We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #464 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Stephentown, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Access to busses and metro are right out the door. Many choices of foods and bakeries surround it. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and nice. Breakfast a little steep but good. We were here in April 2014 and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Pita9056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the location of it.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Royal Saint Germain Hotel during your next stay in Paris.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    244
    91
    16
    15
See reviews for
81
279
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I took a late honeymoon to Paris, Nice, Florence and Rome. This review is for our 5 night stay at the Royal Saint Germain in Paris. To compare fairness, you can see my reviews of Hotel Ellington in Nice, Hotel River in Florence, and Hotel Bailey's in Rome.

First, we arrived in Paris at 6:30 am (1:30 am EST). We had a nightmare getting our shuttle (ParisShuttle) to come. It arrived at the airport by roughly 9:30 am...3 hours waiting at the airport! (No fault of the hotel, mind you...no negatives yet.) It then took 2 hours to reach our hotel from the airport, because apparently the Chinese President was in town. (Still no negatives to the hotel)

11:30am - We arrive at the hotel...exhausted. Now...of course we are early for Hotel Check-in (2:00 pm) but kindly, Alan, the check-in clerk, allowed us to keep our bags while we waited / explored the area. I'm a zombie at this point, since I've been awake for 24 hours.

01:40pm - we get back to the hotel. Alan says it will be 20 minutes until we can get in to our room. And he meant it. He made us wait until exactly 2:00 pm to check in. Highly annoying at the time with no sleep, but I really don't knock them too much at this point.

02:00pm - To the room! The elevator is small, had to make two trips...no biggie. Get to the room. It's small, as most in Europe are. No surprise. The double/queen bed was actually two singles pushed together, which wouldn't have been a big deal, except that they weren't attached and rolled VERY easily, allowing to fall in between often. The bathroom was larger than I expected, though the shower was laid out strange.

The small glass kept very little water in the shower area. Not a big deal.
The rain shower head was broken and surged water everywhere except on your head, so we had to use the handheld...not a big deal.
AC did not work...this sucked after walking around up and down stairs for 10 - 14 hours a day. Had to open windows.
Minimal TV in English or Spanish- BBC, CNN, CNBC and Euronews.
Breakfast was continental, no eggs (except hard boiled), but had a decent selection.

So as far as the hotel goes, as others said, it is a good value. Nothing to be impressed by, however.

Now, the service...that's another story. Alan is the stereotypical rude Frenchman/Parisian. The first day, he was sort of helpful, but cool. Each day after, he was became successively meaner. As an example...my wife asked him the best way to get to Notre Dame. (My wife is Venezuelan and speaks Spanish, of course, English and French, albeit a bit rusty)

Alan - "Bus 96."

My wife - "OK, but how do we get there?"

Alan, slightly annoyed - "Bus 96."

My wife, puzzled, asks - "Yes, but where is that?"

Alan, nastily with a huff - "Bus 96! On the Street!"

At this point I had rounded the corner and said - "Forget about Bus 96, we'll take the Metro, we know it."

As we walk away, Alan says in a much sweeter tone, "Bus 96. Go outside to your left just in front of McDonalds"

Hmmm...wouldn't it have been easier to say THAT in the first place, jack@$$!?! We don't know the bus routes? We don't even know how to pay for it, there is no machines like the Metro. Ugh! He really ticked me off. The other concierges were better, but all were cool. No warmth from ANYONE in Paris, except my wife's friends that live there...but...then again, they're actually Portuguese.

Room Tip: I really have no tips, as we found nothing exceptional. It's not a bad place to stay, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjkelly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a small but friendly hotel in a great location in Paris. The price was just fine, given the location. It has been nicely refurbished, the room was spotlessly clean with high quality fittings and soft furnishings. Although there were tea and coffee making facilities, oddly, no milk in either liquid or powder form, was provided.

The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us the experience that you had in our hotel.

We are delighted to know that your stay was up to your expectations.

Don't hesitate to call the reception if you need something. It will be a pleasure to give you what you need.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

As you can see from the title, this hotel has a trully excellent location, but hotel itself is really nothing special, typical three stars hotel, with a room size that barely reaches the three stars standard. I was in hotel in March 2014, on a business trip.
First about location, it's really great, practically in the courtyard of Montparnasse tower, in very lively street with lot of restaurants, shops... Eiffel Tower is about 45 minutes walk, Louvre is 20 minutes of a wonderful walk far (so the Seine also), and Latin Quarter is 10 min from Louvre. So some of the major amenities are really close.
Regarding hotel, hotel lobby is that small it practically doesn't exsist. My room was also really small, although it has really nice bathroom. In room you don't have classic wardrobe with doors, but with curtain, and inside that wardrobe/curtain is safe as usual, and as a surprise - minibar! Throug the walls you can hear practically everything.

Breakfast is ok, with all kinds of fruit, cereals, bread, pastries, ham, cheesee tea, coffee... nothing special, but in case you're not too picky you definitely won't be hungry.

I have to praise hotel staff, they were really friendly and helpful, and they, along with the location, deserved rating "very good" for the hotel. Athough, if I had to pay the hotel (instead of my company), the rating would probably be "average" :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing with us your comment about the experience that you had in our hotel.

We are pleased to know taht you enjoyed the location of our hotel.

Our rooms and our bathroom have a normal size for an hotel like ours in Paris.We have bigger rooms: the executive one. Don't hesitate to book one of them for your next stay in Paris.

Service is one of our priority, we are pleased to know that our staff offers you a good service.

We hope to have the plesure to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is located near the metrostation Montparnasse on Rue de Rennes. We took we RER train to Port Royal from CDG and walked for about 10min to the hotell. The location of the hotel is grat, you have a lot of stores right outside the hotel inc Zara, H&M and so on. The hotel is small but cosy, the lobby is really small. The check in and check out went really smooth. We had prepaid the hotel through booking.com. The elavator was small but good enough for 2 people. The room was located og 5th floor with a french balcony facing the inner yard. Really qiuet, we could have the window open all night, not a sound! Guess it would be a little more noise if you have a room facing the mail street so be sure to ask for a room facing the yard. The room was all pink, great bed, I sleept really good in it. The bathroom was fresh and nice.

I only have to minus really.
- The cleaning could get a little bit better. It was not completley clean and there actually was some kind of read spot (blood?) on our bedsheets when we arrived. Thats not so nice.
- The shower was really god except you could not close is, wich lead to alot of water on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sessish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your comment about the experience that you had in our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that it was up to your expectations.

In contrast, don't hesitate to call the reception when you have any problem. it will be a pleasure for them to help you! They can change your room!

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is my second review for this hotel. We visited here almost exactly a year ago. Again, we were satisfied. The location on Rue du Rennes is quite central and easily accessed by metro (Montparnasse or St Placide) there are shops and restaurants just outside the door. We found the desk staff to be quite friendly (although there was a mix up with our reservation on their end) we were given a room this time on the 6th floor on the back side of the building. It was quite nice and had a large operational window for fresh air. The rooms have a small fridge to keep your snacks/drinks cool.Rooms are fairly spacious and the bathrooms have been updated. Our arrangement included breakfast in the salon on the first floor. It was average, but filling, with a selection of pastries, meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee. We also congregate in this salon in the evening after work. We enjoy this small hotel ( just 7 rooms per floor) and it makes a nice home base for our group,
here on business, and a few sightseers. There is a central spiraled staircase in this hotel ,but thankfully, there is a small elevator, as well.
We would be back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 27 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to put a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its central location.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose this hotel over a cheaper one thinking we were "treating" ourselves, and we were therefore very disappointed when we first came to the hotel and saw the common areas and our room (pictures lie..). Everything seemed quite dirty, and one could clearly see there were a lot of "quick fixes" when renovating (crooked walls, a "hole" around the pipes in the bathroom ceiling) and, worst of all, a distinct smell of cigarette smoke coming in through the air system (not pleasant for a poor guy with asthma and allergies).

However, when our expectations were adjusted, it was OK. Nothing more nothing less. The staff was nice. And the location great, just a short walk away from several metro lines.

Will not stay here next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mialita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 5 March 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment.

We are sincerely sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Royal Saint Germain.

Cleaning is our prority. We agree with you, it is unacceptable for an hotel like ours. In that kind of situation, don't hesitate to call the reception and ask to change your room. It will be a pleasure for them to help you.

It is forbidden to smoke in our hotel. Each room is eqquiped with a smoke dector. Unfortunately we don't know if someone is smoking in our rooms.
We are sincerely sorry for this inconvenience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#165 of 1,801 in Paris
693 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#185 of 1,801 in Paris
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#134 of 1,801 in Paris
506 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#212 of 1,801 in Paris
793 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#389 of 1,801 in Paris
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing