We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Ranked #187 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week long stay at the Residence Henri IV and it was perfect in every way. We stayed on the top floor in the standard double room and it was plenty big for a couple and had all the amenities we needed.
The hotel is on a quiet cul de sac a couple blocks from St. Germain. One block away is a fantastic bratisserie that we frequented for breakfast. Many of the Paris sites are within walking distance and the location is very safe for late night walks back.

Overall this was a fabulous hotel and I hope to return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank caad4rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We've just returned home from our 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. Booked to celebrate a special anniversary we were looking for somewhere small, special and memorable. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in Room 20 - Francois Rabelais, one of the smaller "apartments". Simply but elegantly decorated, the main focal point was a four poster bed which we were not expecting! It was really quite spacious with two generous wardrobes and little kitchen area. The view from the very tall elegant front window was very pleasant and, had the weather been warmer, we could imagine that sitting having breakfast on the little balcony would be a lovely experience.
Unusually, the view from the (also very tall) windows in the bathroom was also good, overlooking a tiny courtyard at the back of the building.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

The location was perfect for us too. Although the hotel is located quietly at the end of a little cul de sac overlooking a little park, within a few steps you are in the midst of useful shops and loads of restaurants ... also Notre Dame, the Pantheon and river walks. Being so close to the Sorbonne, the area is young and lively but nobody made us feel out of place!

Breakfast is traditionally French and costs 8 euros each. There were cereals to choose from and a good basket of bread, croissants, pain au chocolat and pain au raisin to have with butter and selection of jams. If we had to find fault with anything at all during our stay it would only be that there is a limit to the amount of "bread" that most of us want to eat at breakfast time. So, after our first breakfast, we shopped at a very local boulangerie and had just the one croissant and coffee in our room. This was also a good way to get out and about quickly.

We feel we were very lucky to have stayed at this lovely hotel. We booked our stay directly with the hotel, taking advantage of their special winter rates and would advise that you give their own website a look before booking with the other agencies. We see that there are other good deals on there now.

Room Tip: Room 20 - Francois Rabelais - is on the 2nd floor. It was quiet at the weekend, very romantic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nice apartment. However the apartment for 4 may be a bit on the small side if there are four people staying. Need to share one bathroom. Generally rooms are well decorated and gives the right atmosphere for a Parisian holiday. Some of the electrical sockets do not work. The hotel is quiet and the staff are polite and efficient. The breakfast is well prepared, coffee and tea were good, but after staying 6 nights there, it can become rather boring, mainly carbs. It would be nice to have some fibre, eg fruits. It is near to many attractions and just several minutes walk to Notre Dame cathedral. You won't go wrong with this hotel, although I feel that if you are two couples and want to get the suite for four, you may need to sacrifice some privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThongSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were lucky to spend two nights at the Henri IV. Since it was January, we were able to secure one of the small suites on a non-refundable deal. At the price ~200E, this was a great deal in Paris. The location is perfect, the rooms were elegantly decorated, and the breakfast was quite suitable (in room) at old-fashioned prices. The rooms, while small, would work for a small family. The staff was quite helpful.

It's good to see that small, quality hotels such as this can still make a go of it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed in far too many three-star Paris hotels which look lovely on the website, but where reality was very different. The Residence Henri IV was a breath of fresh air. It s as lovely in person as the pictures suggest - with beautiful, comfortable rooms and cosy communal areas. It also has the advantage of being tucked away on a side street, making the rooms unusually quiet for Paris. Moreover, it's clear that the staff here really care. There's none of that surly Parisian "service" that you get in many tourist establishments. Everyone is polite, friendly and very helpful. We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alexdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Henri 4 hotel and we were pleasantly surprised at the great value it offered. We were a family of 4, and we were able to stay in a two bedroom apartment like room for a very reasonable price. Although small, the rooms were very elegant and comfortable and sufficient for us. The hotel is located in a great place and we really felt like we were in the heart of Paris! The breakfasts were good and all the staff were friendly and helpful! It really was quite a charming place and if anyone would like to shout us a trip back to Paris we would definitely stay there again!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

that makes it very memorable. Its small, only 2 rooms per floor over 6 floors, its hidden in the corner of the dead end lane. But the rooms are nice, I'd even say large for Paris, the sleep quality was very good and the staff very friendly. It's also in a great location and easy walking to the river Notre Dame and the restaurants.
Would I go back? probably not as there are better hotels ( see my other reviews) but I was not disappointed

Room Tip: ask for the top floor. the loft rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#372 of 1,804 in Paris
1,006 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#76 of 1,804 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel La Lanterne
Hotel La Lanterne
#227 of 1,804 in Paris
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#134 of 1,804 in Paris
1,733 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#133 of 1,804 in Paris
1,684 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,804 in Paris
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Henri 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Henri 4

Address: 50 rue des Bernardins, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#135 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £134 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Henri 4 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residence Henri 4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Henri 4 Paris
Residence Henri 4 Hotel
Residence Henri Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing