We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Ranked #356 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and great location”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was in this hotel with my friends ... we loved it!
The room was really nice and very clean ... the bathroom maybe a little small but very functional. The clothes was changed every day and was always clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful to us guests.
The area where the hotel is located is central well is reached with the metro and the neighborhood is very quiet.
I will certainly be recommending to friends and family and if I return to Paris will definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faby198585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    527
    137
    34
    27
See reviews for
430
283
48
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in a family room in this hotel in Jan 2014 and we loved it. We were 2 adults and 2 small kids and the room was perfect. It was spacious "for Paris" as the kids kept saying. The hotel staff were lovely, breakfast was perfect for us each morning and we could not fault the location for sightseeing and also for major transport connections. In our experience, the pictures online match the quality of our room. I would stay at this hotel again and would happily recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and this was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel was really bad. It was small, and the door to our bathroom was broken, besides that the room was really dark, and the lighting was almost non existing, one of the lamps were broke as well. To go to our room, we had to take a elevator in another building, to a small dark hall, with led lights. The hotel staff was not helpful, and we are definitely not going to stay at this hotel again. There are several, much better and cosier hotels in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBOIS145, Propriétaire at Hotel Excelsior Latin, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We wonder if this comment concerns the Hotel Excelsior Latin since we have no record regarding a broken door in a bathroom. beside this you leave your comment 9 months after your stay.
And finally, you consider our location as "horrible" with a 1/5, and the latin quarter is considered as one of the best place in Paris !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel is very well located: close to everything: metro, bus, RER, the splendid Musée de Cluny and the Pantheon, the Sorbonne and Gibert Joseph bookstore! The rooms are clean and charming. The breakfast is great - croissants and baguettes are baked in the morning in the hotel so everything is crispy and delicious. Yet the most remarkable thing is the customer service. Everyone was very polite and very hospitable Our group had problems with luggage at the airport, the hotel staff helped us to call the airline to find our lost luggage. If we had questions, everyone at the front desk was knowledgeable and willing to help at any time of the day!
It was a real pleasure to be so well received in the heart of Paris for a good price! We will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Linens and beds were great: very comfortable and the cotton felt great after running around all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very pleasant hotel. Staff extremely friendly. Rooms fairly basic but clean, comfortable and a good size. Good location yet quiet situation. Near Pantheon, Luxenbourg Gardens and a couple of Metro stations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 512MrQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I usually select 3 or 4 star hotels, but on this trip, we decided to go 2 star because we knew we would only use the hotel for sleep. We noted that it was refurbished however, and crossed fingers as we booked.

1. Location - excellent. RER and metro around the corner, other stations within 10 mins walk. 1000's of restaurants within 5-10 mins walk. Luxemburg Gardens literally around the corner (acres of park land, kid's playground, absolutely serene before Paris wakes up, great place to let kids run wild). The hotel's location is quiet.

2. Reception - typical of 2 star - a tiny entry and somebody behind a desk. Very friendly staff though. When we had issues with our first room, they were VERY accommodating, and provided an alternate room the next morning.

3. Rooms - we had the experience of two rooms, and both were huge (there were three of us in triple room). The first room was a refurbished room, and really it was 3 star. The decor was nice, the beds comfortable, the bathroom was refurbished and the whole place was clean and immaculate. The issues I had with this room:
a. the one window in the room looked out to the other rooms within the hotel (it was a courtyard room, and it looked out to rooms across the courtyard). so we had the curtain open to let natural light in. However, at one point my son was standing at the window, and he said "oh look mummy there is a man without clothes on over there and he is waving at me." The curtain remained shut after that.
b. the bathroom. All the finishes were new, too bad about the size. It was so narrow, that you couldn't sit on the loo without your knees right up against the opposite wall. I was the only one with issues on this (it didn't bother my husband (laid back) or son (short) at all). But I couldn't stand a whole week of this, so I asked for a different room.

The second room was also huge, but not refurbished and it looked it. However, it had two huge windows which faced the street. So when I opened the windows, I saw and heard Paris and that was exactly what I wanted. There was plenty of natural light, and the apartments across the road were sufficiently far away so as open windows were not intrusive on anybody's privacy. It was a quiet street and we didn't notice any noise over night. The great thing about this room was that the toilet room was separate from the bathroom and so much more efficient when you have 3 people sharing. The only issue with this room was the mouldy smell in the bathroom. The room was clean as far as I could see - there wasn't any mould about - but the smell. My husband couldn't believe that I had swapped a newly refurbished room for this, but the bigger bathroom and the sight of paris made up for the smell in the bathroom - just.

4. Room amenities - note that the rooms do not have bar fridge, kettle, cups etc. There is a coffee machine in the reception room, for which you pay if you do not have daily breakfast paid at the hotel.

I think if the second room was refurbished, sans mouldy smell, I would have given this hotel a rating of 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room facing the street. If you can afford it, go for a triple room - huge by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great hotel. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable. A simple breakfast is available, and comes with free refills on coffee and juice. Location is great. Close to the Luxembourg Gardens (1 min), Pantheon (1 min) and Notre Dame (5-10 mins). Less than 5 mins to a few different metro stops. Also, less than a 5 minute walk to Rue Mouffetard (a great street with lots of restaurants, cafes and shops). The hotel is right off a major road, so it's close to anything you need, yet quiet at night for a good night's sleep. Good, free wi-fi. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#281 of 1,800 in Paris
1,304 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#177 of 1,800 in Paris
997 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#655 of 1,800 in Paris
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#347 of 1,800 in Paris
574 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#84 of 1,800 in Paris
1,154 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#302 of 1,800 in Paris
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Latin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Latin

Property: Hotel Excelsior Latin
Address: 20 rue Cujas | Latin Quarter, 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#214 Family Hotel in Paris
#576 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Latin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel located in the heart of the Latin Quarter offers spacious rooms which can accomodate up to 5 persons. All the rooms have bathroom, air conditioning and free wifi access. The Pantheon, the Luxembourg Garden and Notre Dame are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Latin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Latin Hotel
Excelsior Latin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing