We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a must!”

French Mystique Bike Tours
Ranked #44 of 137 Outdoor Activities in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the only bike tour company in Paris offering biking day trips into the countryside near Paris. Get off the beaten path on a biking day trip from Paris to see beautiful chateaux and medieval towns, biking on quiet country roads through the rural French countryside and passing through charming, unknown centuries old villages. You can see major destinations such as Chartres, Provins and Monet's House and Gardens in Giverny among other destinations while also experiencing completely off the beaten path places that no other tourist (and many French people, including my wife) have ever seen. This is a totally unique biking experience. We also offer biking tours in Paris and all our Paris tours are custom tailored to our client's needs. There are no planned itineraries for our Paris tours so they are always unique. See the main tourist sites and attractions or go on an off the beaten path adventure and visit sites no other tourist sees. You can also do a mix of major sites and off the beaten path exploring. Whatever you choose your bike tour with us will be one of your most memorable experiences of your trip to Paris.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Keep aside 6 hours for this tour, and you will not be disappointed. We did not have 6 hours to spare, so Bruce cycled us through the streets of Paris and gave us an unforgettable tour, in 4. After reading about other cycle tours that cut through traffic lights, got shouted at by passers by, we realised why Bruce was different. His group size is small. Being very respectful of traffic rules, he is eduacting you all the time about signs to look out for. The best part was that the pace was ours, and we loved it.
We're hoping to rope in others to repeat this, that's how much we enoyed this tour. Do the usual touristy thing, this is after all Paris. But if you want to give yourself something totally different, chose French Mystique Bike Tours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A GREAT day trip away from Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

After several days of walking to the usual Parisian sites and museums, my girlfriend and I wanted an authentic look at the French countryside. We found EXACTLY what we were looking for on our bike tour through lower Normandy from Monet's farmhouse gardens in Giverny to the medieval castle and cathedral in Gisors. We will never forget the amazing, beautiful, pastoral farmlands we rode through on a beautiful summer day!

Bruce was a masterful host, with every detail worked out. He really does go over and above the level of service needed to ensure the guests are prepared for the trip - everything - your level of fitness, making sure we caught the correct trains, and preparing a DELICIOUS picnic lunch for us beside a beautiful old mill. Not only were we shepherded in a very enjoyable way through the beautiful countryside, we also learned some very interesting history along the way.

If you have a long enough stay in France near Paris, we HIGHLY recommend you invest in a day you will never forget!

Tim - San Marcos, Texas

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent day in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

After a few days at Eurodisney and walkabout in Paris we had planned for a day cycling with Bruce at French Mystique Bike Tours. It could not have been a better day! Relaxing pace, historical information and beautiful scenery, a super combination. The tour along the Marne river was well suited for families with children, ours are 10, 12 and 16.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Are S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The other paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had booked the Marne River tour but the weather was very iffy so Bruce offered a half day tour more locally. We asked for something off the beaten track and he accommodated us 100 percent. With Bruce leading the way, we rode comfortably through paris traffic and explored lesser known arrondisements and sights (including an Art Nouveau church - stunning). Then trails through Bois Vincennes , a large park on the outskirts of Paris, and a stop at the Chateau Vincennes, replete with a 12th century dungeon. I can't speak to the Marne River trip we didn't take, but I m happy to report that Bruce's alternative was a highlight of our trip and made us feel that we had seen a side of Paris that we would never otherwise have experienced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbara143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I just completed our bike tour with Bruce and it was our best day in Paris. Great communications before the trip, very informative website, Bruce called us while we were in the states and suggested we change dates because of the weather forecast (which made a huge difference) and everything was very well planned and organized. Riding through Paris during morning rush hour was a bit of an adventure but we made it safely and quickly to the train station and after an hour on the train we were touring the French countryside. We took the Fontainebleau tour which took us to a royal palace (crazy that we were able to walk the gardens without a single other tourist present - compared to Versailles which was wall to wall people). Neither my wife or I are avid bikers but Bruce did a good job describing the difficulty - I'd call it moderate - don't really need to be a great biker but it's a fairly good workout and it helps to at least be comfortable on a bike). I'd also recommend padded bike shorts since you'll be on your bike for about 4-6 hours. Bruce brought along lunch which we ate in front of yet another off the beaten path Chateau and in general the day was just a great experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Mystique Bike Tours also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to French Mystique Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing