We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Ranked #980 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Service and Location!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here as the last stop on our European Honeymoon. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and had an amazing bathroom with towel warmer. There was a closet area with drawers we could put our things in (and hang our nice clothes). The bed was comfortable and the sheets were soft. One interesting touch I noticed at the hotel was that the hallway lights were dimmed and were brightened when you came into the hallway. Very cozy!

The service was good. We had a few requests (bucket of ice, cheese knife, bottle opener) that the staff didn't hesitate to fulfill.

The hotel itself is on a quiet street, but within a very short walking distance to lots of action. Restaurants, shops, sights, etc., were all within an easy walk. There's also subway stops nearby that made getting to/from other areas in the city (and the airport!) quite easy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, especially as the hotel was clean and in a good area!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v_island_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed staying with us and we wish to seing you next year for cotton wedding anniversary !!!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    157
    43
    13
    16
See reviews for
61
191
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We checked into the hotel on May 12th.....the superior room we had booked was far less than superior....tiny, dark, one little chair, and NO place to put suitcases and barely any room to hang clothes, etc...we told them it was unacceptable to us so they moved us to what they called a Junior Suite.....which I think had been occupied by a staff member who had to be moved out so we could move in...it was OK...comfortable beds, a nice bath, large enough closet, etc.....breakfast room is cute and food was good, but in basement with no windows, etc...lobby is sparcely decorated and not ambient for sitting and relaxing...staff was fairly friendly and premises were clean...the best thing about this hotel is the location...close to beautiful Luxembourgh Gardens, restaurants, etc..unfortunately, despite this, we would not choose to stay there again....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelem149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Madam, Thank you for your review. We are sorry despite our team care in upgrading your room you did not fully appreciate your stay with us. As we can remember, we asked you to wait for checking in the Junior suite, not because of a staff member would be staying in (staff is not living in the hotel) but it needed to be vacate and duly ready for accommodating you. By the way, we are pleased you enjoyed the location. Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This 3 star hotel which cost 666 euros for 3 nights for a double room without breakfast is sadly in need of bringing into the 21st century. In the event of a fire it would be near impossible to get out with any speed, the lift can only take 2 persons at a time, the decor is dull and depressing and the lighting is so dim that you have to resort to holding reading material close to the nearest lamp. We have been to Paris several times and accept the French have a way and standards acceptable to them, but this hotel gives the impression of being very tired. The cost of this hotel reflects the cost of dining in the Paris restaurants.

Room Tip: Search for a better hotel, the only plus for this hotel is its location, which suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest;
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We do regret you did not appreciate it, We are planning works for improving the lighting. Unfortunately according to the 17th century building the lift cannot be extended. Your are right, Paris is not specially a "cheap" city and In spring or falls, rates are not as low as in low season but best deals are always available on our website.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was deeply disappointed by this hotel. I looked it up on Tripadvisor and went to it's website. The room had a rather obvious smell of old cigarette smoke. There were some items left behind by the housekeeping staff. In the bathroom there was very apparent mold around the shower stall foot area and up the sidewalls of the shower. There was a metal edge around the sink that appeared because all the grout had been warn away and had a rather rough finish upon which I caught myself more than once. The staff on the desk were good though and expect one person, a male, who seemed to be having a rather heated argument with someone on the reception telephone -- seemed to me to very unprofessional -- there was young lady who was extremely helpful. I couldn't help but notice that often there were old trolleys, delivery racks and numerous smoker in the little foyer making for a rather unappealing no-go area of the hotel. There was a general very tired and worn feeling to whole hotel. I cannot see us staying here again nor could I recommend this hotel when for the same money you can stay at much more accommodating hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMorris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time in reviewing your stay with us. We duly noticed your remarks, it will help us in improving our services. We wish you allow us the opportunity these improvements.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is close to Les Jardins du Luxembourg and is surrounded by great restaurants. You can get to most places by foot and the metro/RER and a number of bus routes are close by. I booked one of the flat access rooms on the courtyard but was dismayed to find it opened directly out onto a table and chairs in the smoking area, meaning that the room smelt of smoke and offered no privacy at all. The staff offered another room on the 4th floor which was fine so we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The bed was comfortable and the room had a large bathroom with a walk in shower. We like to sleep with the window open and there was a fair amount of noise from the street below but know that this is common in most hotels in this area. With the window closed, most of noise was shut out. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your kind review. As the all property is non smoking, the patio is the only place for smokers and we do apologize for the smoke smell in your room. We are glad you find a convenient alternative.
We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in this hotel. The rooms were a little small but from what I know all hotel rooms in Paris are and we didn't need the room for other than sleep and a bath really. The bathroom was EXTREMELY clean, and the rest of the room was very equaly attended. The staff were very kind and polite. The only thing we didn't like very much was the in-room orders (some cheese, wine and chocolate cake), they seemed a bit old and were given to us in plastic containers. Other than that, we had a really great stay in this hotel and I would probably stay again if I'm lucky to ever get to go to Paris again :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sophia,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are very proud you enjoyed it despite your disapointment on room service. We will contact our partner in charge in order to improve.
We look forward to welcoming you again, Athens is not so far !
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We were well looked after by the reception team prior to arrival including helping us book a vet for our dog before we left for the UK. The room was large for Paris at a reasonable price and the location is great. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fontaineslux, Gérant at Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Steven,
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you and the dog are fine and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#335 of 1,800 in Paris
576 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#805 of 1,800 in Paris
298 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#527 of 1,800 in Paris
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#280 of 1,800 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#498 of 1,800 in Paris
557 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
Hotel Trianon Rive Gauche
#712 of 1,800 in Paris
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg

Property: Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg
Address: 4 rue de Vaugirard | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#451 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#499 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
fontaines du Luxembourg offers, elegance, subtlety and friendliness in an ancient residence, transformed by King Louis XIV to house his grooms. From this flourishing age, the Hôtel Fontaines du Luxembourg has retained purity and calm with its indoor patio covered in Virginia creeper, around which our lounge, reception area and rooms are arranged.Return to the charm of the past at breakfast time. A generous buffet is offered in an authentic vaulted room dating from the 17th century, where a 12th century pillar from the fortified walls erected by Philippe Auguste still remains.The hotel enjoys a central location in the Saint Germain quarter and right off the Latin Quarter.Enjoy a drink in the lounge or in the patio. Room service is available daily, free wifi access, bathrobes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontaines du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luxembourg Paris
Luxembourg Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing