We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
Ranked #147 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and all i cam say that its been marvelous. The receptionist were very helpful and accomodating. Room was top notch and clean. Breakfast was complete and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Guy named tej was very helpful and kind in all matters. We surely recommend a stay here

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ireem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

A last minute trawl through the usual websites resulted in this absolute gem. A great location, 150m from Rome metro (very useful for Montmatre) and 400m from Liege metro (anywhere central and for us direct to Montparnasse and the train home). A quiet street with a clarinet maker a few doors up and a violin maker a few more on the other side and of course a bow maker a few doors down. The reception is smart with clean lines that gives way to an equally smart seating area and access through to the breakfasting room where during the afternoon soft drinks/tea, coffee and snacks are there to help yourself. The staff are very pleasant and calm which by Parisian experiences is a first, unless of course ones paying the price of the George V which we're not. The lift is small but efficient and like everything else here very clean. The staircase is traditional with new wooden boards and a delightfully mad carpet. Our room was at the top on the 5th floor with a small balcony on to the street below, not a big room but again by Parisian standards it was bigger than most and CLEAN. The fittings are modern with a hint of slightly "off the wall" but again all done very nicely. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower, not the greatest of water pressures but adequate, the toiletries were of a good quality and towels were replaced every day even if we hung them up. Breakfast was of very good quality all buffet style but minded over by a charming and discrete gentleman. Coffee, hot milk, juices, teas, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, croissant, pain/chocolat and a variety of breads including a whole grain pumpernickel type rye bread and baguette, but not your usual cheaper standard moulee, this was "tradition". Who could complain at that? Throw in free wifi throughout the hotel and the ability to leave luggage both before check in and after check out and you have what I would say is one of the best set ups in a hotel pretty much anywhere never mind Paris. And the price? 90 Euro a night for two all in. I understand there are a number of hotels in this portfolio and they are getting equally good reviews, somebody somewhere is doing something right. After many years of hit and miss with hotels in the French capital maybe we have finally found our perfect spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysinbeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just stayed in Astoria Opera. Great hotel, great service, very good location - walking distance to the train station for a trip to Versailles, and one minute to the Rome metro station - easy access anywhere. Perfect service, delicious food. Coffee, tea, juices, and light snacks from 1pm till 7 pm every day. The room was small but very functional. The level of noise was higher than perfect, but this was not a big deal for us. The window overlooked a well with very little natural light, but one of the walls was a pretty picture of Eiffel Tour, so you can't get upset about the lack of light with this nice touch. Modern style - really very stylish and cute. One warning - please do not use AOT Transport shuttle they book. Our experience was horrible. The driver was insisting on taking us to the wrong airport, then appealed to the front desk and they confirmed they ordered Orly for us (which was also on the voucher), but the driver was literally angry and was yelling at us. He did not help us to put luggage in the car and insisted that both of us sit in front next two him in two kids' size seats though the minivan was empty. He drove us somewhere for 15 minutes, then parked his minivan in a obviously unsafe area, locked us in the car without saying a word and left for 20 minutes. We were scared but finally he came back - he was collecting people in other hotels, he just did not bother to say a word to us why he was leaving. Then, he drove us for over an hour around the area collecting people from other hotels. In 55 minutes, we passed our hotel where we started the trip. I told him that we have a plane and we cannot drive around in circles for an hour and need to get in the airport, so he started shouting at us and wanted us to get out of the shuttle and get a cab. I said that I will but I want my money back. Of course, he was not interested in this option. Horrible experience. I've taken shuttles a few times without issues, normally it takes 15-30 minutes to collect everyone, but never such an awful experience with a rude agitated driver who does not know which airport we requested.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel situated between opera and montmartre. Clean, care and service are the most important object! ADVISED ! The breakfast is very rich, and in the afternoon there's also a little happy hour. The rooms are confortables altough the bathrooms aren't big.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Robby_Onee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Despite its name, the hotel is around a mile away from the Opéra, but just a few steps from the Rome métro station. For those who like to walk, Sacré-Cœur, Arc de Triomphe and Place Vendôme are all reachable in half an hour or so. The hotel has a modern style, a nice entrance and a large common area with an open bar serving free snacks and soft drinks throughout the day. My room (#426) was tiny, as in line with Paris standards, but well appointed. Personnel was nice and helpful. All in all an excellent deal.
As a side note, beware of the unreliable Tokeda shuttle service proposed by the hotel. My transfer was over 30 minutes late, and took numerous reminder calls by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrapAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great hotel, great location! The staff was extremely polite and welcoming. Drinks were available at any time for free (coffee, soft drinks, tea). The room was not massive and more hanging space would have been useful. However the design was excellent, everything was very clean (much appreciated in Paris) and we could not hear any noise from the street! Eventually I would like to mention that the breakfast was divine: fresh orange juice, lovely pastries, eggs and bacon! I would definitely recommend the Palm Astoria! Thank you so much for contributing to a great stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerem2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My friend and I stayed here while traveling to Paris for a weekend and we couldn't be happier. The hotel was extremely nice for the price we paid and only a short walk for the Rome Metro! Breakfast was included and very good with a nice selection of bread, cheeses, cereal, meats, yogurt and coffee. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Paris - we loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#90 of 1,803 in Paris
663 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#114 of 1,803 in Paris
1,315 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#165 of 1,803 in Paris
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Augustin - Astotel
#46 of 1,803 in Paris
806 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#58 of 1,803 in Paris
2,449 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#92 of 1,803 in Paris
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria - Astotel

Address: 42 Rue de Moscou | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £84 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a quiet street between Opera and major department stores , a short walk from the Gare Saint Lazare, close to Rome station, the Astoria Opera Hotel sits in a central location with direct access to the Champs Elysees - within 10 minutes via Metro, or to the picturesque neighborhood of Montmartre. Our professional and caring staff will welcome you in our cozy lobby, fitted with comfortable leather sofas. Our 86 rooms are decorated with warm colours and contemporary furnishings. They are all carpeted, equipped with satellite TV and feature a private bathroom with hairdryer. This welcoming and cozy atmosphere is intended to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing