We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel- not so great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel At Gare du Nord
Ranked #1,671 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. My initial reaction is the location for this hotel is not the best for less experience travellers! The area isn't what you would think as typical France and we found it to be very busy and extremely noisy.
The hotel it's self was ok. It was there for us to sleep and chill out which is what we did.
The room is big enough however the bathroom is very small.... You had to sit on the loo at an angle!
The room wasn't air conditioned but we found it to be cool enough. We were lucky to get a room in the court yard which meant we did not hear much from the train track which is literally on the door step.
The breakfast was beautiful and set us up for the days sight seeing!
The hotel is very close to the gare du nord station which in itself is a nightmare! The area was extremely busy but the hotel it's self we felt was quiet.

The tv does not get any English Channels and the wifi isn't very strong but I could still use it in our ground floor room.

As a hotel it would be fine if they just gave it some TLC e.g giving the doors a fresh coat of paint and adding a bit more colour! The staff were friendly an helpful.
I won't stay here again but that is because of the location not he hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Sir, Madam,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

"Terrible" and "dreadful" are strong words, but they were the words that sprang to mind as we entered our room here. On reflection, they are too strong perhaps, but Tim Hotel Gare du Nord is pretty crummy, and we won't be back.

On the good side, we got a very friendly welcome, and the place was clean. The nice receptionist took our bags aside, as we had arrived ahead of schedule.

On the bad side, the room was pokey, dowdy, and had no air-conditioning in the humid July weather. Our room was up an outdoor metal stairs, with a communal elevated walkway (shoddy American motel style), so we had constant walking and footfall noise to contend with.
Whilst the supporting struts of the walkway were metal, the footway itself was wooden, and we wondered how fire-safe this was - hopefully all that timber was fire-resistant, because in an emergency it was our only way to the ground.

No air-conditioning meant we had to keep the window open, which let in all the noise and let out all our privacy.

The room was just about big enough for the bed. There was no wardrobe - just a rail in the corner. Although the water in the tiny shower was hot and plentiful, I never felt like I got clean because the bathroom was too tiny for two people, and I had to go and stand in the bedroom (wet grubby carpet, ugh!) to allow my better half to use the bathroom.

We usually stay in tourist hotels when we travel, and that's fine; we're there to explore the city, not the hotel. However Tim Hotel Gare du Nord was a step too far in the wrong direction. I would challenge anyone with the means of having a holiday in Paris to stay there and say they enjoyed it.

Thanks but no thanks.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel - the whole place is a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank zoolooklogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Sir / Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Well where do I start, I made the fatal flaw of reading other peoples comments before making my own opinion, and upon arrival felt I'd checked into the wrong hotel!

It is nothing like the previous comments, ok if you are looking for a 5* then no it's not, but if you are looking for somewhere to sleep in comfort then yes it is excellent!

We stayed in #210 and it's all we needed, comfortable bed and ensuite. Buffet breakfast was good and just what we needed before another day of sightseeing.

Staff friendly and helpful, nothing like I'd read previously. If you are rude to them, then obviously expect it back!

Metro short walk which is very easy to use.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank James2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Sir / Madam,

We appreciate very much your comments regarding your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

For a couple going away on a budget, this was perfect. We chose the hotel because it was an ideal location for the Eurostar, being only a 5 minute walk from the station. The room was small but all we needed as we spent the days out sightseeing! Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, in addition to other languages. Something else they offered was the use of their luggage room, meaning that after we checked out we had somewhere to store our suitcase while we continued to explore the city before our train home. However, despite having good transport links nearby, the location of the hotel itself was not in a great area and perhaps not the safest place for a tourist to walk at night. Also another minor issue we found was the complimentary wifi they offered only worked in the lounge area downstairs.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and it was worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is very small. I have never seen a small room as this. Also the space to shower is very small then, is impossible not touch parts of your body in the walls.
Breakfast is ok. There is no refrigerator in the room. It is located in the periphery of paris and the best train station is Chateau Landon. The attendants are very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: no tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gutojar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Sir / Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Again thank you for your comments and hope to convince you, at the next visit, the inconvenience you have known were isolated incidents.

Looking forward to welcome you shortly at Timhotel, please accept, Madam / Sir, our warmest greetings.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here in middle of June 2014 - frankly were a bit prepared after reading on trip advisor about this hotel. Rooms are smaller, bathrooms are like an afterthought. Being next to the Metro station, quite noisy till late night.The Wifi works only in the lobby. The elevator is small so if you have big bags as we had - you will need to do a couple of trips to get the luggage in your room. The staff is simply fantastic - very good advise on what and where to eat and very helpful
( Hassan is really superb !! ) Breakfast is again a nice part - freshly baked bread and croissants were some of the best that I have ever eaten.

I would go back not to stay but to say hello to Hasan and have those breads again

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San_19642014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Madam, Sir,

We would like to thank you for your stay at TIMHOTEL GARE DU NORD.

We gratefully acknowledge your comments and suggestions, as they allow us to improve our service and better satisfy our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to host you again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ARAIS76, Directeur général at Hotel At Gare du Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Faubourg 216 - 224
#1,453 of 1,809 in Paris
92 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,623 of 1,809 in Paris
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Altona
#1,585 of 1,809 in Paris
715 reviews
Hotel Median Paris Congres
#1,370 of 1,809 in Paris
210 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,216 of 1,809 in Paris
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel At Gare du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel At Gare du Nord

Address: 10 rue Philippe de Girard, 75010 Paris, France (Formerly Timhotel Gare Du Nord)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,671 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel At Gare du Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Gare du Nord and the Gare de l'Est; this hotel has an internal garden and a bi-lingual staff; near museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel At Gare du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Hotel Paris
Timhotel Gare Du Nord Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing