We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Parisian Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #63 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Parisian Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Paris. My mother had booked us into Henri IV for my 40th birthday present. What a find! It's brilliantly located right in the heart of the Latin Quarter but is tucked in a quiet corner so a lovely peaceful retreat after a long day marching the Paris streets. We were in a standard room on 6th Floor which was perfectly spacious and even had a bath and it's own private balcony overlooking the rooftops. The room has its own fridge, sink and hob so you can heat water to make a cup of tea in the morning. There is no kettle but a pan works just fine. The staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HATLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    286
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
251
506
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
293 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was my second stay at the Hotel Residence Henri IV, with the last being about five or six years ago. How wonderful to report that nothing has changed...the rooms are still well maintained and clean, and the service is truly exceptional. Having had our luggage "delayed" by Air France, the various concierges on duty went above and beyond in helping track what was happening, and even made a call to Air France for us. When we requested anything be taken care of in our room, it was immediately done. We can't say enough good things about how well we were treated.

We were two adults and two teens in one of the two-room apartments. My European standards, we had an excellent amount of space. It was lovely to have the large windows to open in both rooms with a view onto the park. The furnishings are well-worn antiques, but you do get the sense that you are staying in old Paris, which is lovely. There wasn't any dust anywhere despite the numerous picture frames and ledges in the room.

The hotel offers complimentary WiFi which worked wonderfully. We did not partake in the continental breakfast, but did see it being delivered to the room next to us (there are only two rooms per floor, which makes things very quiet). Breakfast looked lovely, and you have the choice of it being offered in your room or in the breakfast room. Instead, we opted to go to nearby cafes for coffee (take-away is available), and picked up fresh fruit, pastries and juice at the nearby market.

The hotel is very conveniently located between two Metro stations, and is about a 10 minute walk from the RER for St Michel-Notre Dame if you are coming in from the airport. Notre Dame, the river and the Latin District (with its numerous restaurant choices are all within a lovely walking distance) as is the Sorbonne and the Pantheon.

At risk of not getting a room on my next stay, I must say I highly recommend this 3-star hotel, with its wonderful attention to service and its excellent location.

Room Tip: The double rooms offer a double pull-out couch and most double bedrooms can be made into twin rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here twice (just finally got around to opening a trip advisor account). The hotel is ideally located and the staff is tremendously helpful. The rooms are quite spacious by Parisian standards and one of our rooms actually had a lovely balcony overlooking the park/school. You can easily walk to multiple metro stations and Notre Dame is just a short jaunt away. We've never tried the breakfast because we sleep late (or we go to the very conveniently Eric Kayser outpost located just one block away). Either way I'm sure you will enjoy your stay should you choose to stay at Henri IV

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 007trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We spent a weekend in Paris and I wanted a traditional hotel as it was my girlfriends first time in the city. This is perfect it is in walking distance from the centre of town with a major attraction nearby (Notre Dame) and a good night life (Latino Quarter). This place fits the bill perfectly, great attention to detail in an immaculate room, huge comfy bed decorated in a period style and free wifi. The staff were extremely friendly, and helped us with our French when we needed it. Plus being located in a cul-de-sac it was very quiet. I can not recommend this place enough, we will be back to see more of Paris and we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spamboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

A lovely boutique hotel in a location perfect for exploring Paris' Latin Quarter. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful (in fact they helped me plan a proposal) and as a whole, the place was charming. Great value for money - we'll definitely be returning.
Tips - go to the Tournebievre Restaurant on the banks of the River Seine, opposite Notre Dame. The food was lovely and the service was excellent. Also, the dinner cruise on the River Seine is worth your time, la bateaux mouches is the company we went with and we had a great night! Well worth the money you pay for it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clairericho86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I always like to stay in more traditional local hotels rather than the chain style large hotels that offer all manner of services that you never actually use. You are in Paris after all!
The hotel staff greeted us politely, were happy to keep our luggage as we had arrived early in the morning. The kids were especially excited by the sweets in the jar at reception (they are easily pleased).
The room was lovely, had everything that you could need. The bed was large and very comfortable and it was nice that the children were in a seprate room, albeit a sofa bed. We didn't make use of the kitchenette, we enjoy eating out too much. Very close to the Metro and a leisurely 10 minute walk to Notre Dame, via a Patisserie or two.
The park next to the hotel is a bonus, where we all went for a quick read before heading out to dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilovefood123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I have just spent a week in Paris. We enjoyed our hotel. The concierge, Hikam was always very helpful and courteous to us. The room was clean and the fridge was a bonus. The bathroom was very good with a lot of hot water and deep bathtub. Breakfast was good. The location of the hotel is excellent with Metro and bus 1 minute away. I would recommend this hotel to those who want a small and quiet place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#94 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#91 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Hotel Residence Foch
#54 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Property: Hotel Residence Henri 4
Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#47 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing