We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Henri 4

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #63 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We choose the Henry IV purely based on Tripadvisor reviews and during our 4 night stay, it did not disappoint.

The hotel is tucked away on a small street within an easy 10 minute walk from the St. Michel-Notre Dame RER station. We were giving very warm welcome and even though we were early our room was ready. The hotel itself is a small boutique style hotel which gives it a very personal feeling.

Our room was located on the 5th floor and the room is split in 2 with a very large sitting area and a narrow balcony outside with a table and two chairs, over looking a small park, although I wouldn’t let any young children out on the balcony.

The room could easily house 2 Adults and 2 children (sleeping on sofa bed). The small kitchette makes a fantastic addition for any quick snacks you may need, very handy if you are travelling with children. Some pots, plates and cutlery are supplied in addition to a kettle, so it has all you need.

Decor is very tasteful again adding to the boutique nature of the hotel.

The room was spotless as was the bathroom (and the complete hotel). The bed was very comfortable; the bedroom also had a flat screen TV on the wall.

We did not try breakfast.

The free wifi is always a nice addition.

The staff were very friendly throughout our stay (speaking perfect English when our French failed us).

So what’s near by? Across the road is a small shaded park, it has a playground for children. There are a few small supermarkets near by, a Carrefour express is two blocks down to your left (head straight down the hill) {3 min walk}. There is a laundrette a block down (beside the toy shop) {2 min walk}. Two bakeries (one block down the hill to your left) {2 min walk}. There are several restaurants/cafes close by; more if you go around the block (turn left directly after the hotel and left again towards the Pantheon). You will also find several pharmacies close by.

The hotel is within easy reach of several metro stations so connections to Paris’ varies sites are within easy access. You are just 10 minutes from Notre Dame itself and the river.

All in all a prefect hotel in a fabulous location. Would I stay here again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: High floors for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    286
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
251
506
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I loved this hotel. It was an older building with classic style but the utilities were modern and clean. It was cozy yet not confining. We asked for a room on one of the higher floors facing the street (maybe they all face the street. Not sure.) but it had a lot of natural light and was a good size.
The staff was charming, unpretentious, and helpful throughout our stay.
The location was great as well. It was tucked away on a short side street that dead ends so there's very little street noise. The Metro was just a couple of blocks away. Notre Dame within walking distance. Restaurants, shops, and markets are close by.
I'm looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My family of 4 just returned from a six night stay at Residence Henri IV in Paris. I chose Henri IV based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I was not disappointed. It is not easy to find a hotel for a family of 4 in Europe, and this boutique hotel suited us perfectly. Our apartment had one bedroom and a separate living area with a pull out bed for our two boys. The balcony was a real treat and since we were blessed with beautiful weather during our stay, we made use of it. The free Wi-fi was a hit with my boys as well as the nearby restaurant Breakfast in America. The staff was always friendly and helpful when we had questions which we appreciated. Residence Henri IV is a great base for exploring Paris. My only regret is that our trip had to end.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teachertraveler1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our experience in July was fantastic. The location was great and we loved our room and balcony (42). The staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. We thought the breakfast service was outstanding, and we would stay there again if we get to visit Paris in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Henri IV suite (42). It has a kitchenette and had plenty of room for my wife, step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Very small hotel but suitable for families of 4. Tastefully decorated rooms (Henry IV) theme. Sufficient space for the whole family (2 inter-leading rooms with a small kitchenette). The coffee making facility was a big surprise as it is not common in Paris.

Room Tip: As for most hotels in Paris, don't stay longer than 2 or 3 nights if you're used to large ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawry-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Everything that has been written about this hotel is true. We were concerned that our expectations would not be met but they were in every way. My daughter and I shared a large ground floor room for 5 nights and it was a great size and despite being at ground level we did not hear a thing at night! Hashim (sorry if I got the spelling wrong) at the front desk during the week was charming and so helpful with advice ranging from restaurants that offered gluten free options to working out the best and cheapest way to get to Monet's garden. It's position is fabulous being near the non touristy Latin Quarter restaurants and cares and only a 10 minute walk down to the Seine and Notre Dame. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My family of four stayed at Hotel Residence Henri 4 in mid-June and were extremely pleased with the experience. First, it is one of the very few places I could find in Paris that would accommodate our family in one room (2 adults + 2 children). The set-up of the room was perfect, with a separate seating room with a pull-out bed, and a bedroom with a balcony. While not a huge room, it is certainly big by Parisian standards.

The location is tremendous, with a ton of restaurants and things to see nearby. Plus, there are many metro stops nearby, not to mention the bus stop across the street.

We had breakfast included in our room rate, and it was very good. Pastries with cafe au lait, or hot chocolate.

We found the staff -- especially Hicham (sorry about the spelling) -- to be extremely helpful. They arranged dinner for us on multiple nights, and were able to give great advice on transportation.

We were traveling in a more busy time of year, so while the price was not cheap, it was a good value for Paris (especially being able to get my whole family in one room without being cramped).

All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#94 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#91 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#141 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Hotel Residence Foch
#54 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Property: Hotel Residence Henri 4
Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Paris
#47 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing