotel was fabulous, and made even more so by it's chief concierge, Farooq. After an early morning flight arrival we were welcomed with a suggestion for breakfast while our room was readied. We were allowed an
early check in, which was much appreciated. We had a complimentary breakfast every day and met with our tour groups with the help of Farooq.

The location was excellent so near the l'arc de Triomphe.

We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank murrdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the members of Tripadvisor.

Your comments about the location of our hotel, the comfort of our rooms and the quality of service we provide were really heartwarming. We are really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in Paris.

We look forward to welcome you back again at the hotel Splendid Etoile during your next visit to the City of Light.

Yours Sincerely,

Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    306
    59
    15
    12
See reviews for
244
618
42
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely spacious room and bathroom overlooking arc de triomphe, (room 406). Kids were in room 408 - smaller room and no view of the arc but still pleased with the room. Big comfy beds, very clean. Free wifii. Metro station opposite, so very convenient. In busy part of Paris, obviously being so central, but double balcony doors kept all the traffic noise out completely at night. Reception staff very polite and helpful, organised taxi for us back to airport on last day. Breakfast provisions more than enough variety, very polite helpful waitress. Chambermaid very trustworthy, did not use the bedroom safe when we went out. Haven't got anything bad to say about this hotel at all and would definitely stay here again. Visited all the major landmarks, Versailles was a half day trip, we went around 10 am but queues were extremely long, when we came out around 1pm- hardly any queues so it may be worth going after lunch. It is closed on 1 day of the week so you need to check before you go! Had a guided tour of the Eiffel Tower - prebooked when still in the UK with Easy Pass Tours, pricey but well worth it to miss the huge queues and also our guide was excellent( raphaelle) , she told us a lot about the things you could see from the tower rather that just the tower itself. Getting around very easy by metro, like London Underground. Around €13 for a book of 10 single use tickets.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 07 are corner rooms with 2 balconies overlooking arc de triomphe, but also rooms en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrswdrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Though pricier than I like to pay, I certainly got my money's worth here. I took the cheapest room, so was on a back airshaft with no view and very little light. But this was a brief business trip and I was more interested in the creature comforts, which were just fine. I'd happily stay here again, but the real draw here is the astounding views of the Arc de Triomphe that the best rooms must have. Lovely staff, incredibly efficient -- a warm, quiet place just moments from the craziest traffic circle on earth.

Room Tip: It's really worth spending for one of the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garygF7932QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Chief Concierge Farooq and the staff at Splendid Etoile were hospitable, warm, and helpful, giving directions, helping with taxis, recommending attractions and restaurants. The hotel is in a great location, right by the magnificent Arc de Triomphe and easy access to the Metro. The room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The drinks at the bar were very expensive; I can't comment on the food because I didn't eat in the hotel restaurant once. Super convenient and reasonably priced bus drops off and picks up across the street with service to Charles de Gaulle airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nothing to complain of, except from its price. Excellent location, great balcony view, excellent noise isolation, excellent service, very beautiful room, however I would expect a better breakfast for such a hotel. The bed (mattress) was also very firm, which however some people prefer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you warmly for your generous comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Hotel Splendid Etoile.

We were truly happy to read that your entire guest experience exceeded your expectations. To know that we assisted in making that visit to Paris more memorable is more important than anything else.

Rest assured that we’ve shared all your comments with our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon for another Parisian Trip,

Yours sincerely,

Mr Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel room was very large and beautiful decorated, the terrace overlooking the Arc de Triumphe was amazing, the people at the front desk were more than nice to us, however the beds are so so so hard, and the internet WiFi never worked. ( if that is not important to you then this hotel is the place to be for location ) I just needed WIFI to connect to my office and had a bad back but I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorialuminum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRONTENACParis, Directeur général at Splendid Etoile Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the members of Tripadvisor.

Your comments about the location of our hotel, the comfort of our rooms and the quality of service we provide were really heartwarming. We are really glad that you enjoyed your recent stay in Paris.

We look forward to welcome you back again at the hotel Splendid Etoile during your next visit to the City of Light.

Yours Sincerely,

Sébastien Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel was so very convenient to so much in Paris. Plus the fact that the buses from the airport drop you right across the street and the Metro station is right in front of the Hotel. We were recommended to this hotel by a relative who frequents Paris and know why this is their favorite. My only negative and why it did not get an Excellent from me were two fold. The Bar doesn't open until after 5 pm so no Bloody Mary's or Mimosa's with breakfast. And they were doing construction and started banging and sawing at 10 am every day. The hotel, we felt, should have warned us of this AND at least offered a discount/the option to cancel the reservation. We also were not told there even was a pool so I do not think they had one. Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful in our first visit to Paris. It will not be our last, and we certainly would stay at The Splendid Etoile Hotel again!

Linda Davis, Clearwater FL

Room Tip: ASK if they are doing construction. Once booked they have a No Refund/No Cancellation policy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaDavus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#80 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
Hidden Hotel by Elegancia
#50 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#27 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Maison Albar Hotel Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Le 123 Elysees - Astotel
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#143 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Etoile Hotel

Property: Splendid Etoile Hotel
Address: 1 avenue Carnot, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#85 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#92 Family Hotel in Paris
#124 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splendid Etoile Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located facing the Arc de Triomphe, two steps from the Champs Elysées and close to the business district of La Défense, the Hotel Splendid Etoile, welcomes you in a setting combining luxury, charm and tradition.Welcome to the hotel:The Hotel Splendid Etoile, 57 rooms and suites, will charm you thanks to its cordial setting and refined atmosphere.This mansion dating back from 1880, was built in the purest Haussmann style and opens largely on the Place de l’Etoile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Splendid Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Splendid Etoile
Splendid Etoile Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing