We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trying too hard with boutique feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
Ranked #133 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trying too hard with boutique feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel was very small. I understand we are in Europe but this place was really small, including elevators and hallway. Hold on to the rails when walking up the stairs. The stairs are tilting sideways, some reconstruction needed soon. We liked the towel warmer in the bathroom. Breakfast was good. We stayed here for four days. Wait staff were very caring and friendly. Concierge staff okay. Location was okay, near the Rome Metro so you can get around Paris somewhat decently. However, I was told by a local that this area is near the "prostitutes" so hold on to your husband, ladies. LOL!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    366
    48
    4
    3
See reviews for
183
435
51
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and all i cam say that its been marvelous. The receptionist were very helpful and accomodating. Room was top notch and clean. Breakfast was complete and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Guy named tej was very helpful and kind in all matters. We surely recommend a stay here

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beganne, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A last minute trawl through the usual websites resulted in this absolute gem. A great location, 150m from Rome metro (very useful for Montmatre) and 400m from Liege metro (anywhere central and for us direct to Montparnasse and the train home). A quiet street with a clarinet maker a few doors up and a violin maker a few more on the other side and of course a bow maker a few doors down. The reception is smart with clean lines that gives way to an equally smart seating area and access through to the breakfasting room where during the afternoon soft drinks/tea, coffee and snacks are there to help yourself. The staff are very pleasant and calm which by Parisian experiences is a first, unless of course ones paying the price of the George V which we're not. The lift is small but efficient and like everything else here very clean. The staircase is traditional with new wooden boards and a delightfully mad carpet. Our room was at the top on the 5th floor with a small balcony on to the street below, not a big room but again by Parisian standards it was bigger than most and CLEAN. The fittings are modern with a hint of slightly "off the wall" but again all done very nicely. The bathroom had a bath with overhead shower, not the greatest of water pressures but adequate, the toiletries were of a good quality and towels were replaced every day even if we hung them up. Breakfast was of very good quality all buffet style but minded over by a charming and discrete gentleman. Coffee, hot milk, juices, teas, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, croissant, pain/chocolat and a variety of breads including a whole grain pumpernickel type rye bread and baguette, but not your usual cheaper standard moulee, this was "tradition". Who could complain at that? Throw in free wifi throughout the hotel and the ability to leave luggage both before check in and after check out and you have what I would say is one of the best set ups in a hotel pretty much anywhere never mind Paris. And the price? 90 Euro a night for two all in. I understand there are a number of hotels in this portfolio and they are getting equally good reviews, somebody somewhere is doing something right. After many years of hit and miss with hotels in the French capital maybe we have finally found our perfect spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysinbeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just stayed in Astoria Opera. Great hotel, great service, very good location - walking distance to the train station for a trip to Versailles, and one minute to the Rome metro station - easy access anywhere. Perfect service, delicious food. Coffee, tea, juices, and light snacks from 1pm till 7 pm every day. The room was small but very functional. The level of noise was higher than perfect, but this was not a big deal for us. The window overlooked a well with very little natural light, but one of the walls was a pretty picture of Eiffel Tour, so you can't get upset about the lack of light with this nice touch. Modern style - really very stylish and cute. One warning - please do not use AOT Transport shuttle they book. Our experience was horrible. The driver was insisting on taking us to the wrong airport, then appealed to the front desk and they confirmed they ordered Orly for us (which was also on the voucher), but the driver was literally angry and was yelling at us. He did not help us to put luggage in the car and insisted that both of us sit in front next two him in two kids' size seats though the minivan was empty. He drove us somewhere for 15 minutes, then parked his minivan in a obviously unsafe area, locked us in the car without saying a word and left for 20 minutes. We were scared but finally he came back - he was collecting people in other hotels, he just did not bother to say a word to us why he was leaving. Then, he drove us for over an hour around the area collecting people from other hotels. In 55 minutes, we passed our hotel where we started the trip. I told him that we have a plane and we cannot drive around in circles for an hour and need to get in the airport, so he started shouting at us and wanted us to get out of the shuttle and get a cab. I said that I will but I want my money back. Of course, he was not interested in this option. Horrible experience. I've taken shuttles a few times without issues, normally it takes 15-30 minutes to collect everyone, but never such an awful experience with a rude agitated driver who does not know which airport we requested.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that overlooks breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel situated between opera and montmartre. Clean, care and service are the most important object! ADVISED ! The breakfast is very rich, and in the afternoon there's also a little happy hour. The rooms are confortables altough the bathrooms aren't big.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robby_Onee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Despite its name, the hotel is around a mile away from the Opéra, but just a few steps from the Rome métro station. For those who like to walk, Sacré-Cœur, Arc de Triomphe and Place Vendôme are all reachable in half an hour or so. The hotel has a modern style, a nice entrance and a large common area with an open bar serving free snacks and soft drinks throughout the day. My room (#426) was tiny, as in line with Paris standards, but well appointed. Personnel was nice and helpful. All in all an excellent deal.
As a side note, beware of the unreliable Tokeda shuttle service proposed by the hotel. My transfer was over 30 minutes late, and took numerous reminder calls by the hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrapAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great hotel, great location! The staff was extremely polite and welcoming. Drinks were available at any time for free (coffee, soft drinks, tea). The room was not massive and more hanging space would have been useful. However the design was excellent, everything was very clean (much appreciated in Paris) and we could not hear any noise from the street! Eventually I would like to mention that the breakfast was divine: fresh orange juice, lovely pastries, eggs and bacon! I would definitely recommend the Palm Astoria! Thank you so much for contributing to a great stay in Paris.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerem2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
Hotel Monterosa - Astotel
#141 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
Hotel Acadia - Astotel
#217 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#99 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria - Astotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria - Astotel

Property: Hotel Astoria - Astotel
Address: 42 rue de Moscou | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria - Astotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a quiet street between Opera and major department stores , a short walk from the Gare Saint Lazare, close to Rome station, the Astoria Opera Hotel sits in a central location with direct access to the Champs Elysees - within 10 minutes via Metro, or to the picturesque neighborhood of Montmartre. Our professional and caring staff will welcome you in our cozy lobby, fitted with comfortable leather sofas. Our 86 rooms are decorated with warm colours and contemporary furnishings. They are all carpeted, equipped with satellite TV and feature a private bathroom with hairdryer. This welcoming and cozy atmosphere is intended to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria - Astotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing