We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit- and we'd stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #406 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Return visit- and we'd stay again!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is my second review for this hotel. We visited here almost exactly a year ago. Again, we were satisfied. The location on Rue du Rennes is quite central and easily accessed by metro (Montparnasse or St Placide) there are shops and restaurants just outside the door. We found the desk staff to be quite friendly (although there was a mix up with our reservation on their end) we were given a room this time on the 6th floor on the back side of the building. It was quite nice and had a large operational window for fresh air. The rooms have a small fridge to keep your snacks/drinks cool.Rooms are fairly spacious and the bathrooms have been updated. Our arrangement included breakfast in the salon on the first floor. It was average, but filling, with a selection of pastries, meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee. We also congregate in this salon in the evening after work. We enjoy this small hotel ( just 7 rooms per floor) and it makes a nice home base for our group,
here on business, and a few sightseers. There is a central spiraled staircase in this hotel ,but thankfully, there is a small elevator, as well.
We would be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to put a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its central location.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    237
    90
    15
    14
See reviews for
78
275
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose this hotel over a cheaper one thinking we were "treating" ourselves, and we were therefore very disappointed when we first came to the hotel and saw the common areas and our room (pictures lie..). Everything seemed quite dirty, and one could clearly see there were a lot of "quick fixes" when renovating (crooked walls, a "hole" around the pipes in the bathroom ceiling) and, worst of all, a distinct smell of cigarette smoke coming in through the air system (not pleasant for a poor guy with asthma and allergies).

However, when our expectations were adjusted, it was OK. Nothing more nothing less. The staff was nice. And the location great, just a short walk away from several metro lines.

Will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mialita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment.

We are sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Royal Saint Germain.

Cleaning is our prority. We agree with you, it is unacceptable for an hotel like ours. In that kind of situation, don't hesitate to call the reception and ask to change your room. It will be a pleasure for them to help you.

It is forbidden to smoke in our hotel. Each room is eqquiped with a smoke dector. Unfortunately we don't know if someone is smoking in our rooms.
We are sincerely sorry for this inconvenience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel was easily accessible from St. Placide Metro Station. On arrival we were greeted in a friendly manor and informed of when and where breakfast was. The hotel was clean and well decorated - our room particularly pink! The towels were changed when needed. The staff were extremely helpful. The continental breakfast was continually replenished. The pillows were the best I've slept on in any hotel and we slept extremely well (which may have something to do with the miles we walked and the fresh air!!)
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Saint Germain Hotel for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to send us a comment.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that it was up to your expectations.

Service is one of our priority, we are pleased to learn that our staff offers you a good service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed 5 nights in Aug '13 with my girlfriend. For the price, you will not find a hotel offering better location, quality and service than this one!!

Rooms were lovely, well sized and clean.

The service from the staff at the front desk was fantastic.


Breakfast is good for "continental" European style.

The hotel is located on Rue de Rennes, close walking distance to the middle of Paris (1 arrondissement) and is surrounded by lovely shops and affordable restaurants. The Montparnasse station close by provides super easy access to Versailles, too.

Only negative about the property - the walls were quite thin as we were occasionally woken by screaming kids on lower levels, but kids will be kids and when on holiday these things can happen!

We look forward to returning to Hotel Royal Saint Germain.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Location of this hotel is great! Close to 2 Metros to get you everywhere. Allen the concierge is wonderful. However. . We stayed one night on the 4th floor facing Rennes. Yes.. you hear the road noise and sirens. We then checked out to drive overnight to Normandy and Mt. Saint Michael. They held our luggage no problem! When we checked back in for our other 2 nights, they gave us 1st floor room 18. I had read a review on room 14 and figured we were ok down the hall. No we were not. The noise on this floor is horrible! ! The walls are very thin in all rooms and on this particular floor is the breakfast room. And YES you hear it all!! We dealt with it because we were on such a short stay and didn't want to deal with moving everything again. The location by far is the best.. restaurants.. bakerys.. shopping.!! Grocery store.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joybritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband I and spent three nights here while on our honeymoon and I would absolutely stay here again. After reading other tripadvisor reviews I was terrified that the room would be horrifyingly small, but it was actually quite comfortable. No, it was not as big as your average American hotel room, but we had a good sized bed (I didn't measure it but it seemed to be a queen or close to it), a small desk and chair, a bench, and open shelving and place to hang coats just outside the bathroom. The bathroom was new and modern and the shower had good water pressure, unlike the other hotel where we stayed in France.

My one complaint was that the thermostat in our room didn't function properly and our room was very warm. We ended up sleeping with the window open one night (and it was 46 degrees outside). (And I should add, Rue de Rennes is a very busy street at all hours of the night and I was highly impressed at how much noise the window blocked out when actually closed.) The second time I complained to the staff they finally were able to reset the system and we got some air circulating in the room.

The location is excellent. Very close to two metro stops (and the lines we ended up using most often) and tons of shopping and restaurants. It's also a reasonable walk to the river, the Louvre, and Notre Dame. The staff was also friendly and helpful, and most spoke excellent English. Considering the price we paid I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Paris, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Know that we are sensitive to feedback from our customers to improve our services.
We are sincerely glad to hear that your experience was up to your expectations and our team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon among us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice neighborhood on the Left Bank. About a 15-20 minute walk to the River up Rue de Rennes. Paris hotels of this quality were mostly out of our price range, so we were willing to stay a littler further from where we wanted. However, it was a short walk to transportation. Room was very small, but there was a lounge/breakfast area where you could relax if needed. We were not in the room much, and the only negative was this was not convenient to stop at mid-day for a break. The WiFi was a bit weak, but worked when we needed it to. Would look to stay here again if our budget is limited again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Directeur général at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Paris, and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Know that we are sensitive to feedback from our customers to improve our services.
We are sincerely glad to hear that your experience was up to your expectations and our team.

We look forward to welcoming you soon,

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#195 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#383 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#628 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Mayet
Hotel Mayet
#746 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing