We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong room, teeny and dark, Nice location, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Ranked #107 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
339 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Wrong room, teeny and dark, Nice location, good service”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hard review to write.

i HATE showing up on the first day and right away there is a glitch, I specifically paid for and asked for a luxury room with views, Confirmed. When we got there there were none left.

They took us to a DARK Attic, with no real windows-- just a tiney one in the slaneted ceitling. No view, no light, no sun. They said it was a "suite"!! one room but with a larger bath and closet does not a suite make.

Other than this, service was nice

Excellent location in a nice part of the 6th, close to everything,

What do I mean by small? 2 people can't fit in the hallways. The maid has to pull the cart into a room so you can pass. You can't open the window (like a door) withiout moving the furniture. Then, you cant plug anything in,. You bump into things and get black and blues.

Room Tip: Insist on a room over the main road for light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Madam,

I am sorry to learn that you did not like your room, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. You booked a luxury room and you had a free upgrade in a Junior Suite on the top floor (under the roof). We thought that you would enjoy the Hammam and the particular charm of this room...
You are right to say that some rooms are quite dark, but it is part of the atmosphere of our hotel, designed by Jacques Garcia.
We also have larger rooms on the street with higher ceiling and large windows, so with more natural light.
I hope to welcome you for your next stay in Paris as I already know the perfect room for you.

Your satisfaction is our, so feel always free to contact the front desk for any request, we usually always find a solution.

Sincerely,
Brice LEMOINE
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    260
    62
    19
    7
See reviews for
170
619
71
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Had a wonderful stay in this great hotel in the Heart of Paris. The staff were very helpful, and ready to assist in 7 different languages. Metro stop one block away. Walking distance to Notre Dame, the left bank, and the Luxembourg gardens. Will Definetly stay there on my next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdr2md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in this hotel with our 4 year old daughter. This was the beginning of a 30 day vacation so we had massive amounts of luggage and we had ample space in our triple room for both ourselves and our luggage. The location is fabulous for seeing the sights while still providing a great neighborhood feel with some wonderful shops and cafes. The staff always went out of their way to make sure everything we needed was taken care of immediately. We had the hotel breakfast the first morning and it was okay, but opted to pass on it the rest of the trip because there were so many other wonderful options within walking distance. We would certainly return to this hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEM2REM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel. The location is central to everything, but still quiet and on a pleasant street. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We got an upgrade to our room. Although the room was not huge, it was clean, comfortable and had a great shower. We would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane&Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Booked in for one night only, more for the location to be close to a friend then anything else. The room was on the top floor, and as such the ceiling had some odd angles, low spots and sharp corners, but anywhere that you could really hurt yourself they have covered with foam. I didn't have breakfast, so no comment there. There is an "honesty" bar, so a plus if you like a drink or two. The big pluses for all are that it's a great area and the rooms are a little better than most in the area at the same price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhBabyItsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and really loved it. Expedia had made a mistake when we booked the room but the hotel went out of their way to fix it. Service is quite extraordinary! Rooms are small, but nice and clean. It is a lovely neighbourhood with several nice restaurants real close by. We would stay there again on our next trip to Paris. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweeterfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Odeon for 3 nights and loved it! The room was quiet, comfortable and large by Paris standards. We skipped breakfast in the hotel in favor of wandering the neighborhood for cafes in the morning. There were many! The staff at the hotel were helpful, they reccommended some great places for dinner and very friendly. My French is not great and they were patient with me and most spoke at least some English.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moxy_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,802 in Paris
363 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#88 of 1,802 in Paris
906 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#65 of 1,802 in Paris
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#156 of 1,802 in Paris
430 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Address: 13, Rue Saint-Sulpice, 75006 | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Paris
#81 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#140 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#293 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and very parisian, this hotel was fully renovated by the famous decorator, Jacques Garcia. This hotel offers an exceptional location just a stone's throw away from the church of Saint Sulpice and its delightful square, in the heart of Odeon and Saint-Germain-des-Prés districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Odeon Saint Germain
Odeon Saint Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing