We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #151 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at this charming hotel for 3 nights in May. The room was a "standard" room, but it had fantastic amenities, such as a beautiful canopied bed, a wonderful balcony overlooking a park,and a great hidden-away little kitchenette, complete with cooktop, microwave, etc. Location was great. A short, pleasant walk to Notre Dame and the Metro, and very close walk to little shops where you could buy bread, meats, cheeses and wine to take back to your room should you desire. The hotel was in an ideal area with bookstores, restaurants, cafes and an art-film movie theatre. If I were to return to Paris, I would definitely stay in this hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful, and had a laptop available to check e-mails,etc. For a small extra, you could have a lovely continental breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bbperegrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Friendlly helpful staff. Comfortable pleasant room with big windows in room and bathroom. Big bathroom ( for Paris). Have stayed in a few other places in Paris- this one I would come back to again. Bed is comfy!!! Good atmosphere.

4  Thank amcee1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is a true gem. It should cost twice as much, really. Beautifully fitted out, marvellously kind and considerate staff, a great location and a warm, inviting character to the place. I would recommend it without hesitation and without doubt it will be where I will stay for all my future Paris visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up if available- they have great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oigimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent 10 days in Paris from June 17-27, staying at Residence Henri IV in the 2 room unit (#32). We can add little to what others have said but found the rooms very comfortable (best beds ever in a hotel), the kitchenette handy..never used the burners and folks are right...no kettle but knowing that I took a travel French press for coffee and boiled water in the microwave which worked just fine.

Yes, the elevator is small but it certainly is better than stairs if you are tired or have knee issues. And yes, this is not like a big hotel with a bar, etc. but that was just not important to us.

What was important were the rooms, the service of the staff which was superlative, and the location which was terrific. Hicham, Qaiser, and all the staff were very service oriented. We interacted most with Hicham and he was wonderful for whatever was needed. He took care of ordering our transportation to the airport, giving us the 3 options: hotel shuttle which stops at other hotels as well, metered taxi, and set rate taxi which we opted for. Knowing that we wanted to use a credit card for the taxi, Hicham arranged this ahead of time and it worked just fine. The driver was excellent and even arrived early at the hotel so we were able to leave a few minutes before planned since we were all ready. I would definitely allow 2 1/2 hours at CDG unless you have your boarding passes printed at the hotel and then can just drop your luggage and not stand in a long line. Hicham, you were right on this and I wished we had listened to you!

The first morning we decided we wanted to have breakfast at the hotel, not knowing that we really were supposed to have made arrangements the night before. Instead of just following the rule as some places would do, when I called in the morning to see if we could just go to breakfast, Qaisar said certainly. It was only later that I realized we were supposed to tell them the night before and the staff member on duty at night routinely would just ask if we were having breakfast in the morning. It was good and certainly a good value when compared with other hotel breakfast prices. However, I must admit I liked having my coffee and Eric Kayser pastry in my room.

Breakfast in America is just down the street, Eric Kayser bakery as delicious as folks say although I usually stopped in late in the day for the croissant for the next day so I didn't have to stand in line for 30 min., and the fruit, cheese etc. market just down the street at Maubert wonderful. For those who need gluten free, check out the Bio store not far from the Maubert Market (I think on Saint Germain), and Franprix is just a block away from the hotel. Pizzeria del Arte at the corner of Saint Germain and Saint-Michel is very good. (We had already tried all the French foods on a river cruise so didn't feel the need to be sure we ate all things French).

Also, for those sick of all the metro stairs, try the bus. What fun we had figuring out which bus to use and meeting the people on the bus. We did use the metro some and I'll admit it's easier to figure out than the bus but much harder on the knees and legs especially if lots of connection changes. For bus changes it's just across the street or around the corner and many buses go all the way to where you want to go. That said, the best way we found the right bus is to look at the ratp website. I would do this in the morning and get an idea of the bus numbers to come back later in the day. Many buses are right across the street from the hotel or just down at the Maubert area, 5 min. away.

In 15 min. or less you can walk to Notre Dame, and that area and also just down the street to The Cluny museum (don't miss it if you have the time). We also walked to the Pantheon, Jardin des Plantes, Mouffetard Street, Saint Michel, Saint Germain but there are also buses if you decide you've had enough walking. Again, location of the hotel is great and being on a side street very quiet.

People everywhere were helpful and friendly always offering to help if we stopped to look at a map or asked a question. Just the few French phrases of politeness seemed to make the difference.

Finally, we did take a quick look at the single room unit as we have friends traveling to Paris in the future. It certainly looked bigger than others I had read about and would seem very adequate if you want to do just one room. With 10 days, we decided to treat ourselves and were glad we did. Residence Henri IV is exactly as they say, a boutique hotel with lots of character and wonderful people working there. Thank you to all those at Residence Henri IV for helping to make our stay in Paris such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on our honeymoon and loved this little rustic hotel. Location was great for walking to Norte Dame and other areas of interest. It was pretty secluded and quiet. The room itself was bigger then expected from reading reviews. I'm 6'4 and was thinking it was gonna be very small, but it was adequate and able to handle our four suitcases and us quite comfortably. The front desk worker, Kaiser (sorry if misspelled), was very helpful. The rooms had a rustic old Parisian feel. Walls were a little thin, but noise was very minimal. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DamberV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We just returned from our 7 night stay at Residence Henri 4, and was pleased with everything. Everyone was very friendly, nice decor, clean rooms, small kitchenette, nice little balcony, good location in the Latin Quarter at the end of a dead end street so very quiet. Would Definately return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank sdvvsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed the first two nights of our honyemoon (France and Italy) at the RH4. We had found out that morning that our travel agent had left out one very important fact about needing to book our train ticket to Florence in advance (not a great way to start your honeymoon). When we explained what happened, Isham at the front desk went right into action. Within minutes he had found us cheap tickets to Pisa via Easyjet and literally saved our trip.

The room was spacious and well appointed, with a suite for relaxing and a desk for writing/computer work. The bathroom was very clean and appeared recently renovated. The staff, Isham especially, were courteous and helpful, even planning out subway connections for us to make our site seeing more efficient. Tucked in a lovely area of the Latin Quarter, it is not far from Place St Michel, and the quaint alleys in between studded with restaurants and bars. When we travel back to Paris, we will most definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJasonMacNeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#208 of 1,802 in Paris
290 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#78 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#358 of 1,802 in Paris
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#128 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,705 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#4 of 1,802 in Paris
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#110 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £134 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing