We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy honeymoon at quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Ranked #475 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy honeymoon at quaint hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I stayed here for a week in July. We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Walk to metro was 2 mins. And had number of cafés, bistros and markets nearby.
We had a blast at The Royal-st germain and were happy to spend our first week as a married couple at this lovely boutique hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpubs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that your enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.

Sincerely Yours,

Solène, Customers Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    245
    92
    16
    15
See reviews for
82
280
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Royal Saint Germain is a small, recently renovated hotel just next to metro stations. Room that I had was rather small, but it was clean, modern and everything functioned. I had a room from the 6th floor and it was nice to be at the rooftop level. Receptionist spoke excellent English and all in all I have only positive things to say about this hotel. I didn't try the Breakfast, since it is nice to go out and have breakfast somewhere else. Possibilities are plenty and connections are good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPekkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and writing a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay in our hotel.

Rooms have a normal size for an hotel like ours in Paris. Next time, if you wish, you can book an executive room which is bigger than the superior room.

We hope to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.

Yours Sincerely,

Solène, Customers Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I recently booked this hotel for two nights after reading the fantastic reviews about the hotel.

I have to say I cannot see the massive appeal to this hotel, it is pretty average at best!

However, on arrival the rooms are pretty average, beds were comfy but the curtains in the room were not big enough for the windows and there wasn't a bath plug. The halls were full of laundry bags for the two days we were there. The rooms were cleaned daily.

The staff at the hotel seemed pleasant and polite.

Location wise, it is on a street that is deserted at night. It's a 10 minute walk to the Luxembourg gardens and about a 30 minute walk to the Louvre.

Whilst in Paris I booked two hotels, this was the first and the second hotel was next to the Latin quarter. The Latin quarter is fantastic and I would recommend this location to anyone travelling to Paris. It has great restaurants and coffee shops that are accessible. A much better location than this hotel in my opinion.

Overall, the pictures and reviews of this hotel are misleading in my opinion, however it's ok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Prime85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the taime to send your comment.

We are sorry that your stay was'nt up to your expectations.
Rooms have a normal size for an hotel like ours in Paris. We have bigger room: the Executive one. Don't hesitate to book this kind of room for your next stay in Paris.
We are sorry for this inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently went to Paris to enjoy the sights and to go see the French Open. This hotel is in walking distance from any of the metros and RER's. Easily able to go to Versailles and the French Open. Walked to the Eiffel Tower and plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The hotel was spacious for European standards and the staff impeccably friendly and kind. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Breakfast available but not included in our bill. The beds were 2 twin beds put together. Might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to put a commment on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you ejoyed your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during your next stay in Paris.

Yours faithfully,

Solène, Customers Relationship Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrópolis
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Close to Jardin de Louxembourg, a few squares from Saint Gremain, the location is good. People friendly and very clean rooms. They are small but confortable. The breackfast is very honest for the price.

Room Tip: There are diferente rooms. Some have bath tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogério E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing whith us your comment about the experience that you had in our hotel.

We are delighted to know that your stay was up to your expectations.

The cleaning and the service are our priority! We will share your comment with our staff. It will be a pleasure for them to read your comment.
Rooms in an hotel like ours have a normal size. We have bigger room: the Executive one. D'ont hesitate to ask for that kind of room next time.

We would like to thank you again for your comment.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at eh Royal Saint Germain Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed five nights. Excellent, helpful staff (except see below re one minor item). A very convenient lounge (where they serve breakfast) where my colleagues and I could bring wine and cheese and snacks and relax at the end of the day before going out for dinner. Excellent location there in the 6th arrondissement a two minute walk to Montparnasse (and the Metro)--what people think of when they think of Paris--beautiful architecture, sidewalk cafes and restaurants, shops, also monoprix-type minimarts, wine stores, etc. My room on the 5th floor had a small balcony one could go out on with a glass of wine. (But my colleagues, who were directly below, did not.) Perfect for May, when I went there for a university conference. In January I had stayed a week in Paris for work and was installed in a slightly more upscale hotel a short walk from the Arc de Triomphe. I like the Hotel Royal and its neighborhood much better.

Being a 3-star hotel in the middle of Paris, the rooms are cramped (yet hardly inexpensive). Hard to navigate around the two twin beds in my room. But, as I was reminded by other reviews, there was indeed a nice little wardrobe/closet with useful shelves and hangers. The bathroom was modern, yes, but not too well installed. The shower head fell off and I had to re-screw it on, not totally successfully since I had no tools. I had reported it was loose, two different staff members made notes about it but no one from the hotel ever did anything about it. Since it worked passably I let it go, mostly because the staff were otherwise so stellar.

Room Tip: I was in room 54 which had a lovely little balcony one could go out on. But my colleagues in 44 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msafiri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Royal Saint Germain hotel for your stay and for taking the time to put a comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that your stay was up to your expectations.
Rooms have a normal size for an hotel like ours in Paris. The Executive rooms are our bigger rooms. Don't hesitate to book one of them for your next stay in Paris.

Service is our priority. We are really sorry regarding the inconvenience that you had with the shower. It will never happen again.

However, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in Paris during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Hotel staff were nice. Rooms were a little small but the closets were huge. Our friends had the penthouse and the view of Paris was amazing. My room had the street view and Monoprix was next to the hotel. My room also had a huge window that you can open and look outside the street. Overral we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallylta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalstGermain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Royal Saint Germain, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sending your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Paris especially in our hotel and the location.
The room size meet the Parisian norms. We have bigger rooms: the Executive one. Don't hesitate to ask for one of them during your next booking.

We would like to hank you again for your comment.

Yours sincerely,

Solène, customers relationship manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Best Western Aramis Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#185 of 1,800 in Paris
1,119 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#169 of 1,800 in Paris
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#143 of 1,800 in Paris
511 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#335 of 1,800 in Paris
576 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#208 of 1,800 in Paris
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Royal Saint Germain
Address: 159 rue de Rennes, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#382 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#493 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Saint-Germain is perfectly located in the heart of Paris-Left bank between Saint-Germain-des-Pres and Montparnasse, a few steps away from Luxembourg garden and the Latin Quarter. Our 44 personalized and comfortable rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with a free access WIFI. Our superior rooms were entirely renovated in 2008 to offer you even more charm and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Saint Germain Hotel
Royal Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing